Photo

Problems W/ Box, Any Way To Connect Hd To Pc?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 nouseforotacon

nouseforotacon

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 08 November 2004 - 08:27 PM

Not exactly sure if this a newb question, but my Box has been f'd for around 6 months+ now. So, I'd say I'm a newb.

I tried soft modding with Evox and something along the way went terribly wrong. Since then my box will turn on, clock loop, and then enter a blue screen (after a long while) w/ FRAG.

Numerous people suggested to me that I try to get a mod-chip and that it might override some of the things screwed up in my system. I paid $65 for a Xenium Ice solderless, and to no avail, the chip did nothing for the system. Perhaps it's my installation or something. Question 1: Should a Xenium Ice solderless chip fix my problem?

I read the old guide on how to unlock and lock HDs from an X-Box. In the guide it said that there was no way to read the data off the HD on your PC. Question 2: Does this still ring true, or has someone come up with a way to get into your HD by connecting it to your PC? My logic is that if I could get into the faulty HD with my PC, I could copy over the proper files to fix my system.

Thanks for any help in advance. If you'd rather, you can send me a message @ nouseforotacon on AIM. I'd really like to try to do something with this machine before I decide to blow a couple hundred on a new machine + stuff.

-- Pierre

P.S. I believe my Box is a v1.0. The CD drive says it was manufactured in Apr. 2002, and the inside of my machine has pins, not holes, where the Xenium Ice is supposed to be placed on the board.

#2 nouseforotacon

nouseforotacon

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 08 November 2004 - 11:51 PM

*bump*

I'm afraid no one will see this and be able to help me out because it got buried very quickly.

This another call for help, any input is appreciated.