Jump to content


Photo

Hello! Interested In Softmod.


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Doffo

Doffo

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Location:Mankato, KS
  • Interests:Computers, electronics, ham radios, classic computing, etc...
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 20 January 2005 - 05:13 PM

Hello,

I am new to this Xbox-scene forums. I would like to introduce myself.

I am just some highschool kid who just obtained and xbox. My friend
from Australia was telling me that it is possible to softmod the xbox,
so I did become interested in getting an xbox.

-----

I have a few questions and if someone could take the moment to answer
them, then I would appreciate it very much.

1.I have one of the very first xbox versions, the V1.0, Is it possible
to properly softmod it with the Mechassault save?

2.If I can softmod it, can someone show me where I can look for the latest
release? I have one from Itools i believe, but its an RC version, and not
sure if its the latest one.

3.When I load up the save on mechassault, how do I do a complete backup of
my xbox including saving the harddrive keyfile and eeprom files?

4.I made a cable so that I could connect a USB flashcard to the xbox, but
will this work on the v1.0 model and it format the flash memory card thats
compatible with an xbox?

-----

Thank you. Im sure more questions will come up. Thank you for you guys reading
this. I appreciate it. Thanks.

Doffo
pop.gif

#2 Reaper527

Reaper527

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,495 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Computers, Football (US), Pro Wrestling, Anime
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 20 January 2005 - 05:18 PM

well, since you have a version 1.0 xbox, and from what i can tell seem to be interested in doing this the free way, i would suggest you hop over to the TSOP forum. here, you can find a guide on how to flash your xbox's TSOP chip.

this is the chip that holds the system bios. you can overwrite it with xecuter 4983 and it will have all the features of a modchip except for the ability to turn the mod off for xbox live.

since you said you made your own cable, i'm going to assume that you would be able to solder the 2 very easy points needed for a tsop flash, very good pics are available here in some of the various tutorials.

#3 Doffo

Doffo

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Location:Mankato, KS
  • Interests:Computers, electronics, ham radios, classic computing, etc...
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 20 January 2005 - 05:29 PM

Thanks for the reply.

As far as I understood it, he just loaded the savefile, and then it started to do
its thing without even cracking open the xbox itself. My xbox is not modded in any
way.

Just wondering, if its not wired right inside, whats the worst that can happen when
you try to attempt to load up the Mechassault save?

Thanks. blink.gif

#4 Reaper527

Reaper527

    X-S Knowledgebase

  • Head Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,495 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Computers, Football (US), Pro Wrestling, Anime
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 20 January 2005 - 05:34 PM

nothing bad will happen if you try to load the mech assault save, what i'm getting at, is that a softmod isn't as good as a tsop flash. softmods are more prone to have problems, and here is my reasoning for saying that

1. Updates: if MS decides to fix the hole that the exploit is using, your out of luck, updates don't just come from xbox live either, the newest game you want to play could update your dash on you, or even dvd movies that you watch on your xbox.

2. Harddrive issues: if you rename a file to something incorretly on your harddrive, the softmod won't work and you'll see a beautiful "Your Xbox Needs Servicing" screen

3. Requires Locked HD: if your doing a softmod, the harddrive MUST be locked. if you want to upgrade your xbox's harddrive to something bigger, this causes issues and complicates things. it also means if you unlock your harddrive not knowing what your doing, your screwed.

the TSOP flash doesn't have these issues. if you still want to do a softmod, grab the mech assault save and search the forums for the UXE exploit.

#5 JohnnyHunng

JohnnyHunng

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Location:Way Down South
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 20 January 2005 - 05:40 PM

One thing Reaper, being that he has a 1.0, if he does a tsop flash, he COULD disable it for live by fitting a spdt switch between ground, a19 and 3.3v, then all he would have to do is flash a 512k stock bios to half his tsop and it would be just like a modchip u can disable....To ur original questions:

1. Yes u will have no problems working the mech 1.8Ltools on ur 1.0

2. the "RC" 1.8 mech ltools release is the latest, that's UXE

3. From the Ltools menu, there's an option "Backup", that'll save ur C folder and eeprom.bin, all u need to make a xboxhdm bootdisc, if u want ur E folder for ur gamesaves, just FTP in once at the ltools menu and save it.


4. No u shouldn't have any problems with that.

#6 Lord_Vader

Lord_Vader

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 57 posts

Posted 20 January 2005 - 05:54 PM

Check this if you need to know more about softmodding your xbox: Softmod

#7 Doffo

Doffo

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Location:Mankato, KS
  • Interests:Computers, electronics, ham radios, classic computing, etc...
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 20 January 2005 - 06:58 PM

By the sounds of it, softmod does sound ok, but then I am getting
interested in by doing the TSOP mod. Can someone give me links
and files to download to get this kind of mod going? And for the
xbox live fix since I have 1.0 version so that it wont try to
override files. So thinking about it, how can you run copied
software of recent games and it not trying to override your
harddrive files and dashboards?

Thanks.

#8 JohnnyHunng

JohnnyHunng

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Location:Way Down South
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 20 January 2005 - 07:04 PM

Nothing "overrides" anything with a tsop...u just flash the tsop, then install ur dash and ur apps, then fit ur switch, flash half the tsop with ur stock bios and ur msdash, gamesves and such is intact....it's pretty simple and u only need a small amount of soldering skill and a little "project apptitude" to pull it off...check out the tsop flash forum, tons of info there, read the pinned topics...

#9 Doffo

Doffo

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Location:Mankato, KS
  • Interests:Computers, electronics, ham radios, classic computing, etc...
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 20 January 2005 - 07:24 PM

I was reading some of the TSOP tutorials, and one of them said to solder
together a bridge on top of the motherboard and on the bottom of the
motherboard to write-enable the flash.... then after that, you temporarly
put another wire on the bottom so that it will allow flashing the chip
if its a Sharp..... Which I believe mines a sharp one...

it also says you need a 1mb file... So is there an xecutor file thats 1mb
in size from 256k? Thanks.

#10 JohnnyHunng

JohnnyHunng

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Location:Way Down South
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 20 January 2005 - 07:43 PM

It's like this is u have a Sharp, u solder the bottom 2 pads, then the extra jumper wire on bottom whcih stays in place, then u solder 2 wires to the tsop tsop enable pads and lead them outside the xbox, right before ur ready to flash the tsop, u twist the wires together, then once flashed, desolder the wires...But if ur gonna fit a switch u would want to leave em til u finish with that...

Yes a 1.0 requires a 1mb bios file, but if u use a tsop gamesave package with raincoat .7 u needn't worry about that, just flash, and it'll flash all 4 banks with a 256k file...If u use evox, yes u need a 1mb file....

Once u figure out which way ur gonna go, make a post in either forum and u will get better help there.

#11 yaazz

yaazz

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,562 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 January 2005 - 07:55 PM

QUOTE(Doffo @ Jan 20 2005, 05:44 PM)

I have a few questions and if someone could take the moment to answer
them, then I would appreciate it very much.

1.I have one of the very first xbox versions, the V1.0, Is it possible
to properly softmod it with the Mechassault save?

2.If I can softmod it, can someone show me where I can look for the latest
release?  I have one from Itools i believe, but its an RC version, and not
sure if its the latest one.

3.When I load up the save on mechassault, how do I do a complete backup of
my xbox including saving the harddrive keyfile and eeprom files?

4.I made a cable so that I could connect a USB flashcard to the xbox, but
will this work on the v1.0 model and it format the flash memory card thats
compatible with an xbox?

-----

Doffo
pop.gif

View Post



1/ 1.0, it is very possible to do
2/ You get the latest files from xbins on efnet
3/Use Evox, and go to settings, pick backup, then FTP the backup folder (located in E/Udata/4d70007(or something similar)/backup to your PC
4/ It has to be a certain kind of USB drive to work on xbox

#12 Doffo

Doffo

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Location:Mankato, KS
  • Interests:Computers, electronics, ham radios, classic computing, etc...
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 20 January 2005 - 10:31 PM

I was wanting to use the Evolution X dashboard.

So now that I want to go with that flash method,
what bios file will I need when i have evolution
x loaded up from the mechassault save?

My next question would be how to make a backup
of the 8gig harddrive? I want to back up
everything so just incase something messes up.

Thanks for all the replys, you guys are really
making this alot easier for me. keep up the
good work!

#13 Doffo

Doffo

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Location:Mankato, KS
  • Interests:Computers, electronics, ham radios, classic computing, etc...
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 21 January 2005 - 05:00 PM

K,

Yesturday I just got the jumpers that I needed on both sides of the board soldered together, and when I put the board back together, the xbox booted just fine.

So as far as it is, its ready for a TSOP flash. I am still awaiting the lens, mechassault, and the 128mb memorystick so that I can save the action replay save.

Thanks to Johnny Hunng for his help! pop.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users