Jump to content


Photo

Will The 6600 Gt Work On This Comp?


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 nfs911

nfs911

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 460 posts
  • Location:Cockeysville, MD
  • Interests:Xbox, PC Games- Counter-Strike: Source
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 January 2005 - 02:22 AM

My friend is planning to get the 6600 gt (agp version) , his Power Supply says that it puts out 269 watts max, here is his specs:

Sony Vio RX-850
Pentium 4 2.4ghz
512MB PC2100 RAM
Floppy
DVD Drive
CD Drive

Hes run a Radeon 9600 pro in there before. The website for the 6600 gt says that it needs 300 watts, will it work? Thanks!

Edited by nfs911, 04 January 2005 - 02:30 AM.


#2 nightracer352

nightracer352

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Location:ohio
  • Interests:cars, motorcycles (anything that goes fast) and electronics
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 04 January 2005 - 02:36 AM

i would think not but try it and tell use what happens biggrin.gif really though i would say go ahead and upgrade the psu i mean im guessing that he is probably going to do more upgrades anyways that and its sounds like that stuff would already have it maxed wink.gif

#3 yaazz

yaazz

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,562 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 January 2005 - 02:49 AM

umm if it says it needs 300 watts, and you have 269 watts, then think about it

#4 cromat44

cromat44

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,661 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 January 2005 - 05:00 AM

my as well upgrade the psu...

#5 enderandrew

enderandrew

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 909 posts

Posted 04 January 2005 - 05:01 AM

Hell yes, upgrade the PSU. Get a 350 watt power supply.

#6 nightracer352

nightracer352

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Location:ohio
  • Interests:cars, motorcycles (anything that goes fast) and electronics
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 04 January 2005 - 06:03 AM

QUOTE(enderandrew @ Jan 4 2005, 12:32 AM)
Hell yes, upgrade the PSU.  Get a 350 watt power supply.

View Post


ha screw 350 i just baught a 600 for like $20 more than i woulda payed for a 350 and it looks way better too biggrin.gif

#7 enderandrew

enderandrew

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 909 posts

Posted 04 January 2005 - 06:57 AM

Some of the larger PSU's are not only larger in wattage, but larger in size. And if his budget prohibits him from wanting to upgrade the PSU int he first place, I doubt he's going to go all out and get the 600. I have a 540 watt gorgeous power supply powering two cold-cathode tubes, front temperature display, 7 fans, two hard drives, two optical drives, the Radeon, and my Athlon XP.

Edited by enderandrew, 04 January 2005 - 06:58 AM.


#8 Videogamebuyer14

Videogamebuyer14

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,468 posts
  • Location:Chicago, IL
  • Interests:cars, girls, building computers, making techno, etc. All the good stuff.
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 January 2005 - 07:04 AM

Ugh, you need at least 550w to use a 6800GT, and the GPU's ain't a whole lot different, so I would go for a 600w, for the hell of it. At least you can be confident it'll work.

#9 nightracer352

nightracer352

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Location:ohio
  • Interests:cars, motorcycles (anything that goes fast) and electronics
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 04 January 2005 - 07:41 AM

well hey i never no what im gonna add on to this thingso hell why not have more watts in my psu than in my in car amp biggrin.gif laugh.gif wink.gif huh.gif sad.gif

#10 enderandrew

enderandrew

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 909 posts

Posted 04 January 2005 - 09:06 AM

QUOTE(Videogamebuyer14 @ Jan 4 2005, 07:35 AM)
Ugh, you need at least 550w to use a 6800GT, and the GPU's ain't a whole lot different, so I would go for a 600w, for the hell of it. At least you can be confident it'll work.

View Post


Really? That seems excessive. I search NVidia's website, and google, and can't substantiate this.

Edited by enderandrew, 04 January 2005 - 09:08 AM.


#11 Dagoth

Dagoth

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 755 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 January 2005 - 09:41 AM

QUOTE(Videogamebuyer14 @ Jan 4 2005, 07:35 AM)
Ugh, you need at least 550w to use a 6800GT, and the GPU's ain't a whole lot different, so I would go for a 600w, for the hell of it. At least you can be confident it'll work.

View Post



WRONG - You only need a 300w to run a 6800GT.

I'm running a XFX 6800GT on an Antec Tru Power 350w PSU with no problems at all.

You only need a high wattage PSU if you are running lots of high drain internal components (ie. multple hard disks & fans & internal lighting)

#12 nightracer352

nightracer352

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Location:ohio
  • Interests:cars, motorcycles (anything that goes fast) and electronics
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 04 January 2005 - 09:45 AM

my guess is is that he has alot of stuff and needed the wattage so that was the only way he could run the 6800 with all of his stuff so just stop dawgin the guy he is just trying to help now can we all get back on topic please

#13 enderandrew

enderandrew

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 909 posts

Posted 04 January 2005 - 01:23 PM

Actually we are on topic. The topic is whether or not you need a certain ammount of wattage for a high end Nvidia card. I'm pretty sure a 350 watt power supply will suffice if his system doesn't have extra hard drives, 5 fans, etc.

#14 thepissedoffman

thepissedoffman

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 335 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 January 2005 - 01:35 PM

QUOTE(enderandrew @ Jan 4 2005, 07:54 AM)
Actually we are on topic.  The topic is whether or not you need a certain ammount of wattage for a high end Nvidia card.  I'm pretty sure a 350 watt power supply will suffice if his system doesn't have extra hard drives, 5 fans, etc.

View Post



According to Nvidia the 6800 Ultra draws a total of 110 watts. When you throw in hard drives (which draw allot at startup) and then the other components into the mix you can see why a big PSU is suggested.

Nvidia suggest the use of a 480 watt PSU paired with a 6800 Ultra so the GT should be close behind. According to Nvidia the 6800 Ultra draws a total of 110 watts. When you throw hard drives (which draw allot at startup) and then the other components into the mix you can see why a big PSU is suggested.

Nvidia suggest the use of a 480 watt PSU paired with a 6800 Ultra so the GT should be close behind.


http://graphics.toms...ce_6800-06.html


But if you know anything about design then you know about a Bell curve. I am betting that the 480 watt PSU is on the right side of that curve.

#15 okandroid

okandroid

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 688 posts
  • Location:Nashville
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 04 January 2005 - 11:16 PM

I was just thinking about my system and if I had enough wattage.

ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
A-Bit n57-s2g
AMD Athlon XP 2400+
512mb 2100 DDR Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
2 Green Cold Cathodes
DVD-Burner
7200 RPM WD 80 GB HDD

do you think 450 is enough.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users