Jump to content


Photo

F And E Drive - Cannot Format


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 d_v310p3r

d_v310p3r

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Location:Miami FL, USA
  • Interests:Too many to put down.
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 16 September 2004 - 01:28 AM

I have installed a new HD 60 GB. I first ran the Slayers Installer, and it said it formatted F. I can FTP to it and see all the drives, but I cannot create, add, or change anything on the F drive.

So then I decided to use EVOX, so I isntalled the EVOX NEW HD app, and it said it formatted my F drive. But it didn't. I still can FTP to my box but I cannot create folders on the F drive.

The problem is that from what I understand, the F drive is where all the apps go when these Auto Installers run. SO when I used Slayers, it would install everything but the apps that were supposed to be isntalled to the F drive, all showed up in red.

The same thing happened when I used the Evox New HD app.

Please help me!

#2 oxjeremy334

oxjeremy334

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,844 posts
  • Location:Oklahoma
  • Interests:Being a Rhinestone Cowboy
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 16 September 2004 - 01:37 AM

Check your evox settings and make sure that the f drive is enabled.

#3 d_v310p3r

d_v310p3r

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Location:Miami FL, USA
  • Interests:Too many to put down.
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 16 September 2004 - 02:15 AM

Yes it is enabled


#4 thewickedjester

thewickedjester

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,012 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 16 September 2004 - 05:46 AM

could be a problem with your ftp client, try loggin in with with the Inernet Explorer method and seeing if you can create the folders

#5 d_v310p3r

d_v310p3r

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Location:Miami FL, USA
  • Interests:Too many to put down.
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 16 September 2004 - 06:46 PM

If that were the case, why is it that the Auto installers do not put the apps into those drives. Also when I go into my settings in my dash (Evox), the F drive shows 0 as the size available.

Please help. I cannot figure it out.

#6 Killa420

Killa420

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 900 posts

Posted 16 September 2004 - 06:52 PM

Reformat the f:\ using flashfxp. Theres a command but I forgot what it is. Maby someone knows.

#7 d_v310p3r

d_v310p3r

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Location:Miami FL, USA
  • Interests:Too many to put down.
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 16 September 2004 - 07:08 PM

Did that. There was a tutorial on how to do it in the tutorials section.

Let em add to the informtion. I am using an Xchip with the Xchip Evox 1.1 bios.

I have enabled the F drive in the evox.ini. the only thing that I can think of is tht the drive that I put in was not brand new. It was a 60 gig that I pulled from my comp. It is a working drive, but I did not format or partition it or anything before putting it into the xbox. Should there have been anything i should have done before slapping it in?

#8 madcow332

madcow332

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 72 posts
  • Interests:computers, hockey, moding
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 16 September 2004 - 07:19 PM

thats funky, cause if you can see the drives from your computer using the ftp client than that means its formatted.

if you can't see the different drives and folders than it needs formated.

I'm just kind of talking out of my ass here, but is there something in the ini. that will not let you add or remove folders from the HDD?

Does it matter if its locked or unlocked.

Im just giving some ideas for you to work with, i hope you find them usefull.

Edited by madcow332, 16 September 2004 - 07:24 PM.


#9 d_v310p3r

d_v310p3r

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Location:Miami FL, USA
  • Interests:Too many to put down.
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 16 September 2004 - 07:48 PM

Thaks, i will see if there is anything there. I am still hoping that someone has had a similiar problem.

I will check those things, please keep throwing me those ideas.

#10 thewickedjester

thewickedjester

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,012 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 16 September 2004 - 08:34 PM

there isnt really anything in the .ini file that would keep from making folders. darn, your the 3rd person today ive seen with this problem

#11 d_v310p3r

d_v310p3r

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Location:Miami FL, USA
  • Interests:Too many to put down.
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 16 September 2004 - 10:55 PM

Is that good or bad?

#12 thewickedjester

thewickedjester

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,012 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 16 September 2004 - 10:59 PM

QUOTE (d_v310p3r @ Sep 16 2004, 06:58 PM)
Is that good or bad?

well, bad cause not one of them have found a fix that i know of

#13 drofnas

drofnas

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 16 September 2004 - 11:08 PM

I'm also having the same issue, I followed this tutorial to the "t" and can't seem to figure out what could be wrong:

http://www.xbox-scen...dd-install2.php

I'm runing the X-Chip, EvoX Bios (i think it was v1.1), and the EvoX Dashboard on my Xbox v1.0.

I tried creating directories on the F drive using both a FTP program on my computer as well as a File Manager program running on my Xbox. The File Manager program on my Xbox doesn't show anything for the size of the F drive, it's just blank, and the other drives have values listed.

I can't seem to find an answer on how to get this fixed.

#14 d_v310p3r

d_v310p3r

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Location:Miami FL, USA
  • Interests:Too many to put down.
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 16 September 2004 - 11:37 PM

We are on the same boat my friend.

Wickedjester? It sounds and looks like you do this for a living to a degree. What would you suggest be a good plan of attack for trouble shooting this problem.

#15 chasealicious11

chasealicious11

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 369 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 16 September 2004 - 11:40 PM

try using X2.4983.BIOS


GET A BIOS THAT HAS .06 at the end, try that bios then do your hard drive




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users