Jump to content


Photo

Chip Question


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 x_nas

x_nas

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 27 November 2004 - 12:16 AM

Hi I`m from Argentina and here you buy a modded xbox. When i bought mine, they told me that it was flashed, not chipped, could it be possible? I can`t open it `cos i'd lose the warranty, so i'm asking. Is possible that an xbox is flashed and no chipped? or if it is flashed, it is necessarily chipped?
In my xbox i have evolution dashboard, if it is chipped, how can i know what chip i have?

Well I hope you could help me

#2 Arjun

Arjun

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,867 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 27 November 2004 - 12:22 AM

yes, it can be flashed with out a chip.

#3 x_nas

x_nas

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 27 November 2004 - 12:43 AM

QUOTE (Arjun @ Nov 27 2004, 01:25 AM)
yes, it can be flashed with out a chip.

But is there a possibily to know if i have a chip or no whitout opennig my xbox?

#4 itsmee129

itsmee129

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 791 posts
  • Location:PSP Administrator Gamertag: MasterAres
  • Interests:i like xbox and chicks :-)
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 27 November 2004 - 01:04 AM

its called tsop flash, and they had to of opened the xbox to flash it unless they were using a game exploit which i doubt

#5 wolrahnaes

wolrahnaes

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 191 posts
  • Location:Ohio
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 27 November 2004 - 11:17 AM

Even with a game exploit they would have to open it to do a bit of soldering to enable writing to flash.

If a box runs Evo and isn't softmodded, then it's guaranteed to have been opened.

#6 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 27 November 2004 - 12:46 PM

you need to open it up and have a look. if theres only liek 1 wire, its a tsop flash

#7 Zodiiak

Zodiiak

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,865 posts
  • Location:New Jersey
  • Interests:Life
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 27 November 2004 - 06:16 PM

TSOP flash is basically just soddering a few points...If you want to see if you have a modchip
1) Is there an external switch (granted you can add a switch for a TSOP)
2) Open it up and goto: http://xbox-scene.com/modchips.php

See if you find anything similar on your XBOX

#8 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 30 November 2004 - 10:16 AM

QUOTE (Zodiiak @ Nov 28 2004, 04:19 AM)
See if you find anything similar on your XBOX

look like time for snooping around in your xbox

#9 b16mcc

b16mcc

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 139 posts
  • Interests:Xbox Mods - PS2 - Movies - The Web In General
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 30 November 2004 - 10:40 AM

Guyz the latest version of slayers evox prep disk v2.6 will instantly report what mod / bios your xbox has inside it. Just download the cd burn and run in your xbox ! Easy... Also if the box does what you want it to, then why do you need to know what mod it has.

Extra info :- There's no need to not believe what the supplier said, take it that is has a flashed tsop, therefore if you want to play around with bios files just make sure you make them into 1mb files using x2.2 bios manager. Modify your evox dash to include the flashbios option and copy bios bin files to c:\bios you can then flash your tsop with as many different bios files as you like. However I recommend using a late version X2 bios (4983 etc.. ) or EvoX M8 bios.

#10 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 30 November 2004 - 11:18 AM

QUOTE (b16mcc @ Nov 30 2004, 08:43 PM)
Also if the box does what you want it to, then why do you need to know what mod it has.

thats a very good question...




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users