Jump to content


Photo

Extend The Life Expectance Of Your Modded 1.6


  • Please log in to reply
633 replies to this topic

#151 vinyl

vinyl

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts

Posted 07 December 2004 - 07:07 AM

QUOTE (eight_heads @ Dec 7 2004, 07:11 AM)
well team xecuter are saying they just ground it for a second because that's all the chip needs, i'm gonna go with them on this until it can be verified that this is infact false

What happens if your xbox fries and your the one to prove it false?

#152 Morglum

Morglum

    X-S Hacker

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,270 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 07 December 2004 - 02:50 PM

QUOTE (vinyl @ Dec 7 2004, 07:10 AM)
What happens if your xbox fries and your the one to prove it false?

He has goes out and buy a new 1.6 motherboard ph34r.gif

Edited by Morglum, 07 December 2004 - 02:50 PM.


#153 LioConvoy

LioConvoy

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 170 posts
  • Location:Corbin, Kentucky
  • Interests:I like XBOX, Counter-Strike, Halo, Half-Life, comics, movies, and other crap.
  • Xbox Version:v1.6

Posted 07 December 2004 - 02:59 PM

Does a softmodded 1.6 have this same problem?

#154 basso4735

basso4735

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,883 posts
  • Location:MA
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 07 December 2004 - 08:46 PM

guess ill have to go with a Xenium ice sad.gif jester.gif

#155 yazoo32

yazoo32

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 27 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 08 December 2004 - 11:11 AM

QUOTE (vinyl @ Dec 7 2004, 08:10 AM)
What happens if your xbox fries and your the one to prove it false?

its like being sheep,

you'd think the people who made and tested the modchip would know what they are talking about.,


#156 jonarvid

jonarvid

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts

Posted 08 December 2004 - 09:49 PM

This guy on the SmartXX forum say that this is a problem for the Xenium ICE also, as well as all other modchips of this type. "Larry1981" seems to think he knows best:

http://www.smartxx.c...533&page=1&sid=

So what should we believe? Is the Xenium as bad as the others?

#157 zikronix

zikronix

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 858 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 09 December 2004 - 01:30 AM

http://www.teamxecut...p=132218#132218

#158 jROC99

jROC99

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 290 posts
  • Location:Toronto
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 09 December 2004 - 07:54 AM

Guys.. Check this out...

Tested in Crystal Box (2004-09-09)
Version 1.6 (Brand new from store)
Tested with all components plugged in - AV Cable / Power and Network cables..DVDRom and Original HD. External USB Connector also plugged in.

XeniumIce - Measured D0 (Xenium OS 2.0.1)

At Xenium OS Menu- D0 = 0v
At MS Dashboard ( Chip disabled) - D0 = 3.3v
Chip enabled with Evox M8 PLus 1.6 - D0 = 0v

Can't be 100% sure without the scope.. but it appears that the Xenium keeps the D0 line pulled low.. this strongly contradicts what Xenium says about pulsing the line.. i would have to strongly disagree... my meter reads a dead 0v .. no fluctuations.. not even 1mV . Period.

Will continue testing X Chips in the morning.

jROC

#159 FallsInc

FallsInc

    X-S Hacker

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,280 posts
  • Location:Ohio
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:none

Posted 09 December 2004 - 07:57 AM

i think my new crystal has fallen victim to this... i was watching a dvd in the original bios, and i turned it off, then started m8 a half second later... only to frag... boots without chip, but i cant get the smartxx to work now,

#160 Thephost

Thephost

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts

Posted 09 December 2004 - 04:19 PM

Could the resistor install be accomplished by soldering it between
D0 and the ground point? This would eliminate the need to cut a trace and solder something else to the board. I plan to test this but haven't had time to do so yet.

TFP

#161 cONEction

cONEction

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 602 posts

Posted 09 December 2004 - 04:52 PM

Well after modding like 150 1.6 xboxs and not even 1 with problems last 3 months, I wouldt take this warning too serious!

I am using all modchips:

Xecuter 3.0 more than 20 1.6 xbox
Xecuter 2.6 more than 50 1.6 xbox
SmartXX V2 more than 25 1.6 xbox
DUOX 2 more than 50 1.6 xbox


Edited by cONEction, 09 December 2004 - 04:56 PM.


#162 zikronix

zikronix

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 858 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 09 December 2004 - 05:20 PM

QUOTE (Thephost @ Dec 9 2004, 05:22 PM)
Could the resistor install be accomplished by soldering it between
D0 and the ground point? This would eliminate the need to cut a trace and solder something else to the board. I plan to test this but haven't had time to do so yet.

TFP

Hmm maybe

#163 zikronix

zikronix

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 858 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 09 December 2004 - 05:34 PM

X3 test Results are IN

Crystal Xbox Edition - 2004-09-10 (different console that the Xenium test)
V1.6

D0 Tested with X3 and X3 1959 1.6 Bios

D0 at X3 config screen = 0v
D0 with chip disabled at Ms Dashboard - 3.3V
D0 with chip enabled = 0v

Results are the exact same as the Xenium...both chips have the same 'problem'

jROC

#164 striker754

striker754

    X-S Young Member

  • Validating
  • Pip
  • 41 posts

Posted 09 December 2004 - 05:37 PM

QUOTE (Thephost @ Dec 9 2004, 05:22 PM)
Could the resistor install be accomplished by soldering it between
D0 and the ground point? This would eliminate the need to cut a trace and solder something else to the board. I plan to test this but haven't had time to do so yet.

TFP

Someone try this!



#165 zikronix

zikronix

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 858 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 09 December 2004 - 05:48 PM

QUOTE (striker754 @ Dec 9 2004, 06:40 PM)
Someone try this!

I dont think this will work as its not the voltage on the D0 its the voltage to xyclops chip. If I understand correctly




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users