Jump to content


Photo

Marriage Theory 101


  • Please log in to reply
643 replies to this topic

#16 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,752 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 10 January 2005 - 06:54 AM

QUOTE(Gumba @ Jan 9 2005, 11:57 PM)
The Marriage Theory post says this

Drive Cross-Referencing
You can use an unbanned but not virgin HD with a virgin EEPROM but you can't use a non-virgin EEPROM with a different HD (without copying the drive 'disk.bin' info from one to the other)


Which basically means, you won't get banned for doing what you've done wink.gif

View Post


what post in this from? id like to add it to my guide

#17 Gumba

Gumba

    X-S Freak

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,243 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 11 January 2005 - 03:54 AM

QUOTE(lordvader129 @ Jan 10 2005, 07:25 AM)
what post in this from? id like to add it to my guide

View Post



The initial post was linked from the marriage theory post wink.gif

http://forums.xbox-s...0

There have been others, at this point, feet14 has now been on live after swapping his old drive back, with a new eeprom, for 7 weeks.

#18 aaron1017

aaron1017

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 158 posts
  • Location:Tampa, Florida
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 11 January 2005 - 05:06 AM

Vader... I play on LIVE with the RED XBOX about 3 weeks everyday before halo 2 came out. After reading about the marriage theory, I just decided to see if I'd be banned.... so i swapped the non-virgin HDD into my virgin crystal.

#19 Gumba

Gumba

    X-S Freak

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,243 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 12 January 2005 - 05:07 AM

QUOTE(aaron1017 @ Jan 11 2005, 05:37 AM)
Vader... I play on LIVE with the RED XBOX about 3 weeks everyday before halo 2 came out. After reading about the marriage theory, I just decided to see if I'd be banned.... so i swapped the non-virgin HDD into my virgin crystal.

View Post



And?

#20 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 12 January 2005 - 06:12 AM

QUOTE(aaron1017 @ Jan 11 2005, 03:37 PM)
Vader... I play on LIVE with the RED XBOX about 3 weeks everyday before halo 2 came out. After reading about the marriage theory, I just decided to see if I'd be banned.... so i swapped the non-virgin HDD into my virgin crystal.

View Post




just wondering, id b pointless saying soemthing liek this, unless you know the results of your expirement.

well b a waiting for em

#21 aaron1017

aaron1017

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 158 posts
  • Location:Tampa, Florida
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 12 January 2005 - 07:25 AM

And I've been fine since...I play on the crystal everyday. blink.gif

#22 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 12 January 2005 - 10:31 AM

QUOTE(aaron1017 @ Jan 12 2005, 05:56 PM)
And I've been fine since...I play on the crystal everyday.  blink.gif

View Post




good to see that you answered

#23 66Nicks

66Nicks

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 245 posts
  • Location:T-Dot
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 13 January 2005 - 07:39 AM

I have JUST bought XBOX live, and after reading all this I am hesitant to use it.
I have no idea how to tell what kind of chip I have, someone else installed it for me, is there any way to tell? Other than that I have a 120GB Maxtor HD with all my games backed up on it and I play them off the HD. I am also using EvoX as my Dash. Now the question is, how do I go about turning off the modchip and still playing my games. Keeping in mind I have the original copies in a safety deposit box to keep them fresh until my grandkids sell them on ebay. I could made backed up burned disc copies, but disabling the chip would not allow me to play those either right?
Help, is there any hope for me to play Live, or should I just give up and stick with XBConnect? blink.gif

#24 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,752 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 13 January 2005 - 07:41 AM

well if you want to use Live youll have to go get those originals

if you want to know what chip you have open the xbox and look at it, post pics ehre and someone can tell you what it is

#25 66Nicks

66Nicks

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 245 posts
  • Location:T-Dot
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 13 January 2005 - 07:59 AM

I've given up trying to find the torx bit to open it up again.. but I can tell you this, if I just push the power button quickly, the disc eject button flashes red and green and the "your xbox needs servicing screen displays, instead I have to HOLD the power button for about 2 seconds to load the EvoX Dashboard/disc in tray. Even if that doesn't help you figure out what my modchip is, how do I get around that xbox needs servicing screen, I assume that not holding the power button is disabling the modchip, but that does me no good.. I am I missing a file in my C: ?

#26 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,752 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 13 January 2005 - 08:42 AM

sounds liek an aladdin

is there a number in the upper left corner of the error screen? its possible your HD isnt lcoked

#27 Alucard7

Alucard7

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6

Posted 13 January 2005 - 10:40 AM

sorry to change the subject but i am a little confused with the situation that i have. I started a xbl account, then modded my xbox (unfortunately with the x-chip) and upgraded to a 200gb wd hd. to make a long story short i got banned after 1 day of play. I tried switching back the stock hd but i couldnt connect to xbl so i did the troubleshooter and it listed 3 reasons it wasn't able to connect, none being about modified hardware/software. I was just wondering if anyone had any suggestions. thanks

#28 66Nicks

66Nicks

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 245 posts
  • Location:T-Dot
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 14 January 2005 - 05:21 AM

QUOTE(lordvader129 @ Jan 13 2005, 03:13 AM)
sounds liek an aladdin

is there a number in the upper left corner of the error screen? its possible your HD isnt lcoked

View Post




Yes, theres the # 05 in upper left corner and then it says your xbox requires servicing contact customer service.. and then the same in a bunch of languages..
It is quite possible my HD isn't locked, I hadn't thought of that, is that done through the evo-x dash? also once the HD is locked I won't be able to run games from the HD until I unlock it, is that right?
That in mind all I would have to do is lock the HD, run an original disc without holding the power button (todisable my chip I assume) and I should be able to run xbox live??

#29 lordvader129

lordvader129

    He Who Posts Alot...

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,752 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v5.0 (360S - trinity)

Posted 14 January 2005 - 07:22 AM

05 is definately HD not locked

once the HD is locked the only difference will be error 05 will go away 9and you will be fine on Live) you will still be able to read and write to the HD like normal

#30 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 15 January 2005 - 04:47 AM

locking teh drive will get you to be able to boot your xbox up with the stock bios, to get you on Live. But to play a gam, you need an original disc. so its either you get teh games out of the safe deposit box, or you dont go xbox live.
just remember that if you dont want to go live, you can allways use tunneling software to play other people by the internet.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users