Jump to content


Photo

The Lan Box


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Juggalo2eke

Juggalo2eke

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 388 posts
  • Location:Coatesville, PA, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 27 December 2004 - 04:52 AM

user posted image
Yellow: Case
Red: Controller Ports
Cyan: A/V, Ethernet, Power plugs
Green: Motherboard
Gray: DVD Drive
Magenta: HDD
Dark Yellow: PSU

Height: 16"
Width: 13.5625"
Length: 13.625"

Think of it as a four story Xbox.

This is my basic design. Quite simply, it is 4 Xboxs stacked on top of each other, one facing North, one East, one South, one West for the ultimate LAN station. A total of four controllers could be plugged into each side. Corresponding AV, Ethernet, and Power plugs would be on the opposite side. I was also thinking of possibly putting a router in the case as well and hardwire all four boxes to it.

It is still in need of cooling because how I have it drawn up things would be rather tight so additional cooling would definately be needed. I was thinking a large 80mm or so fan in between each set of controller ports, blowing in or out and then a smaller fan directly across from the controller port fan blowing out. That would be a total of 8 fans.

Yup... if anyone has some Xbox parts to donate I would love to make this but until I get some cash this is where it sits.

Let me know what you guys think, comments, suggestions, etc.

Edited by Juggalo2eke, 27 December 2004 - 04:55 AM.


#2 BobBrkersMyHero

BobBrkersMyHero

    X-S Enthusiast

  • XS-BANNED
  • 0 posts
  • Location:Erie, PA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 27 December 2004 - 04:54 AM

looks like you have a lot of work to do wink.gif

looks pretty sweet to me

#3 xprimex

xprimex

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 453 posts
  • Location:Michigan
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 27 December 2004 - 04:55 AM

very cool idea

good luck

EDIT

idea I just had, add a power strip in your design so you just have to plug in one cord

Edited by xprimex, 27 December 2004 - 04:56 AM.


#4 IFDI PreDaToR

IFDI PreDaToR

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 85 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 27 December 2004 - 04:57 AM

that looks like a cool idea, but u do kno u need 4 tvs, and ur gona need to cram all 4 together on top of the lan box.

but other than that i really like the idea

#5 IFDI PreDaToR

IFDI PreDaToR

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 85 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 27 December 2004 - 04:57 AM

QUOTE(xprimex @ Dec 27 2004, 05:26 AM)
idea I just had, add a power strip in your design so you just have to plug in one cord

View Post



yea that would be cool

#6 Leglez

Leglez

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 904 posts
  • Location:Paola/Kansas
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 27 December 2004 - 05:23 AM

If anyone has any spare parts to load you should send them to him, I want to see this thing happen.

#7 B1ack1CE

B1ack1CE

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 215 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 27 December 2004 - 05:43 AM

WOW your gunna need one of these.

www.mountainmods.com


#8 crewbeast353

crewbeast353

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 381 posts
  • Location:PA, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 27 December 2004 - 05:53 AM

yea something like this would be pimp
Case

#9 mrjkwik

mrjkwik

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,483 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 27 December 2004 - 06:05 AM

what i would suggest, if you intend to have this as a "hub" in the center of your lan set up, is to have you controller ports AND the av/power plugs on the same side. if you have this behind a tv, it will be much easier to plug inthe cords direct in a straight line, rather than it going around to the back where a different set of controller ports would be. hope that makes sense. i guess what i'm saying is all of xbox 1 ports (controller power and otherwise) all in one side, same with xbox 2, and so on.

#10 Juggalo2eke

Juggalo2eke

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 388 posts
  • Location:Coatesville, PA, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 27 December 2004 - 02:05 PM

I get what you're saying, I never thought about doing it like that, good idea.

Also, about the internal power strip, I thought of that as well but I was also wondering if it is possible to connect all four PSUs together somehow, maybe splice them all into one line and have say... just an extension cord hanging out of the box. Is that possible?

#11 atomheartmother

atomheartmother

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,647 posts
  • Location:a dark ,dark place...
  • Interests:woman booze hairy chickens ohh and XBOX!!
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 27 December 2004 - 02:46 PM

Cool mod but a very pricey one!! Would sell for a ton on e-bay though

#12 glen37

glen37

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 29 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 27 December 2004 - 03:44 PM

Get 16 wireless airflo controllers and 16 wireless headsets so everyone can play xbox live!!!

#13 sp3cialk

sp3cialk

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,291 posts
  • Location:North Carolina
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 27 December 2004 - 04:07 PM

get 4 flat panel LCDs and mount them to the top... then everyone could just sit around it and bang away on their controller on their side of the box...

#14 Juggalo2eke

Juggalo2eke

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 388 posts
  • Location:Coatesville, PA, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 27 December 2004 - 04:12 PM

sp3cialk, I thought about that but 16 guys wouldn't want to sit that close. Plus that would cost so much more money and that would make the overall size of the LAN box larger, but it would make it totally portable.

Edited by Juggalo2eke, 27 December 2004 - 04:13 PM.


#15 sp3cialk

sp3cialk

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,291 posts
  • Location:North Carolina
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 27 December 2004 - 05:03 PM

Very True... Just thought I'd throw out that for a suggestion for people saying where are you gonna put the tvs???? You could always get like PSone screens... might be able to find 4 of those cheap on the net somewhere.... and have a Hub internal so that if you were to hook it to the internet you would only need 1 ethernet cable the boxes inside would already be linked up.... biggrin.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users