Jump to content


Photo

Oops I've Got An Error 5


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 aubry

aubry

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 10 November 2004 - 07:48 AM

Right, i admit it! iv'e manage to screw my Xbox up.
First - i may have incorrectly flashed my bios (x2 2.6 lite - 1.6 xbox)
I used X2_4983_06 or _67. the box now frags 3 times on boot up (keeps restarting)
OK, not a problem buy a new chip or programmer and learn from my mistake (can still use the xbox with the mod switched off) BUT NO!
I think while i was burning the bios to disk my baby son may have managed to unlock the harddrive without me realizing ( he has a fetish for controllers)
Now when i try to run the standard xbox, i get an error 5, which i believes relates to an unlock HDD (is that correct?) how do i relock so i can use the standard xbox again?
I have a working modified xbox (x2 2.3 lite, avalaunch, 40 gig hdd) can i lock my original hdd from my old xbox to go into the new crystal xbox i have bust?

HELP!!!!!!!!!

#2 Xombe

Xombe

    X-S Xbox Xombe

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,198 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:PNW
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 10 November 2004 - 08:39 AM

For a v1.6 box you MUST use the Evox M8_16 bios. You can't use the x2.4983 or ANY other bios at the moment. Yes, unless you have a version of Cromwell/FlashBIOS higher than 2.2.8 on your other bank (I reeealy doubt it), you'll need a programmer.


BUT, after you get your chip fixed, your HD issue is simple.

You can lock your HDD using the Evox dash if you have the right commands in your Evox menu (re: the proper lines in your evox.ini file). Or, you can download Config Magic from xbins and use that.

Don't worry, your HD problem is very minor. smile.gif Speak up if you don't understand (if you do want to try to use Evox to lock it, but don't know how, either tell us which version of Evox dash you're running or just post your evox.ini file here).

#3 aubry

aubry

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 10 November 2004 - 10:08 AM

Would this be the right programmer to buy?


Xecuter 2 Lite Stand-Alone Programmer V2

Allows you to quickly and easily program any of the X2 range of Linux Loaders, directly with a Linux Bios. A neat compact design, allowing programming via the parallal port - make this the essential choice for any purchaser of the X2 range. Compatible with all Xecuter from X2.0 to X2.3B model (although mine is a 2.6?)

Or do you have a recommendation?

I run avalaunch dash but couldnt tell you the version (at work at the moment)
I will post it later if will help

thanks

#4 Xombe

Xombe

    X-S Xbox Xombe

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,198 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:PNW
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 10 November 2004 - 10:12 AM

Sounds about right. Give me a link to be sure.

And you can flash an X2.3 just as well as an X.26 (that's why refer to the series as X2.x chips). You can even flash Pro's with them.

Don't worry about posting anything from Avalaunch. The HD issues is FAR from your biggest problem right now...

#5 aubry

aubry

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 10 November 2004 - 01:12 PM

The link is

Divineo

#6 Xombe

Xombe

    X-S Xbox Xombe

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,198 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:PNW
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 10 November 2004 - 01:28 PM

You're url tag is bad.

I think you mean this, right? If so, yeah, that exactly what you want.

#7 aubry

aubry

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 10 November 2004 - 01:33 PM

Thanks matey,
Thats just the info i was after.
as for the url, i'm just getting used to the functions. (1st time user and all that)

Would it be wise to get the mod chip sorted first and repost about the error 5 later on? or could you give me some insight now?

Your help is greatly appreciated. (bit of a X-S hero)

nice one

#8 Xombe

Xombe

    X-S Xbox Xombe

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,198 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:PNW
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 10 November 2004 - 01:59 PM

No big deal. Get the programmer, sort out the reflashing, THEN worry about the error 5 (that's a quick fix). wink.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users