Jump to content


Photo

Track/map Editing


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 lodyha

lodyha

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 19 November 2004 - 07:51 PM

Hi,
has anyone managed to get into the track/circuit map modding of PGR2?
Let's assume the files are open in the directory on the PC in a respective folders
what kind of extensions do they have are they compressed again?
I'm asking because it might be quite interesting to port some of the data like elevation or maybe more if possible to another games where a particular circuit is not present.

I know that this game is probably not as deeply explored as Halo2, GTA3 and others but any hints would come in handy. It seems to me there are a lot of bright people so any constructive comments are welcome. T.H.A.N.K.S.

PS skimmed through many thread already pls. no bashing me on that one beerchug.gif

I gather that some existing txd/dds export and other utilities created originally for Halo/GT3 might be used after some tweaking..?

Edited by lodyha, 19 November 2004 - 08:11 PM.


#2 DOS4GW

DOS4GW

    The XLink Fraggle

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,432 posts
  • Location:#XLink @ Efnet
  • Interests:Pet my Xbox
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 20 November 2004 - 04:04 PM

What do you define map editing as? Texture and road editing?

I've edited tracks, but not texture and roads.

Each course is just different routs in one big track. Instead of saving all the courses as tracks which will take up alot of extra space they've saved the track and uses inis to create the courses.

I edited the inis and added a new course from one track with the whole track open, all fences removed.

Can be fun with one on one cat and mouse race in system link.

#3 lodyha

lodyha

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 20 November 2004 - 04:46 PM

Thanks for the reply!
So do I understand it right that there is only one giant data file for all the racing circuits where all the textures and road data are stored?

What is the file format of this big data pack? Is it possible to open it with some tools which are discussed here at the forum for other games?

What kind of information can be found in those .ini and how big they are? Are there some elevation, fences, trees, buildings related info or it just launches the road from that big track with textures?

I'm primarily interested in the 20km long Nurburgring Nordschleife track because this is a very rare cicrcuit considered by many as the ultimate racing event ever. It exists only in the upcoming GT4 for ps and in PGR2/xbox, for PC sims there are currently no quality version of this track because of its complexity - developers stay away from it despite popular demand to have it. I think it's reasonable to expect that they have used some standard editing tools to create it (3dmax) so some reverse engineering could possibly port it to another/PC platform and make it available to the eager community..

Edited by lodyha, 20 November 2004 - 04:53 PM.


#4 Mr Clown

Mr Clown

    X-S Young Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • Pip
  • 50 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 21 November 2004 - 03:36 AM

QUOTE (DOS4GW @ Nov 20 2004, 05:07 PM)
I edited the inis and added a new course from one track with the whole track open, all fences removed.

OMFG!!!

TELL ME HOW!!!! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

#5 DOS4GW

DOS4GW

    The XLink Fraggle

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,432 posts
  • Location:#XLink @ Efnet
  • Interests:Pet my Xbox
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 23 November 2004 - 11:23 PM

QUOTE (lodyha @ Nov 20 2004, 05:49 PM)
Thanks for the reply!
So do I understand it right that there is only one giant data file for all the racing circuits where all the textures and road data are stored?

Yes, more or less.

QUOTE
What is the file format of this big data pack? Is it possible to open it with some tools which are discussed here at the forum for other games?


Pak_*. I doubt you can use other apps. Even if maps often are called Pak / Pak_* a file called Pak most likely are not the same format as another file called Pak. Ie. Two kids named Will. Are they identical since they both have the same name? No...

QUOTE
What kind of information can be found in those .ini and how big they are? Are there some elevation, fences, trees, buildings related info or it just launches the road from that big track with textures?


You can check you Routes.ini. Not buildings. Only roads. All buildings, structures, etc. are just texture. If you leave the road you can drive right trough them. The only structures who's not only texture are moving objects. Like the boat in on the river in Paris.

QUOTE
I'm primarily interested in the 20km long Nurburgring Nordschleife track because this is a very rare cicrcuit considered by many as the ultimate racing event ever. It exists only in the upcoming GT4 for ps and in PGR2/xbox, for PC sims there are currently no quality version of this track because of its complexity - developers stay away from it despite popular demand to have it. I think it's reasonable to expect that they have used some standard editing tools to create it (3dmax) so some reverse engineering could possibly port it to another/PC platform and make it available to the eager community..


Well there aren't much you can do with the ring itself. It's just one way, not many small as in the cities.

Technicaly you can use the track on any game. It's basically just bits and bytes. However, you'd have to have serious skills. Ie. Be the game developer - To set things in a wider prespective I'd compare the question somewhat like asking if we could use the subway from Dope Wars in The Urbz...

QUOTE ((Mr Clown @ Nov 21 2004 @ 04:39 AM))
TELL ME HOW!!!!


Peek into Routes.ini - you should see the consept pretty fast.

#6 cgray526

cgray526

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 30 November 2004 - 02:38 AM

Is it possible to add hills to tracks?

#7 DOS4GW

DOS4GW

    The XLink Fraggle

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,432 posts
  • Location:#XLink @ Efnet
  • Interests:Pet my Xbox
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 01 December 2004 - 08:29 AM

No. (Well if you have access to Bungie's track editor, which only game developers have, yes.)

#8 moniq

moniq

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 07 December 2004 - 10:08 PM

Alright, that's it...Which tracks did you make? This is getting interesting.

#9 Redneck427

Redneck427

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 22 December 2004 - 04:26 PM

damn i wish this game was available for PC, im a total noob at xbox modding, i look a info about mod chips and have absolutly no freakin idea what im looking at. though i could do some cool stuff with halo PC, but as for modding xbox games, i might as well not even try. and how are you supposed to connect ur box to a pc?
im so confused! huh.gif huh.gif uhh.gif uhh.gif

#10 DOS4GW

DOS4GW

    The XLink Fraggle

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,432 posts
  • Location:#XLink @ Efnet
  • Interests:Pet my Xbox
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 23 December 2004 - 06:27 AM

QUOTE(Redneck427 @ Dec 22 2004, 05:29 PM)
damn i wish this game was available for PC, im a total noob at xbox modding, i look a info about mod chips and have absolutly no freakin idea what im looking at. though i could do some cool stuff with halo PC, but as for modding xbox games, i might as well not even try. and how are you supposed to connect ur box to a pc?
im so confused! huh.gif huh.gif  uhh.gif  uhh.gif

View Post



Make a post in the forum asking for a modder nearby you; Modchips forum.

#11 teapot85

teapot85

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 30 January 2005 - 01:53 PM

QUOTE(DOS4GW)
I edited the inis and added a new course from one track with the whole track open, all fences removed.
------
Peek into Routes.ini - you should see the consept pretty fast.

View Post


Sorry for dredging up an old topic and all. But, I'm not seeing the concept ohmy.gif, I've been poking at it for a few days now, and all I've got so far is changing the track map in the menu, or crashing the game on loading.

Could maybe I get a small shunt in the right direction...Please?

It's probably totally obvious and staring me in the face......dry.gif

#12 Exodus989

Exodus989

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 127 posts
  • Location:San Diego
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 August 2005 - 05:13 AM

Ya, Same, here. I can't figure it out :S :?

#13 teapot85

teapot85

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 23 August 2005 - 08:32 AM

After many many months of occasional poking at the ini. I finally got it....or close enough, anyway.

CODE
[ROUTE]
Name = "Washington DC 0"
City = "Washington DC"
DisplayName = Washington DC 0
LeaderboardID = 270
NumSplits = 0
ID = 1001


That removes all the barriers from Washington DC, and lets you pootle just about everywhere. Although it is trial and error as to which roads are solid, and which ones send you falling a long way.

user posted image

I'm gonna keep testing the other cities, but it's probably just similar to that one.


#14 teapot85

teapot85

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 23 August 2005 - 09:07 AM

Double Posting because I can't edit...... dry.gif

It seems I may have done something wrong with Washington, because I just edited Sydney, and all the barriers to keep me on the the roads are there, but the ones marking out individual tracks aren't.

CODE
[ROUTE]
Name = "Sydney 0"
City = "Sydney"
DisplayName = Sydney 0
LeaderboardID = 352
NumSplits = 0
ID = 1140


Hmm..... huh.gif

#15 DOS4GW

DOS4GW

    The XLink Fraggle

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,432 posts
  • Location:#XLink @ Efnet
  • Interests:Pet my Xbox
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 23 August 2005 - 10:14 PM

There is nothing wrong with your configuration, it's how it is. Sidney is the only track you really can use for game play if you don't know the other tracks well.

Edited by DOS4GW, 23 August 2005 - 10:16 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users