• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Ichiduo

Ichiduo

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 07 November 2004 - 05:24 PM

Okay guys, i've been reading the tutorials, and have basically gotten the jist of how things are supposed to be done.

I have a few questions though. I've chosen to do this mod this way:

Controller Port MOD Guide

My question is, would a 5mm LED be too big for the controller port LED mod? I wanted to get blue LEDs and when I searched radioshack.com, the only ones they have which are 3mm are red ones. Would the 5mm be too big for me to get the shielding back on?

Also, is there any place other than Radioshack I could walk into and buy LEDs?

One last question, and I know this is covered in the stickied, but I'm a complete and total newb (but one that was able to install an X3 on his Xbox tongue.gif )... If the 5mm LED will work.. What resistor would work with it? I tried the calculators, but the way radioshack.com lists the specs, I don't know if I'm putting the right numbers in the calculator / equation. I don't want to get the wrong hardware / put everything in, and find out it's the wrong hardware the hard way. happy.gif*

Just for reference here's the LEDs I'm looking at:

Blue LED 1

Blue LED 2

Is any one better / brighter than another?

I'm sorry if any of this was already copied in another thread, I tried searching the forums, but couldn't find one answering my specific questions. Thank you guys / gals in advance for any help you can give me.

#2 Mattssogay

Mattssogay

X-S Genius

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 972 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 07 November 2004 - 05:28 PM

There are a ton of places way better than RadioShack.From the pinned FAQ at the top:
B01. LEDs
- http://www.LSDiodes.com - Highly reccomended by a lot of modders on the scene. LEDs & Resistors.
- http://www.besthongkong.com/ - Also highly reccomended. LEDs and resistors.