Jump to content


Photo

A What Not To Do With Your Tsop


  • Please log in to reply
61 replies to this topic

#1 JohnnyHunng

JohnnyHunng

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Location:Way Down South
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 22 December 2004 - 07:06 PM

There are always lots of folks that wind up having a fraggin xbox due to flashing bad bios files to their tsop..Now this is not a tsop tutorial, there are plenty of them, this is more like an addendum...I would like whatever i miss for people to add what not to flash to a tsop....

1.) DO NOT flash an Xecuter 3 (X3) bios to a tsop, ever...There is no reason to even try this, there are plenty of X2 bioses out there, use those if u need an Xecuter bios.

2.) DO NOT flash a Boot From Media (BFM) bios to a tsop, these are for softmods, key words here are boot from media...usually they will be xboxrom.bin files...Just think, if you got the file from a softmod gamesave package, don't use it.

3.) If you are not using raincoat .7 to flash ur tsop, please pay attention to the bios size you need, for 1.0/1.1 you need a 1MB bios, for 1.2-1.5 you need a 256k bios...This will save lots of people having to do the 3 wire trick.

#2 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,735 posts
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Interests:#lordvader129
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 22 December 2004 - 10:25 PM

QUOTE
x2 4981.**
x2 4983.**
evox m7
iND-Bios 5001/5003


those are the only bios anyone should have to flash to their TSOP (too many folks flash d.6 or 4977 to their 1.4/1.5 and it makes me wonder why they are even wanting to use such an outdated bios in the first place)


QUOTE
Retail Kernels

1.0 = 4034
1.1 = 4817
1.2-1.5 = 5101
1.6 = 5838


#3 i800phyco

i800phyco

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 238 posts
  • Location:ham lake mn,
  • Interests:running over jackalopes in my car wow people realy read these and your proof
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 23 December 2004 - 06:01 AM

might i add dont flash the xenium os to tsop
i've seen the ? a few times

#4 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,735 posts
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Interests:#lordvader129
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 23 December 2004 - 06:06 AM

or any modchip OS, lol

dont flash an xbe either (i seem to remember one person somehow flashing an evox xbe to his chip/TSOP/whatever

i just realized, this could get way out of hand...

...dont flash a jpg of your own butt to the TSOP either, thats not the kind of image we are talking about, lol

#5 LoganDzwon

LoganDzwon

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 26 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 26 December 2004 - 03:54 AM

hehe, just figured the BFM thing myself... I thought it ment that it could be a bios OR BFM. Luck it was a mutibios and I just booted the oem bios I had in there.

#6 unknownuser

unknownuser

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 78 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:none

Posted 26 December 2004 - 10:49 AM

What about cromwell?

#7 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,735 posts
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Interests:#lordvader129
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 26 December 2004 - 08:19 PM

QUOTE(unknownuser @ Dec 26 2004, 04:20 AM)
What about cromwell?

View Post


depends, im not sure about newer versions of the flashbios but older ones used the sector erase command (like evox) and couldnt flash winbonds, so you were pretty much stuck unless you installed linux and used raincoat

other than winbonds it can be used to reflash a TSOP just like a modchip

#8 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,735 posts
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Interests:#lordvader129
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 07 January 2005 - 12:52 AM

another thing to not flash

Evox TSOP D.6: this bios is not made for TSOPs, its made to REPAIR TSOPs and should only be flashed to an LPC modchip

Matrix TSOP bios: same as above

#9 Zergo

Zergo

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 18 January 2005 - 07:49 PM

I have a 1.1 Xbox with Hynix ram. Do I want x2_4983.67_1MB.bin or x2_4983.06_1MB.bin, and what is the difference between .06 and .67?

#10 JohnnyHunng

JohnnyHunng

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Location:Way Down South
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 18 January 2005 - 08:18 PM

Do u mean Hynix TSOP or Hynix ram, i'm only asking to see what methods of tsop flashing are available to u...Anyway, yes either of those X2 bioses would be suitable, if u use raincoat .7 u can use a 256k bios of either one of those files...

.67 = F takes up to 137GB, G takes the rest

.06 = F takes rest of the drive

#11 Zergo

Zergo

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 18 January 2005 - 09:56 PM

QUOTE(JohnnyHunng @ Jan 18 2005, 08:49 PM)
Do u mean Hynix TSOP or Hynix ram, i'm only asking to see what methods of tsop flashing are available to u...Anyway, yes either of those X2 bioses would be suitable, if u use raincoat .7 u can use a 256k bios of either one of those files...

.67 = F takes up to 137GB, G takes the rest

.06 = F takes rest of the drive

View Post




Hynix TSOP. I had someone flash it through EVOX last time, I beleive it is a 1MB bios. The Chip is HY29F080

#12 psyddicus

psyddicus

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 62 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 02 February 2005 - 01:32 PM

You guys know more about this than me, so I'll ask you:

I used an EvoX M8 on mine (I have a 1.1 so I used the program to make it a 1MB bios) and it's working fine, but I see that nobody pointed out whether or not it was a good bios to use for the TSOP flash.

I was just hoping to get some input on that.

#13 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,735 posts
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Interests:#lordvader129
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 08 February 2005 - 09:06 PM

QUOTE(psyddicus @ Feb 2 2005, 05:38 AM)
You guys know more about this than me, so I'll ask you:

I used an EvoX M8 on mine (I have a 1.1 so I used the program to make it a 1MB bios) and it's working fine, but I see that nobody pointed out whether or not it was a good bios to use for the TSOP flash.

I was just hoping to get some input on that.

View Post


its basically the same as evox m7, i generally dont recommend it since its easy to get it confused with m8_1.6, which will frag your TSOP (since its only for 1.6s)

#14 manatarms25

manatarms25

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 609 posts
  • Location:MI
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 08 February 2005 - 09:32 PM

M8 bios works good for me I have used it on my last few TSOP's but im with lordvader on this one unless you are 100% sure you dont have the 1.6 bios dont use M8 smile.gif
Here is the problem when you unpack with either

EvolutionX M8 Bios or EvolutionX M8 Bios_v1.6

There is a file in each archive called m8_16.bin ... its to easy to get these if you have uncompressed them smile.gif

Stick with the newest X2 Bios beerchug.gif



#15 terrorvis

terrorvis

    X-S Expert

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 745 posts
  • Location:Yorkshire.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 15 February 2005 - 07:53 PM

I have just tried flashing the FlashBIOS 3.0.3. Which works. but you can't use it to flash a TSOP after you get it on there!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users