Photo

Mechassault Exploit + New 120gb Hdd Questions!

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 drk_dragoon

drk_dragoon

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 13 September 2004 - 07:45 PM

Hello everyone!

I decided to post this in the noob forum, because although I dont consider myself as a total noob, I dont want to step on any toes by posting in the wrong forum. Now, with that straight...

I was talking with one of my friends the other day and I was very interested in modding an xbox. I have seen it on multiple boxes (evolutionx, unleashx, avalaunch, etc), and have been reading extensively on the subject. However, there are still a few things I need cleared up.

Heres the situation... let me start out with a list of things that I have ready to go:

XBOX (duh)
120GB Western Digital 5400 RPM drive (BRAND NEW... got it in the mail yesterday)
Clear XBOX case (aftermarket)
2 Cold Cathode neons (thats saved for later)
EvolutionX3935.rar (includes all nessisary files im told)

And thats right, there was NO mod chip in that list. Now I realize alot of you are for mod chips, some arent, but I opted to go with the Mechassault soft mod, because one of my friends already has it on a memory card!! smile.gif

I have read the tutorials with the mechassault exploit but am still stuck. I have some small knowledge of soldering, and if I need help, I have someone to help me. Not a problem.

Let me just lay out what I want to do. I want to use the mechassault exploit to get into my xbox, install evolution x dashboard on the NEW hard drive (which Im still very lost on how to do that too) and start having fun with the system.

Some small questions that come to mind:

1. I downloaded craxion to put the evolutionx3935.rar files into an .iso file. I also burned the .iso file onto a CDRW using HP's RecordNow software. Just made a data disk. I also renamed the dashboard to default.xbe. My question is... am I doing this correctly?