7 replies to this topic

#1 jwcorder

jwcorder

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 12 September 2004 - 06:22 PM

Guys,

I got a 1.6 Xbox that I have been using for a few months now. It has actually set idle for about a month without me playing it. It is not modded. Today I decided to try the soft mod on the box. I booted it to load MechAssault and the box came up with flashing Green and Red and then error code 16. So I powered the box off and back on again and this time I got error code 6. Now it's 6's every time. It will not boot.

It is factory everything, no mods. I have three other xbox harddrives and one of them is unlocked. I also have another Xbox that is modded with Lite+ mod. The chip will not work on the 1.6v Xbox though.

What's my options here? Is there anything I can do? I got a Xecuter Pro chip but I can't solder for crap. I thought about sending it into system-mods to have them install it but I don't know if they will install the chip with the hdd screwed.

Basically is there anything I can do other then put a chip in it to fix it? I assume there is a process that MS does when I box has a bad hdd. Anyone know what to do here? Thanks for your help.

#2 Sord_Fish

Sord_Fish

X-S X-perience

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 381 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 12 September 2004 - 10:14 PM

according to the error info here

code 6 is cannot unlock hdd.

have you got the unlock code for the drive? if so try unlocking it with a pc

Edited by Sord_Fish, 12 September 2004 - 10:17 PM.

#3 jwcorder

jwcorder

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 12 September 2004 - 11:45 PM

Yeah I know it is hdd cannot unlock. But I have not got the lock code. It's unmodded. No way to get the code off. Any other ideas?

Thanks again for everyone's help.

#4 exiva

exiva

X-S Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 76 posts

Posted 12 September 2004 - 11:54 PM