Jump to content


Photo

Xbl Update?


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 theinsanitytest

theinsanitytest

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 December 2004 - 01:08 PM

i have just put in my new XBOX HD (250 GB) maxtor. it tells me that i need to update my xbox with xbox live. should i connect to XBL./

thx for any suggestions

#2 Ghaleon

Ghaleon

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 120 posts

Posted 17 December 2004 - 01:29 PM

That depends... do you want to get banned?

#3 theinsanitytest

theinsanitytest

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 December 2004 - 08:15 PM

well. what did i do wrong then.

do i have to re upgrade my xbox or somin

if so what files should i delete so this doesn't happen again?

#4 gamerguy999

gamerguy999

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,016 posts
  • Location:Layton, UT
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 17 December 2004 - 08:51 PM

If you singed onto xbox live before changing your hard drive, then you will get banned upon connecting to xbox live, whether your chip is on or off. Ans doesn't it only say that when you select xbox live from the dashboard?

#5 theinsanitytest

theinsanitytest

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 December 2004 - 08:51 PM

should i just delete the Udata and t DATA. that being all of the game saves wouldn't that mean that all records of xbl are deleted.



#6 theinsanitytest

theinsanitytest

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 December 2004 - 09:13 PM

QUOTE
Ans doesn't it only say that when you select xbox live from the dashboard?


no. after it goes trough the intro screen. it will then say. need to update to xbl and i have no choice it does that automaically after i reboot it.

(could i just ftp and delete files that would stop this)

if not WHAT DO I DO

thx.

#7 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,752 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 17 December 2004 - 09:24 PM

well you could change you eeprom, then you should be able to connect to Live with no problem, youll probably want to do this anyway if you have Live, since im sure you dont want to stop playing just cuz you got a new HD

#8 theinsanitytest

theinsanitytest

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 December 2004 - 09:29 PM

i bought a second xbox to go on live with all i wan't to do is get acess to my dashboard again.

also. if i were to connect and get a ban
would my Gamer Tag also get banned or just my eeprom.

because if it is just my eeprom i don't care cuz that is what the secound xbox is for.

EDIT:

200th post

yEssss biggrin.gif

Edited by theinsanitytest, 17 December 2004 - 09:31 PM.


#9 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,752 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 17 December 2004 - 09:32 PM

QUOTE (theinsanitytest @ Dec 17 2004, 03:32 PM)
i bought a second xbox to go on live with all i wan't to do is get acess to my dashboard again.

also. if i were to connect and get a ban
would my Gamer Tag also get banned or just my eeprom.

because if it is just my eeprom i don't care cuz that is what the secound xbox is for.

its the eeprom an HD they seem to be banning these days, i don tbelive the GTs are being banned

#10 theinsanitytest

theinsanitytest

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 December 2004 - 09:33 PM

good but since it is not giving me anything but the option to connect to live should i just connect?

i copied over the gamer tags to the other HD just in case this would happen

EDIT:

jw would it like currupt my hd SO i cna't use it. i don't care if i cna't get on xbl wit that xbox ever agian.

for one door to close about 100 open (especially in this case)

Edited by theinsanitytest, 17 December 2004 - 09:39 PM.


#11 theinsanitytest

theinsanitytest

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 December 2004 - 09:54 PM

sry my comp is screwed up and i posted by mistake sad.gif

Edited by theinsanitytest, 17 December 2004 - 09:54 PM.


#12 theinsanitytest

theinsanitytest

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 December 2004 - 10:06 PM

the most improtant thig i need to know is after i connect and it bans me.

will i have full acess to my modifed xbox and my fully upgraded HD?

#13 theinsanitytest

theinsanitytest

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 December 2004 - 10:47 PM

well, i have been trying to mod it for almost a week

due to my parents making me go to bed and what not.

but now it is the weekend and i really need to play my xbox!!!! laugh.gif

is there someone that can answer this

#14 gamerguy999

gamerguy999

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,016 posts
  • Location:Layton, UT
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 17 December 2004 - 10:49 PM

When you connect and get it updated it will ban your xbox eeprom and your hard drive, but not your gamertag. I say since you have another xbox(for live), then just let it connect and download the updates, since it is preventing you from doing stuff.

#15 theinsanitytest

theinsanitytest

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 17 December 2004 - 11:00 PM

well i it wont' ban me (never thought i would be upset about this)

but anyway should i just reformat my Hard drive but take off the games saves then repartion the drives.

edit.

what should i take out besides games to prevent this from happening again.

Edited by theinsanitytest, 17 December 2004 - 11:01 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users