Jump to content


Photo

Mod's Needed For Multi-region


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 jimmymac70

jimmymac70

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 07 December 2004 - 09:26 PM

Hi there,

Total newbie to mods. I was just wondering where to start with being able to play NTSC games on my PAL box?

TIA

Jimmy

#2 swolsten

swolsten

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 December 2004 - 01:56 PM

Modchip
Decent TV (that supports NTSC and PAL)
Devent Video lead (RGB video is a lot better than comp video)
May need to manually switch video modes with Enigma Video Selector (some dashboards do this for you)

NTSC or Pal game

#3 atomiX

atomiX

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,225 posts
  • Location:NB, Canada
  • Interests:Doesn't matter...
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 December 2004 - 02:53 PM

QUOTE (swolsten @ Dec 8 2004, 09:59 AM)
...
Decent TV (that supports NTSC and PAL)
...
May need to manually switch video modes with Enigma Video Selector (some dashboards do this for you)

a dual-mode TV is not required since it's not necessary to change the video mode on most games. a PAL game does not necessarily need to output PAL-format video.

#4 swolsten

swolsten

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 December 2004 - 03:00 PM

QUOTE (atomiX @ Dec 8 2004, 02:56 PM)
a dual-mode TV is not required since it's not necessary to change the video mode on most games. a PAL game does not necessarily need to output PAL-format video.

not necessary but _some_ need the correct video mode set. For a fully PAL/NTSC setup you must have a TV that supports both outputs.

Cant think of a game of the top of my head, 007 AUF may be one of them, cant remember now coz I patch on the fly

#5 atomiX

atomiX

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,225 posts
  • Location:NB, Canada
  • Interests:Doesn't matter...
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 December 2004 - 03:17 PM

QUOTE (swolsten @ Dec 8 2004, 11:03 AM)
For a fully PAL/NTSC setup you must have a TV that supports both outputs.

he doesn't really need a FULLY NTSC setup wink.gif

#6 jimmymac70

jimmymac70

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 08 December 2004 - 05:50 PM

So after reading a few tuts on the site I just want to run a few things by you. Can I mod my xbox just doing a softmod? And still be able to backup, install a dash and of course play NTSC games?
Or is it just safer to get a modchip?
Still feeling a little out of my depth in all this!

TIA

Jimmy

#7 atomiX

atomiX

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,225 posts
  • Location:NB, Canada
  • Interests:Doesn't matter...
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 December 2004 - 06:38 PM

yes, it can be done with a softmod. which method you use to mod depends on you

#8 jimmymac70

jimmymac70

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 08 December 2004 - 07:07 PM

What happens if the flash goes wrong? Is the board toast or can it be repaired?

Cheers,

Jimmy

#9 dsl1

dsl1

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 155 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 08 December 2004 - 07:19 PM

QUOTE (jimmymac70 @ Dec 8 2004, 01:10 PM)
What happens if the flash goes wrong? Is the board toast or can it be repaired?

Cheers,

Jimmy

All you need is a modchip to fix it.

#10 atomiX

atomiX

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,225 posts
  • Location:NB, Canada
  • Interests:Doesn't matter...
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 December 2004 - 08:04 PM

QUOTE (jimmymac70 @ Dec 8 2004, 03:10 PM)
What happens if the flash goes wrong? Is the board toast or can it be repaired?

Cheers,

Jimmy

-softmods don't requier flashing if that's what you meant
-if a TSOP flash goes wrong, you can't repair it using a regular chip
-a bad flash on a chip can be fixed by using a programmer




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users