Jump to content


Photo

Editing .ini Files


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Brutus4Ever

Brutus4Ever

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 06 September 2004 - 03:22 PM

is there any way to edit the .ini files of xbox games without having to download the games onto a bigger hdd{i dont want to load them from anything but the dvd}and having to use alternate bios?{i want to use the default stock xbox-dashboard}so what im asking is if there is any hacking software that i can use from my pc to edit the .ini files directly on the disc?

#2 krayzie

krayzie

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,340 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 September 2004 - 03:25 PM

If you mean edit the games so they work on an unmodded xbox then the answer is obviously no. I see no reason why you want to edit a game.

#3 Brutus4Ever

Brutus4Ever

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 06 September 2004 - 03:27 PM

because i want the games to use my additional ram{i upgraded to 128}but i want my dashboard bios intact.

#4 krayzie

krayzie

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,340 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 September 2004 - 03:32 PM

let me get this straight. You wanna keep your retail bios and yet you wanna configure games to use your aditional ram? So let's say you have a retail dvd game. Then how would you edit the game? it's not like the games are floppy discs you know. They are pressed dvd's and cannot be altered. Also what does this have to do with exploits?

#5 Brutus4Ever

Brutus4Ever

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 06 September 2004 - 03:34 PM

ummmmm, editing software on a pc

#6 krayzie

krayzie

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,340 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 September 2004 - 03:38 PM

right....

#7 Chicken Scratch Boy

Chicken Scratch Boy

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,665 posts
  • Location:In the Study With the Candlestick
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 06 September 2004 - 03:40 PM

i say bin it.

or move the post to hardware tech chat or somthing

#8 Brutus4Ever

Brutus4Ever

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 06 September 2004 - 03:41 PM

alright, you tell me then, because you seem to know everything

#9 krayzie

krayzie

    X-S Elysian

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,340 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 September 2004 - 03:43 PM

dude forget about it...

#10 Chicken Scratch Boy

Chicken Scratch Boy

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,665 posts
  • Location:In the Study With the Candlestick
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 06 September 2004 - 03:50 PM

QUOTE (Brutus4Ever @ Sep 6 2004, 07:44 AM)
alright, you tell me then, because you seem to know everything

where did you get that impression? laugh.gif

#11 Brutus4Ever

Brutus4Ever

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 06 September 2004 - 03:57 PM

ok, i apologize for being anal, but i just wanted to know as to what software that you would use on your pc to edit the .ini files in xbox games once youve ftp'd them onto your pc.

#12 Chicken Scratch Boy

Chicken Scratch Boy

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,665 posts
  • Location:In the Study With the Candlestick
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 06 September 2004 - 03:59 PM

ok this is really tricky to pay attention!

start

run

type in "notepad"

hit enter

good luck!

#13 Raebis

Raebis

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts

Posted 06 September 2004 - 04:03 PM

Ok, assuming I understood you correctly, you want to modify your xbox games to utilize the extra 64 mb you installed into your box.

Firstly, boxes that have the 64mb of ram are debug and development boxes, usually in the hands of game makers (bungie, neversoft, ea games, etc)

Secondly, that extra 64 mb of memory is for the developers to use while testing and creating their game - not for when the game is finished.

From what I can tell, retail games are written to run on 64mb of ram, and they are written to run on that ram well. even if it were possible to tell each game that there is 128mb of memory available, it wouldn't use it because it wouldn't need it.



#14 Brutus4Ever

Brutus4Ever

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 06 September 2004 - 04:04 PM

thank you, thats all i needed! ~ sorry for the misunderstanding.

#15 JimmyGoon

JimmyGoon

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 06 September 2004 - 04:06 PM

QUOTE (Raebis @ Sep 6 2004, 05:06 PM)
Ok, assuming I understood you correctly, you want to modify your xbox games to utilize the extra 64 mb you installed into your box.

Firstly, boxes that have the 64mb of ram are debug and development boxes, usually in the hands of game makers (bungie, neversoft, ea games, etc)

Secondly, that extra 64 mb of memory is for the developers to use while testing and creating their game - not for when the game is finished.

From what I can tell, retail games are written to run on 64mb of ram, and they are written to run on that ram well. even if it were possible to tell each game that there is 128mb of memory available, it wouldn't use it because it wouldn't need it.

What if SOMEHOW he got the XDK on there?

Then could he have like FTP, Screenshots, Screenvid's and stuff he could capture with the PC?

I heard that taking vids with only 64 mb of RAM doesn't do much cause it makes the xbox so slow.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users