Jump to content


Photo

What's The Spec's On The Xbox Hd?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 woxiz

woxiz

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 93 posts

Posted 16 January 2003 - 08:20 PM

I would like to know more about the xbox harddrive... What's the RPM, cache and so on.... smile.gif

I'm buying a new harddrive to my xbox and im going to use the xbox drive in my computer or use the existing HD in computer and put the xbox drive in another computer. So I want to know witch one's the best? The one I have is a old NEC drive (10 Gb) from 1999...
Don't know witch drive I have in box, but the box is a sega bundle and made in september, with a Philips dvd-drive...

Regards from Sweden....

#2 gainpresence

gainpresence

    11 herbs and spices

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,971 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 16 January 2003 - 08:26 PM

Your xbox drive is either a 8GB, 10GB, or possibly a 20GB drive. It is 5400RPM and the xbox runs it at ATA33, but I'm not sure what it's max is.

#3 slamer

slamer

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Location:BAAAH!
  • Interests:BAAAH!
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 16 January 2003 - 09:41 PM

don't use the xbox hdd in your computer.

keep it as a backup for the xbox. you never know.



#4 L33

L33

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 270 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 16 January 2003 - 09:51 PM

QUOTE (gainpresence @ Jan 16 2003, 08:26 PM)
Your xbox drive is either a 8GB, 10GB, or possibly a 20GB drive. It is 5400RPM and the xbox runs it at ATA33, but I'm not sure what it's max is.

blink.gif
the xboxes never came with a 20gb drive to my knowledge, just an 8gb western digital or a 10gb seagate. and it is ATA66 btw....


#5 rooicity

rooicity

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 539 posts
  • Location:the Netherlands
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 16 January 2003 - 09:57 PM

QUOTE (L33 @ Jan 16 2003, 09:51 PM)
the xboxes never came with a 20gb drive to my knowledge, just an 8gb western digital or a 10gb seagate. and it is ATA66 btw....

there's talk of people having them in some v1.1 xbox-es

but never seen one myself


#6 woxiz

woxiz

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 93 posts

Posted 16 January 2003 - 10:36 PM

QUOTE (slamer @ Jan 16 2003, 09:41 PM)
don't use the xbox hdd in your computer.

keep it as a backup for the xbox. you never know.

Why?
If my 120 gb harddrive in the box brakes I just have to take the original xbox drive from my computer and buy a new to the computer...

#7 ImMoRTaL

ImMoRTaL

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 216 posts

Posted 17 January 2003 - 12:52 AM

I had no problems at all locking the same drive (cept mine is 40gb), I just used the util that came with slayers evox............


[EDIT]Well looks like I clicked on the wrong thread to reply to, sorry guys.

Edited by ImMoRTaL, 17 January 2003 - 12:53 AM.


#8 slamer

slamer

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 666 posts
  • Location:BAAAH!
  • Interests:BAAAH!
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 17 January 2003 - 09:51 AM

QUOTE
Why?
If my 120 gb harddrive in the box brakes I just have to take the original xbox drive from my computer and buy a new to the computer...


Yes, but if you delete the content, how are you going to get that back without any trouble.

do as i. place the original xb hdd in a safe place.

8gb hdd arent that xpensiv. go buy a bigger one.

#9 methadone_pretty

methadone_pretty

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,307 posts

Posted 17 January 2003 - 04:43 PM

QUOTE (L33 @ Jan 16 2003, 09:51 PM)
QUOTE (gainpresence @ Jan 16 2003, 08:26 PM)
Your xbox drive is either a 8GB, 10GB, or possibly a 20GB drive. It is 5400RPM and the xbox runs it at ATA33, but I'm not sure what it's max is.

blink.gif
the xboxes never came with a 20gb drive to my knowledge, just an 8gb western digital or a 10gb seagate. and it is ATA66 btw....

as the lowest size drive that manufactures make increases, the xbox size will increase - we're getting to the point where its cheaper to make a 20gb than 10gb.

The drive may be ata66 or 100 - but if you actually read what gainpresence wrote he said the xbox runs it at ata33. It uses an ATA33 cable by default, so that kinda makes sense doesnt it.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users