Jump to content


Photo

Media


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Swampdonkeys

Swampdonkeys

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.6

Posted 14 January 2005 - 08:52 AM

Is there sertain disk that are better for backing up games to? I burn everything a 4x and I have dvd-r but I was just wondering because my fable back up seams to frezze slighty.

#2 ItchyB

ItchyB

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,341 posts
  • Location:South Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:none

Posted 14 January 2005 - 08:57 AM

I dont think there is a hard and fast rule, you need to experiment with different brands to find what works best for you.

#3 Dagoth

Dagoth

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 755 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 14 January 2005 - 09:27 AM

Just make sure you use good quality media - if you want trouble free backups

#4 Dangerously_Cheesy

Dangerously_Cheesy

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,308 posts
  • Location:Tacoma, Washington
  • Interests:What doesn't interest me? :P
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 14 January 2005 - 10:53 AM

Clear your CACHE folder in E:\ Swampdonkeys. For more info click on the "Game freezin on you" link in my sig.

Edited by Dangerously_Cheesy, 14 January 2005 - 10:55 AM.


#5 sheliak

sheliak

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,520 posts
  • Location:Earth
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:none

Posted 14 January 2005 - 01:25 PM

It realy depends on what your drive will read. It's also a good idea to make sure the game plays from your HD first so you know you've defeated all the media checks and crap. I have a samsung and thompson drive and they both read Memorex DVD-R (4x and 8x), Memorex DVD+R (only with bitsetting, 4x and 8x), Memorex CDRW (regular and ultra speed), and the samsung also reads Memorex CDRs.

#6 Swampdonkeys

Swampdonkeys

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 283 posts
  • Location: Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.6

Posted 14 January 2005 - 01:36 PM

Thanks guys I try that. Right now I have just been using some genric disks. I'll try cearing out e:. Is there a tut one changing bitsettin's for the future if I come across philips, or thompson.

#7 Xombe

Xombe

    X-S Xbox Xombe

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,198 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:PNW
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 14 January 2005 - 01:51 PM

Give this a read while your at it.

#8 sheliak

sheliak

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,520 posts
  • Location:Earth
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:none

Posted 14 January 2005 - 02:33 PM

Bitsetting is just an option while you are buring. Not all burners can do it, but most newer ones should. I use Nero and it shows up as a check box in the Burn tab once the blank is inserted. Lookup your burner at videohelp if you want to see if it can do bitsetting.

#9 Thraxen

Thraxen

    X-S Hacker

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,691 posts
  • Location:72764
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 14 January 2005 - 03:05 PM

I use only Taiyo Yuden or Ritek DVD-Rs and burn everything for XBox at 2X. Have yet to make a single bad disc after too many burns to remember.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users