Jump to content


Photo

Eeprom Screwed Up


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 bluewoodz

bluewoodz

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 254 posts
  • Location:Col. ohio
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 12 September 2004 - 11:24 PM

Ok heres my problem while trying to put a diff. eeprom on my xbox v1.6, my xbox has become unbootable, the logo pops up then it goes flashing red says needs service.
What id like to do is make a bootable CDRW with eepromer on it and the original eeprom i got on my computer.
So i could restore my XBOX.
Is this possible?
Or am i screwed?
I got a xenium chip and my Xenium OS loads fine but it wont restore... the original eeprom.

#2 Cathesdus

Cathesdus

    X-S X-perience

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPip
  • 386 posts
  • Location:Hampstead, NC
  • Xbox Version:v1.6

Posted 13 September 2004 - 01:57 AM

hmmm. Ummm.. Hmmmm.

I would have to say....yes. That IS possible. More difficult than you think however, but possible. YOur eeprom has a few very important pieces of information on it. Besides, why would you want to change your eeprom? you get banned from XBL?

#3 bluewoodz

bluewoodz

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 254 posts
  • Location:Col. ohio
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 13 September 2004 - 02:01 AM

QUOTE (Cathesdus @ Sep 13 2004, 03:00 AM)
hmmm. Ummm.. Hmmmm.

I would have to say....yes. That IS possible. More difficult than you think however, but possible. YOur eeprom has a few very important pieces of information on it. Besides, why would you want to change your eeprom? you get banned from XBL?

yea i got banned from xblive.

#4 Cathesdus

Cathesdus

    X-S X-perience

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPip
  • 386 posts
  • Location:Hampstead, NC
  • Xbox Version:v1.6

Posted 13 September 2004 - 02:05 AM

That explains it. Yes, you can do what you said above, but from now on, just use XLink Kai. That replaced my XBL a while ago. And it's free.

Back on subject, now that I think about it, it's not that difficult. Been thru it before with a friend as a matter of fact. Just make sure EEPROMer's xbe is titled default.xbe and make sure that the cd your using is readable in your xbox.

#5 bluewoodz

bluewoodz

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 254 posts
  • Location:Col. ohio
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 13 September 2004 - 03:30 AM

so i can make a bootable cdrw using evox?
And how should i set it up.
i tried it once and it just kept flashing red.
Thanks

#6 FarM_

FarM_

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

Posted 13 September 2004 - 07:24 PM

There is also Cromwell solution (tested)
here is the link Cromwell Eeprom restore

Config Magic tut: (i never try this but its only way to restore/upgrade it w/o TV)

QUOTE
Blind Restore EEPROM if you have no Video image..
   Usage: (MAKE SURE YOU HAVE A VALID EEPROM.BIN in \DATA)
    1) Boot ConfigMagic from DVD Drive
    2) Press A button to Skip Video (press A untill you see the orange light flash)
    3) Wait untill eject light flashes orange (flashing orange means ConfigMagic is ready)
    4) To Start Hold BOTH triggers and press WHITE button !
    5) Orange light stops flashing and stays steady (Steady orange means busy)
    6) If successfull Eject light will Flash GREEN (Flash Green means success!)
*IF there was a problem loading/decrypting eeprom, Eject light will turn RED (Red means Error !)

2. You Can Lock and Unlock your HDD with the password created from your XBOX EEPROM
  * Simply Press Start to bring up the Menu, Then select Lock/Unlock HDD..

3. You can create backup of your current eeprom, HDD password and various other settings.
  * Make 100% SURE that the path in the configmagic.ini file is valid and exists !!

4. Security features will not allow a "bad" eeprom update, or update eeprom if HDD is still locked..

5. You can skip the Intro and Credits Movie by pressing A while movie is playing

6. ConfigMAgic should Auto Detect your XBOX Version, but if you have problems  we suggest using the "Force" mode
by specifying your XBOX Version in the configmagic.ini - Use this if you flashed  previously bad eeprom image...
We also suggest using this setting when using the "Blind Restore 

Edited by FarM_, 13 September 2004 - 07:28 PM.


#7 acemilo

acemilo

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,828 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 13 September 2004 - 08:23 PM

Config magic does not work on a 1.6.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users