Jump to content


Photo

How Many Times Can I Flash


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 JWJ

JWJ

    X-S Expert

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 621 posts
  • Location:Taylorsville, Kentucky
  • Interests:Playing xbox games and football
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 16 January 2005 - 09:09 PM

I accedently flashed the wrong bios on my spiderchip I put cromwell linux on it and I used ozx flash to reflash the chip with evox plus m8 16 and it goes through the process of flashing but when I turn the xbox back on it still has cromwell linux on it so my question is can I flash the spiderchip multiple times or can I only flash it once

#2 SEViN

SEViN

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 114 posts

Posted 16 January 2005 - 09:18 PM

I'm pretty sure you can flash it as much as you want.

#3 Chancer

Chancer

    Don't You Trust me?

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,687 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 16 January 2005 - 09:24 PM

You can re-flash as many times as you like but usually once is enough.

#4 JWJ

JWJ

    X-S Expert

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 621 posts
  • Location:Taylorsville, Kentucky
  • Interests:Playing xbox games and football
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 16 January 2005 - 09:32 PM

QUOTE(Chancer @ Jan 16 2005, 04:55 PM)
You can re-flash as many times as you like but usually once is enough.

View Post


Ok then can anyone think of an idea to reflash it because I'm kinda stuck I'm hoping I don't need a programer

#5 JWJ

JWJ

    X-S Expert

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 621 posts
  • Location:Taylorsville, Kentucky
  • Interests:Playing xbox games and football
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 16 January 2005 - 11:07 PM

any help here wuld be great

#6 micooke

micooke

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 17 January 2005 - 12:08 AM

QUOTE(JWJ @ Jan 17 2005, 09:08 AM)
any help here wuld be great

View Post



I havent used that chip before, but i have always found that reflashing using Slayers evoX Installer 2.6 is the most hassle free approach unless you are looking for a specific bios rather than the evoX or X2 bios versions included. Give it a crack.

And to confirm -> you can reflash as often as you like, but i wouldnt be doing it weekly. Once is normally fine.

#7 JWJ

JWJ

    X-S Expert

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 621 posts
  • Location:Taylorsville, Kentucky
  • Interests:Playing xbox games and football
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 17 January 2005 - 12:18 AM

slayers evox auto installer 2.6 would that work for cromwell linux

#8 JWJ

JWJ

    X-S Expert

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 621 posts
  • Location:Taylorsville, Kentucky
  • Interests:Playing xbox games and football
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 17 January 2005 - 03:52 AM

I can't seem to find slayers evox auto installer 2.6 final would v2.5 work the same

#9 Chancer

Chancer

    Don't You Trust me?

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,687 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 17 January 2005 - 12:12 PM

Cromwell will not boot Slayers Discs at all. I quoted in another thread that with the Linux version of Cromwell a programmer may be the end ersult. The reason I don't usually tell people to use OZXFLash is because its not always 100 percent and often does not work.
However I do feel in your case you have not used it correctly. If it hasd flashed evoxM8 on to the chip then you would not stilll have Cromwell on. If the flash was unsuccesful you would have got a message on the screen saying halting but you seem to indicate that the flash worked. Can you tell us more in detail how you used the program and what happened during the flash. If this does not work you do need a programmer.

#10 JWJ

JWJ

    X-S Expert

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 621 posts
  • Location:Taylorsville, Kentucky
  • Interests:Playing xbox games and football
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 17 January 2005 - 03:08 PM

well I followed the tutorial I found I just put ozx on a dvd then I put it in my dvd drive then after a few minutes the dvd drive opens automaticly and it said to put my bios disc in so I do then it says bios.bin found then it says flashing in progress so dvd drive opens again thn it powers off and I turn it back on and there is the all familier cromwell manI hope I don't need a programmer

#11 Chancer

Chancer

    Don't You Trust me?

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,687 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 17 January 2005 - 06:43 PM

What bios did you put on your bios disc because before it flashes the chip it earses it so the only way cromwell is going to be written back on is if its on the bios disc.
Is it exactly the same Linux cromwell or is it flash bios?

#12 JWJ

JWJ

    X-S Expert

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 621 posts
  • Location:Taylorsville, Kentucky
  • Interests:Playing xbox games and football
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 17 January 2005 - 07:23 PM

well I put evox m8plus_16 on the bios disc since I have a 1.6 xbox

#13 Chancer

Chancer

    Don't You Trust me?

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,687 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 17 January 2005 - 11:41 PM

Well either the flash did not even work at all or the bios you have on your pc labelled M8_16 is not what you think it is.
I would obtain another copy of the bios and re-flash the chip. watch very carefully what happens and what it says on screen as you do it.

#14 JWJ

JWJ

    X-S Expert

  • Dev/Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 621 posts
  • Location:Taylorsville, Kentucky
  • Interests:Playing xbox games and football
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 18 January 2005 - 04:06 AM

QUOTE(Chancer @ Jan 17 2005, 07:12 PM)
Well either the flash did not even work at all or the bios you have on your pc labelled M8_16 is not what you think it is.
I would obtain another copy of the bios and re-flash the chip. watch very carefully what happens and what it says on screen as you do it.

View Post


ok I did as you suggested and it still wont work I got m8 plus_16 from a completly different place
a few qoestions
1.are you sure slayers wont work
2.is there any way to put a dashboard on the chip
3.what is the reason for cromwell linux can I make it play backups
4.do I need a programmer pop.gif

#15 elserpiente

elserpiente

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 18 January 2005 - 12:08 PM

1. Slayers would probably work but is not really necessary
2. no, only bios' go on the chip which then load a dashboard from the hard drive.
3. cromwell is used because it uses no copywrited code that would make it illegal to distribute. the only way to play backups is to use a bios such as evox, xecuter, ect...
4. if you cannot flash your chip via software (which you should be able to) then your next option will be to get a programmer




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users