Jump to content


Photo

Xbox Freezes (randomly)


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Methius

Methius

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 384 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (NL)
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 06 August 2004 - 10:11 PM

Ok, here's the situation:
I upgraded the xbox of a friend (which first was modded with an Alladin, and now X 2.3b Lite) with a 120gb Maxtor HD 8mb cache 7200 rpm...

During the installation, weird things happened.. "Weird?" I hear you say, yes, weird!

Weird being: after I put my custom evox install disc in the drive, and formatted the damn thing (and installed evox), I restarted the box and I saw the screen of my evox install disc again *while i the disc in my hand*.... I restarted again, same thing :S... (I use this disc on my mods all the time, no prob...)

To make a long story short:
I reinstalled, everything *seemed* to work, and now my friend comes back with the message that his box freezes or quits back to the dashboard when it playes a game (during, not while starting)...

I installed a new chip (Xecuter 2.3b Lite) and the thing still happens.
I searched a little on the subject and found that I should reformat the HD.
Anybody have any suggestions for a other course of action?

(and could someone please explain the freak Evox install cd thing??)

Thanks in advance.
M

#2 Methius

Methius

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 384 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (NL)
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 August 2004 - 11:58 AM

Reformatted, nothing
Installed a new HD, NOTHING

Could someone Please help me???


#3 SpudGunMan

SpudGunMan

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,322 posts
  • Location:Seattle, Wa
  • Interests:mexico water, how when you touch a girl you get sweaty, costco hot dogs, proper first aid
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 August 2004 - 08:42 PM

tend to blame ghost hardware. just like a computer ... memory/cpu/bus issues. can you put it back to stock and still have the issues?

#4 Methius

Methius

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 384 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (NL)
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 August 2004 - 10:37 PM

Well I sorted it out (kinda)....

The prob:
This xbox, when turned on, reached a temp of 59o Celcius (CPU) and 51o Celcius (MB). This temp would be reached, ten minutes aftes playing with a game or after a freeze/frag. I performed the 12v mod, and now the fragging has lessened considerably.

But my q being:
How could these temps (59o/51o) affect the xbox? Would the Hd have a max operating temp?

HD:
Maxtor 120gb, 7200rpm 8mb Cache

(second HD tested, but one used is above):
Samsung 160gb, 7200rpm 8mb Cache

#5 Methius

Methius

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 384 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (NL)
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 10 August 2004 - 10:12 PM

*bump*....

Interesting: let the xbox run with the lid off...... When it froze I laid my finger on the HD to feel how warm it was: I almost burned myself!

Xbox V1.0, HD specs above.
Could this be the first documented HD temperature prob?

#6 Methius

Methius

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 384 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (NL)
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 10 August 2004 - 10:13 PM

QUOTE (SpudGunMan @ Aug 7 2004, 09:45 PM)
tend to blame ghost hardware. just like a computer ... memory/cpu/bus issues. can you put it back to stock and still have the issues?

No, when the stock is back in, it functions properly.
But when I put any HD in that is bigger than the stock (only tried 120gb, and 160gb), the thing freezes.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users