Jump to content


Photo

Should I Return My Xbox?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 xboxer2k

xboxer2k

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 136 posts
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 02 January 2005 - 10:47 PM

Ok so I got an xbox and halo2 for Xmas. Now I want to mod it, but I have already created and played on Live. So my question is should I return the xbox, buy another and keep it offline till its modded or not. If I do then what about my Live Account? I know that I can get it back thru Account Recovery, but if I bring it to another xbox that is modded will it get banned still? Thanks

#2 FiReCrAcKeR

FiReCrAcKeR

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 238 posts

Posted 02 January 2005 - 10:59 PM

im in the same situation and what im doing is using 2 hard drives the original and a 300gig the original will be used when im on live and the 300 gig for backups to switch between them im gunna run the ground from each hard drive power cable to a toggle switch.

#3 xboxer2k

xboxer2k

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 136 posts
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 02 January 2005 - 11:06 PM

QUOTE(FiReCrAcKeR @ Jan 2 2005, 05:30 PM)
im in the same situation and what im doing is using 2 hard drives the original and a 300gig the original will be used when im on live and the 300 gig for backups to switch between them im gunna run the ground from each hard drive power cable to a toggle switch.

View Post




I like that idea.. it would take a lot of the worry out of the situation. Now are you installing both in the xobx or do you have to make them external to make them work?

#4 FiReCrAcKeR

FiReCrAcKeR

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 238 posts

Posted 02 January 2005 - 11:09 PM

i would really like to install them both in the box but i have a phillips drive with the gay bump n the bottom so i might just do something external.

#5 xboxer2k

xboxer2k

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 136 posts
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 02 January 2005 - 11:17 PM

QUOTE(FiReCrAcKeR @ Jan 2 2005, 05:40 PM)
i would really like to install them both in the box but i have a phillips drive with the gay bump n the bottom so i might just do something external.

View Post



OK my next question is dont you need a IDE that has 4 connections on it? If i remember there are only 3. 1 for the MB 1 for the DVD and 1 for the HD.

#6 Snowboard8422

Snowboard8422

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 329 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 02 January 2005 - 11:24 PM

Add connector to IDE tutorial - http://www.xbox-scen...nnector-ide.php

#7 xboxer2k

xboxer2k

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 136 posts
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 02 January 2005 - 11:34 PM

It still seems easier to just return it and get another and wait to go on live till i have installed the chip and HD. An i right?

Unless there is a chance that i will still get banned. Is there?

#8 xboxer2k

xboxer2k

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 136 posts
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 03 January 2005 - 01:07 AM

QUOTE(xboxer2k @ Jan 2 2005, 06:05 PM)
It still seems easier to just return it and get another and wait to go on live till i have installed the chip and HD. Am i right?

Unless there is a chance that i will still get banned. Is there?

View Post




Anyone????

Edited by xboxer2k, 03 January 2005 - 01:08 AM.


#9 FiReCrAcKeR

FiReCrAcKeR

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 238 posts

Posted 03 January 2005 - 02:02 AM

as long as you turn off the chip you shouldnt get banned

#10 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,752 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 03 January 2005 - 02:04 AM

you could also just get a new eeprom when you upgrade your HD

if you donmt upgrade your HD theres no worries as long as you keep your chip off when you go online

#11 xboxer2k

xboxer2k

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 136 posts
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 03 January 2005 - 03:18 AM

QUOTE(lordvader129 @ Jan 2 2005, 08:35 PM)
you could also just get a new eeprom when you upgrade your HD

if you donmt upgrade your HD theres no worries as long as you keep your chip off when you go online

View Post




I definetly want to upgrade my HD. So how do i get a eeprom when i do?

#12 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,752 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 03 January 2005 - 03:43 AM

buy it in b/s/t

#13 xboxer2k

xboxer2k

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 136 posts
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 03 January 2005 - 03:55 AM

QUOTE(lordvader129 @ Jan 2 2005, 10:14 PM)
buy it in b/s/t

View Post




??????????????????????

#14 deacon187

deacon187

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,524 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 03 January 2005 - 06:48 AM

take that box back and get a new one, will save you the hassle of editing/installing a new eeprom

as for your live account get a memory card and save your live account to it, will save you the trouble of account recovery

as long as you havent been banned with your tag you should be fine, M$ has no reason to further check your system since your current setup is stock




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users