Photo

Xenium Suddenly Stops Working, But Aladdin Works..

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 kcassady

kcassady

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 14 October 2004 - 07:14 AM

OK, here goes this is my story...

Recently bought a v1.6 Xbox and a Xenium ICE to go with it. Got the Xbox new here in town, and the chip from bmmods.com.

Found an installer in my area to put the chip in. The chip installation was apparently succesful, I watched the guy do it and although this is my first modded Xbox, I've been building PCs for over 10 years, and every thing looked good. Did a pinheader install, remembering to remove the extra pin, and all of his solders looked good. Plugged in the Xbox and it booted into the Xenium OS no prob. Satisfied with the work I took the box home to update the OS, load a bios, and do a HDD swap.

The chip had the OS2 pre-release on it so I downloaded 2.0.1. Loaded the new Xenium OS from the harddrive after FTPing in, that came up no problem. After I got into the new OS I setup the retail bios on the chip and booted into the M$ dashboard to set my system date and time. I got the M8 for the 1.6 from SlaYer's 2.6 and verified the MD5 hash of both files. I loaded the M8 on the chip, and booted into SlaYer's 2.6 no prob. While I was moving through the menus the Xbox suddenly reboots with no apparent cause, system temperature looked fine in SlaYer's dash, 147F. Upon trying to power it on again the eject LED flashes green three times and each time I hear the HDD and the DVD spin up, then it just flashes red and green. The chip only has a red LED on now as well.