Jump to content


Photo

Upgrading My Computer, Im Set On Everything


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 67thRaptorBull

67thRaptorBull

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,215 posts
  • Location:I dont know where my car is......
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 10 January 2005 - 11:20 PM

ok, heres the deal

even though ive had my computer for only half a year, im going to upgrade it one more time before i go to college

i have everything else picked out except what Video to get


i was either going to get an SLI board, and get one PCI-E 6800 GT for now, and then this summer get another PCI-E 6800 GT (so ill be able to use the SLI mode, until then i would only be using one graphics card)


or i was just going to get a normal PCI-E board


which one would be best in the long run (in terms of, if i ever upgrade my video card and can only get one at a time)???

#2 cromat44

cromat44

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,661 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 11 January 2005 - 12:02 AM

for not much more than a 6800 ultra and a pci-e mobo you can get two 6600's and a SLI mobo... much better performance... it might actually be cheaper too

#3 67thRaptorBull

67thRaptorBull

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,215 posts
  • Location:I dont know where my car is......
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 11 January 2005 - 12:20 AM

would two 6600's be alot better then a 6800 Ultra, or just as good???

because if its going to be alot better, ill go with that set up, if not i dont think its worth changing yet

#4 67thRaptorBull

67thRaptorBull

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,215 posts
  • Location:I dont know where my car is......
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 11 January 2005 - 03:46 AM

wow, i just realized

the core speed of the 6600 GT (PCI-E) is 500mhz, but the core speed of the 6800 GT is only 400mhz, thats a big difference



ive been comparing the two cards, and for some reason, it seems that (2) 6600 GT's will barley out do one normal, AGP 8x 6800 GT


any thoughts on this?

#5 npp

npp

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 11 January 2005 - 04:15 AM

eVGA 6800 GT is a great card. I have one on my main computer and I overclock it to 400/1100 (Ultra settings). There are tons of people on other forums that overclock it to higher speeds without any problems.


Edited by npp, 11 January 2005 - 04:18 AM.


#6 67thRaptorBull

67thRaptorBull

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,215 posts
  • Location:I dont know where my car is......
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 11 January 2005 - 04:20 AM

QUOTE(npp @ Jan 10 2005, 10:46 PM)
eVGA 6800 GT is a great card.  I have one on my main computer and I overclock it to 400/1100 (Ultra settings).  There are tons of people on other forums that overclock it to higher speeds without any problems.

View Post




that definatly wasnt my question

i know how good a card it is, im using one right now (overclocked 440/1200)


my question is regarding wether or not i should get a PCI-E board and get a 6800 GT PCI-E card

or get a SLI board and get 2 6600 GT PCI-E cards

#7 nightracer352

nightracer352

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Location:ohio
  • Interests:cars, motorcycles (anything that goes fast) and electronics
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 11 January 2005 - 05:38 AM

well im not really sure who said that 2 66's are better than a single 68 ultra but i would have to say go with the 66's in sli mode thats the way i would go if i had the money to blow cuz think bout it that will be so fast and so upgradable that you could upgrade it for the next 3-4 years atleast now the thing is since its so fast you wont have to upgrade for awhile and im pretty sure you can use different g-cards in sli mode but it would really be up to what the mobo manufacture says

good luck (as long as you go sli that is biggrin.gif )



beerchug.gif

#8 67thRaptorBull

67thRaptorBull

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,215 posts
  • Location:I dont know where my car is......
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 11 January 2005 - 02:07 PM

QUOTE(nightracer352 @ Jan 11 2005, 12:09 AM)
well im not really sure who said that 2 66's are better than a single 68 ultra but i would have to say go with the 66's in sli mode thats the way i would go if i had the money to blow cuz think bout it that will be so fast and so upgradable that you could upgrade it for the next 3-4 years atleast now the thing is since its so fast you wont have to upgrade for awhile and im pretty sure you can use different g-cards in sli mode but it would really be up to what the mobo manufacture says

good luck (as long as you go sli that is biggrin.gif )
beerchug.gif

View Post




yea, i know SLI mode would be the best way to go

but im just checking to make sure the 6600 GT's are good enough (a 6600GT compared to a 680GT has half the power in every aspect and specifications)

#9 67thRaptorBull

67thRaptorBull

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,215 posts
  • Location:I dont know where my car is......
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 12 January 2005 - 02:35 AM

anyone?

#10 SniperKilla

SniperKilla

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,519 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 12 January 2005 - 03:53 PM

30 seconds of google searching

http://www.hardwarez...p?cid=3&id=1358

#11 67thRaptorBull

67thRaptorBull

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,215 posts
  • Location:I dont know where my car is......
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 13 January 2005 - 12:22 AM

screw that

my 6800 GT easily out preforms (2) 6600GTs in SLI mode

i guess il wait till theres better compatibility with games, and until i get more money

#12 nightracer352

nightracer352

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Location:ohio
  • Interests:cars, motorcycles (anything that goes fast) and electronics
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 13 January 2005 - 03:04 AM

just get the sli board that way you can upgrade to sli when you want but until then you can just run your 6800 in normal mode

EDIT: heck you could prolly run a 6600 and 6800 in sli form not sure but i thought you were supposed to be able to run different cards wink.gif

Edited by nightracer352, 13 January 2005 - 03:15 AM.


#13 67thRaptorBull

67thRaptorBull

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,215 posts
  • Location:I dont know where my car is......
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 13 January 2005 - 03:07 AM

QUOTE(nightracer352 @ Jan 12 2005, 09:35 PM)
just get the sli board that way you can upgrade to sli when you want but until then you can just run your 6800 in normal mode

View Post




yea, im thinking about it

but i think ill wait till the summer, in the event of a new Nforce chip coming out (nForce5 hopefully) with better compatibility with games

#14 nightracer352

nightracer352

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Location:ohio
  • Interests:cars, motorcycles (anything that goes fast) and electronics
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 13 January 2005 - 03:18 AM

yeah im kinda waiting to see if sli becomes cheaper but i had no idea they are coming out with a new chipset

#15 67thRaptorBull

67thRaptorBull

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,215 posts
  • Location:I dont know where my car is......
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 13 January 2005 - 03:31 AM

QUOTE(nightracer352 @ Jan 12 2005, 09:49 PM)
yeah im kinda waiting to see if sli becomes cheaper but i had no idea they are coming out with a new chipset

View Post




its not official or anything like that, im just hoping they will, because SLI doesnt work to its full potential yet




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users