Jump to content


Photo

Problem Playing Specific Movie In 18-08


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 total_ass

total_ass

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,000 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 22 August 2004 - 11:24 AM

ok i haven't tried this on an older build, so i couldn't say if its related to 18-08. but when i try to play the star wars knights of the old republic 2 sith lords trailer, it doesn't seem to play. it just changes to a black screen as if its about to load then goes back to the menu. i don't get any errors, it just seems to not do it lol. this is a quicktime movie if that helps. if anyone's willing to try it on theirs i would appreciate it very much, if not just any ideas of what may be going wrong?

http://www.lucasarts...otor_sithlords/

it's the 640x480 res trailer.

thanks guys.

#2 JayDee

JayDee

    X-S Legend

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,750 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 22 August 2004 - 11:44 AM

well, plays fine here.

http://dday.tx-shell...reenshot009.jpg

http://dday.tx-shell...reenshot011.jpg

http://dday.tx-shell...reenshot012.jpg

http://dday.tx-shell...reenshot013.jpg

Save as Quicktime file. Not as Source file.

Edited by JayDee, 22 August 2004 - 11:48 AM.


#3 total_ass

total_ass

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,000 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 22 August 2004 - 01:52 PM

ok thanks for checking for me. ill do that now.

i think i read somewhere a while ago before i got xbmc that it can't play quicktime 6 and only 5, is this still the case?

#4 JayDee

JayDee

    X-S Legend

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,750 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 22 August 2004 - 01:54 PM

It have played all mov i have trown at it since the latest quicktime fix (audio via dlls)

Had some movīs that NEVER played befor that, but now works fine.

Thats why i only updated the text about .mov files and didnīt delete it just yet in teh sticky thread.

Edited by JayDee, 22 August 2004 - 01:57 PM.


#5 total_ass

total_ass

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,000 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 22 August 2004 - 05:48 PM

jaydee movie not working sad.gif

are there any specific settings required? whatever i try it doesn't load.

#6 JayDee

JayDee

    X-S Legend

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,750 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 22 August 2004 - 05:50 PM

i hope you have downloaded the quicktime dllīs (link to all supported codecs is in sticky)



#7 total_ass

total_ass

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,000 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 22 August 2004 - 05:58 PM

i thought that they would have been included....i assume this is because of legal issues. anyway i'll get those now and try them. all my other quicktime movies work though.

#8 nimbles

nimbles

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,184 posts
  • Location:London, UK
  • Interests:Student, Mathematical Finance.<br>Most sports, footbal (Arsenal fan), cricket &amp; rugby<br>Movie Junkie.
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 22 August 2004 - 06:29 PM

depends on if "they" know what they're doing sad.gif

There are alot of people who release the binaries either with the codecs missing, or the python folder missing etc.

The XBMC team don't release the binaries so the best way to make sure is to read the manual and compile from source yourself ph34r.gif

#9 edoom

edoom

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 23 August 2004 - 08:16 AM

well, i actually just replied in the last post...BUT, again, i had EXACTLY the same prob!! but it's with .MP4 movie files!

soemthing's wrong???? uhh.gif

#10 total_ass

total_ass

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,000 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 23 August 2004 - 01:23 PM

last night i downloaded the codecs file in the pinned topic with the quicktime dlls and put them in the right folder and rebooted etc. no luck, still doesn't load at all. also in this build the video playback doesn't seem as smooth.

#11 total_ass

total_ass

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,000 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 23 August 2004 - 09:28 PM

ok i'm gonna try to explain as fully as i can my current setup.

ok fresh update of 18-08, deleted my save game file. so everything is default.
cranked up all cache sizes to max possible (160000 something i think)
set filters to anosotrophic (or however its spelt lol)
all other filters off (i.e soften, deinterlace, post-proccesing. btw wtf do these do lol)
pal 60 off.
adust framerate on
oh and xbox is pal with pal video output.
and edited default paths for my pictures, my music and my videos in xml file.
saved movie file as quicktime movie not source then ftped to f drive.
EDIT: and i got the codecs.rar installed

ok the reason why i listed all that was just incase there's anything in there that could be stopping the playback. i would appreciate it if someone could reply with any guesses as to why it may not be working.

Edited by total_ass, 24 August 2004 - 11:26 AM.


#12 total_ass

total_ass

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,000 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 24 August 2004 - 11:26 AM

jaydee are there any specific settings that you use?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users