Jump to content


Photo

Softmod Question


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 omega2468

omega2468

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 84 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6b
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 09 January 2005 - 03:51 AM

I was curious if it was possible to set up a hard drive with everything needed for a softmod system in my chipped XBOX and leave it unlocked and then transfer that HDD to the unmodded system? Just thought I would check since that would seem to be pretty easy if possible.

Thank you for your help.

#2 BigDog67202

BigDog67202

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 89 posts
  • Location:USA - KS
  • Interests:Anything technology related!
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 09 January 2005 - 04:06 AM

Absolutely.


#3 ItchyB

ItchyB

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,341 posts
  • Location:South Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:none

Posted 09 January 2005 - 04:07 AM

Just a question as I am not sure but will an unlocked HDD boot from an unmodded BIOS even if soft modded?



#4 slobber

slobber

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Location:Hell
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 09 January 2005 - 04:12 AM

No, the drive has to be locked on an unmodded system to boot. You can get the EEPROM off of the unmodded system by using a gamesave exploit that will boot into Media X Menu (ltools package works) and allow you to run a "backup" and then FTP into the box to retrieve the EEPROM. With the EEPROM and a program like LiveInfo you can lock the copied hdd and you're good to go.

#5 ItchyB

ItchyB

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,341 posts
  • Location:South Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:none

Posted 09 January 2005 - 04:30 AM

I didnt think it was as easy as that, Its probably just as easy to soft mod the xbox direct...

#6 slobber

slobber

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Location:Hell
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 09 January 2005 - 04:36 AM

Pretty much. Except that you will spend some time customizing all of your menus and such. Even if you're just copying them from one Xbox to another, it will take a little time. Copying from hdd to hdd on a chipped box takes about an hour or so, so it works out to about the same amount of time.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users