Jump to content


Photo

2 Hard Drives & 1 Dvd Tutorial


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 JamesH1985

JamesH1985

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 143 posts
  • Location:Fredericksburg, Virginia
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 12 October 2004 - 10:58 PM

Keep inmind this tutorial is a rough draft, but has been tested and works

finally a tutorial that allows you to have 2 harddrives and one dvd drive on one ide cable and have it work

YOU MUST READ THIS TUTORIAL BEFORE STARTING, VERY VERY IMPORTANT THAT YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING.

i use audio exploit, but it should be the same for a chip

This tutorial will allow you to (by using 2 switches) to have 2 hard drives and a dvd drive in xbox. You can swtich between which hard drive you would want to use. This WILL work with xbox live. All you do is switch up or down on both the IDE switch and the power switch. ONLY SWITCH WHEN THE XBOX IS OFF. I found out that the 39th wire on the ide cable controls the activity that when off allows xbox to have 2 harddrives on one cable with a dvd drive. Now I also have a switch on the 23rd wire, its what i was told to use at first and works when having 2 dvds and one harddrive, well the 23rd did not work by itself so after trial and error i found that 23 and 39 work, i never tried just 39 because I just found this and and do not have the time to unsolder my stuff and make a new cable, if you have the time please go ahead and try 39 first by itself and let me know, but 23 and 39 together on one switch do work.

here is whats needed

A xbox ..duh
A MS Hard drive
Another Hard drive
A IDE cable with 4 Connecters, (mobo, dvd, hd1, hd2)
2 DPDT Switches
30w Soldering iron
solder
Y molex Power Splitter

Open the xbox, take out the ms hard drive, the hard drive tray, the dvdrom with tray. Then remove the ide cable. Make an IDE cable with 4 connectors (http://xbox-scene.com/articles/extra-connector-ide.php shows how, but only make it this way, dont pay attention whats said at the bottom about the harddrives, its wrong)

Heres the good part, you have to sepaerate the 23rd and 39th wires, start counting from the colored cable, usually red, once you get to the 23rd wire use your thumbnail and pull it seperate from the others but keep it connected, do the same for the 39th, the 39th is one away from the end. I WILL HAVE PICTURES IN THE COMING DAYS TO HELP, I JUST WANTED TO GET THIS STUFF OUT THERE FOR PEOPLE TO READ

OPTION ONE
if you want to be able to have the MS or custom hard drive in either ide slot do this
PICTURE COMING SOONuser posted image this pic is a rough sketch, a better one is coming in a few days

this was not tested but has no reason not to work, I used option 2 because its what i tried first but i recommend it because using this method you can have any hard drive in any of the 2 last slots

OPTION TWO
this is so that the MS harddrive is first and the custom is second, i liked it first because I figured it would help to get on live by not having to pass the custom hd to get to the ms one
user posted image again this is a rough drawing

choose one of those options when using this tutorial, other things to do are

you have to split the power on the hard drives, buy a y molex power splitter, use this tutorial, http://xbox-scene.co...multi-drive.php but only the part about how to add a switch.

THIS TUTORIAL WAS TYPED IN 20 MINUTES, I WANTED FOR PEOPLE TO READ HOW I DID MY XBOX AND HOW IT WORKED, I WILL FOLLOW UP IN A FEW DAYS TO GIVE A MORE DETAILED EXPLAINATION ON HOW TO DO IT WITH ALOT BETTER PICTURES, LOL.

I want to thank anyone who tried to help when I first ran into problems, xbox-scene.com for having such a great website and to daily usters for helping xbox-scene grow. Anyone who has Questions or anytype of update or something that improves this tutorial send me a pm, this took me 3 weeks to figure out so i hop you enjoy.





#2 GSBS

GSBS

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 188 posts

Posted 13 October 2004 - 12:56 AM

H04. ATA Connector (HDD/DVD IDE cable)

Pin____Name___Comment_____Pin____Name___Comment
1______Reset__________________2_____Ground___________
3______Data7__________________4_____Data8____________
5______Data6__________________6_____Data9____________
7______Data5__________________8_____Data10___________
9______Data4__________________10____Data11___________
11_____Data3__________________12____Data12___________
13_____Data2__________________14____Data13___________
15_____Data1__________________16____Data14___________
17_____Data0__________________18____Data15___________
19_____GND___________________20____Key_____Blank Pin for polarizing
21____DMARQ__DMA Request_____22____GND_____________
23____DIOW____I/O Write________24____GND______________
25____DIOR____I/O Read_________26____GND_____________
27____IORDY___I/O Ready________28____CSEL__Cable Select
29____DMACK__DAM Ackknowledge_30____GND_____________
31____INTRQ__Interrupt Req.______32____IOCS16__16bit I/O
33____DA1____Device Addr. Bit 1___34____PDIAG__Passed Diagnostics
35____DA0____Device Addr. Bit 0___36____DA2__Device Addr. Bit 2
37____CS0____Chip Select 0_______38____CS1__Chip select 1
39____DASP___Dev. Activity_______40____GND______________

That's the diagram from the Case Modding FAQ, so I assume these are the pins you are mentioning.

So by switching 23 and 39, along with the standard power, all previous issues concerning the IDE bus deteriation are gone? I'm no expert, but I thought it was grounding issues...

If so, though, this is huge news to me. I was literally one step from buying a new 2 channel IDE PC mobo, and just Samba streaming the large files (Roms, Movies), but this would set me back to my original 3 HDD plan.

I'd like to wait on Opjose, though. He is the resident guru, so I'd like his word on this before taking a leap of faith.

#3 xcopycat

xcopycat

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 13 October 2004 - 02:57 AM

lol..nice artwork james. The pics will do justice to the tutorial. The diagram makes sence. give us some pics of your box and ribbon wires attaching to switches. Great job by the way. beerchug.gif

#4 JamesH1985

JamesH1985

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 143 posts
  • Location:Fredericksburg, Virginia
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 13 October 2004 - 03:17 AM

thanks, does this tutorial make any sense, is it helpful?, i was in a rush so i dont know if i missed stuff, a friend made a new drawing for me so i should get that up tomorrow sometime. as for the pics of my xbox they are on the way, i will show my ribbon cable and my finished xbox case mod, its sick.


please anyone who reads this respond on the tutorial, maybe after its finished it gets published on the website.

#5 GSBS

GSBS

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 188 posts

Posted 13 October 2004 - 03:11 PM

Bump, I'm interested in knowing the full affects of the mod/tutorial.

#6 JamesH1985

JamesH1985

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 143 posts
  • Location:Fredericksburg, Virginia
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 14 October 2004 - 02:58 AM

what do you mean by full affects?

#7 jawie

jawie

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 15 October 2004 - 08:40 PM

do you already have pictures?
and do you also swith the power to the HDD's
2 switches? 1 for the IDE, and 1 for the power?

Does it work with only switching the IDE-cable?

Edited by jawie, 15 October 2004 - 09:01 PM.


#8 JamesH1985

JamesH1985

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 143 posts
  • Location:Fredericksburg, Virginia
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 15 October 2004 - 10:28 PM

do you already have pictures?
i took some pics of it in my xbox and it doesnt show it well so tonight i will disasembe everything to give detailed pictures

and do you also swith the power to the HDD's
yes i have a switch for the hds, i put a Y molex and added a switch after it so i can control the power going to each one

2 switches? 1 for the IDE, and 1 for the power?
yes

Does it work with only switching the IDE-cable?
i did not try, i do not want to take any chances getting banned from xbox live or screwing up my xbox, but i would guess it would although not sure

#9 jawie

jawie

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 20 October 2004 - 08:54 AM

I made the cable like the one in picture two.
But I get errors sad.gif

No errors
connector 1: MB
connector 2: DVD
connector 3: HDD
connector 4: Empty

The switch for connector 3 is good

No errors
connector 1:MB
connector 2:DVD
connector 3:Empty
connector 4:HDD

The switch for connector 4 is good



connector 1:MB
connector 2:DVD
connector 3:HDD (is booting to the dashboard)
connector 4:HDD (hangs in boot screen)


How did you jumpered the HDD's ?
All CS ?

Edited by jawie, 20 October 2004 - 08:57 AM.


#10 JamesH1985

JamesH1985

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 143 posts
  • Location:Fredericksburg, Virginia
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 20 October 2004 - 11:03 PM

user posted image

see if that helps, i believe i have my large hd on cs, as for the ms on i cant remember. I got some time off finally so i can help out if you need it, again anyone please post your questions or tell me something i can do to make the tutorial better]


also remember you have to put a switch on the harddrives too, did u do that?

#11 jawie

jawie

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 21 October 2004 - 07:44 AM

I'm going to make the switch as you described in option one.
I hope that will work. I'll let you know if it does


I did put a switch on the powercables of the HDD's.

Edited by jawie, 21 October 2004 - 07:50 AM.


#12 yohoo

yohoo

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 100 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 21 October 2004 - 10:08 AM

But the x-tender put all of the drives on the same cable.
Is this a better way to do multi hdd ?

#13 JamesH1985

JamesH1985

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 143 posts
  • Location:Fredericksburg, Virginia
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 21 October 2004 - 08:39 PM

i'm not to familiar with the xtender case but whatever it is i am guessing its atleast 50 bucks? this is a cheap alternative i guess if there is a case like that.

Edited by JamesH1985, 21 October 2004 - 09:00 PM.


#14 jawie

jawie

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 22 October 2004 - 01:37 PM

QUOTE (jawie @ Oct 21 2004, 08:47 AM)
I'm going to make the switch as you described in option one.
I hope that will work. I'll let you know if it does


I did put a switch on the powercables of the HDD's.

I made the switch (option one)
But did not work. sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif
When I put the 2nd disc on the conector, it hangs when booting.
I also tried different jumper settings.


After trial and error you found that 23 and 39 work ?

Wich wires gave you errors?
Have you tried wire 28 and 37 ??

I've found this:
Second oath non removable disk switch off




#15 JamesH1985

JamesH1985

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 143 posts
  • Location:Fredericksburg, Virginia
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 23 October 2004 - 02:51 AM

ok, well mine worked so triple check everything, also since those first 2 pics are hard to read do the pic i posted a few days ago, and remember this only works when you also do to power switch mod




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users