• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 pimplicious

pimplicious

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 23 September 2004 - 04:06 PM

First off, i'm a newbie and this is probably stupid so feel free to laugh. I'm certainly no stranger to trying to get personal computers to do things they were not designed to so this seemed like the obsious next evolution (no pun intended wink.gif ). Unfortunately I have encountered somewhat of a snag. I installed an X 2.3 B Pro with no problem. Flashed the bios to 4981.67 with X2BM 2.2 also without event. A guy I work with hooked me up with an EvoX boot disk and SlaYer's 2.5 to help me on my way. I started with the EvoX boot disk to install my dashboard. Everything worked fine chip off as well as chip on with one exception, the installed dash was missing a few choices like launch DVD and the launch games and apps menu as wall as not launching the default dashboard when you click Launch MS Dash. At that point I tried the SlaYer disk to install the dash with the same results. My friend at work told me how to ftp to the box and copy the evoxdash.xbe and the evox.ini files from the DVD to my C drive, and to modify the .ini to make sure Launch MS Dash pointed to the original xboxdash.xbe. Now the Evox dashboard works flawlesly and I can play rented games etc. Happy, and with a bit of proud arrogance, I played a game from my hard drive and after a while deciced to boot without the chip on and guess what? Error 21! I have made sure to have a known good copy xboxdash.xbe in the C drive, formatted the HDD, reinstalled Evox, and nothing works. Everything works fine while the chip is on, so long as I don't hit Launch MS Dash, which gets me the Error 21 again. I don't care about XBL, at least not at the moment, and if there was any other way to set the clock, manipulate saved games etc. I realy wouldn't care. However I'm EXTREMELY anal and won't be satisfied until it is perfect. Now I must implore your help, the wise mod g