Jump to content


Photo

Type Of Wire?


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Frag_Happy

Frag_Happy

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 159 posts
  • Location:Chadds Ford, PA
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 20 January 2005 - 11:03 PM

I was just wondering what kind of wire you guys use for your mods... I have used several rolls of wire (30 gauge i think) that i got from Radioshack, but I'm looking for more, since im running out. I just wanted to see what you recommend.

#2 djlobes

djlobes

    X-S X-perience

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 368 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 20 January 2005 - 11:06 PM

30 gauge most of the time. Sometimes i use 26 gauge for led mods.

#3 Tobb555

Tobb555

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 656 posts
  • Location:From the dark side of the Moon
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 January 2005 - 11:36 PM

i use ethernet cable. Since i have about 200ft of it might as well use it for something.

#4 wowko

wowko

    X-S Expert

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPip
  • 574 posts
  • Location:North Smithfield, RI USA
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 21 January 2005 - 12:01 AM

i use secure.llamma.com, cheap cheap cheap!

#5 parsaw

parsaw

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 321 posts
  • Location:Rocklin, CA
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 21 January 2005 - 12:21 AM

If you are talking about the wire that connects from the chip to the d0 point then I use 30 gauge solid copper wire.

#6 SICKdimension

SICKdimension

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,659 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Interests:TO IM ME, STATE YOUR REASON, DON'T JUST SAY "HEY R U THERE?"
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 21 January 2005 - 02:07 AM

That 30awg wrapping wire from radio shack is great.

#7 mbratton

mbratton

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 634 posts

Posted 21 January 2005 - 02:50 AM

ratshack 30g wire for d0
monster 24g speaker wire for everything else.

#8 dpaul007

dpaul007

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 164 posts
  • Location:Southern MN
  • Interests:Computers, chicks, Xbox
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 21 January 2005 - 02:57 AM

I just ripped some wires from an IDE cable I had laying around. Worked fine.

Edited by dpaul007, 21 January 2005 - 02:58 AM.


#9 Perplexer

Perplexer

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,183 posts
  • Location:Lat: 36.0723N, Long: 79.3989W
  • Interests:Fish with big teeth
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 21 January 2005 - 03:24 AM

Radio Shack 30awg wrapping wire, just like everyone else tongue.gif

I use 26awg wire for voltage points to the chip, though. And for other wiring, like LEDs. Sometimes when I don't have suitable wire, I'll pull apart a phone cord.

#10 Kryxan

Kryxan

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 188 posts
  • Location:Police States of America
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:none

Posted 21 January 2005 - 04:19 AM

i *think* i am using 30g single strand wire. i dont know for sure... it came from radio shack, and its black, and red, and green. and its not a multi thread wire so less screw ups. all i know is i went to the store and got what i was 95% sure was the right wire, without debating it in my head too much.

#11 defmonk

defmonk

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 249 posts
  • Location:Tampa, FL
  • Interests:xbox live, modding, movies, beer
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 21 January 2005 - 09:27 PM

QUOTE(Kryxan @ Jan 20 2005, 10:50 PM)
i *think* i am using 30g single strand wire. i dont know for sure... it came from radio shack, and its black, and red, and green. and its not a multi thread wire so less screw ups. all i know is i went to the store and got what i was 95% sure was the right wire, without debating it in my head too much.

View Post



that's ALL you know? wow, not much.

if you have no idea, it's generally not a good idea to guess. most likely, you're wrong.

i bought a few spools of 30awg wire from radio$hack. that's about the only thing that shithole is good for.

they were cheap as hell, too. a lot cheaper than the 15ft i got from 123leds.com.

edit: i'm just fuckin' with ya. don't take it the wrong way. haha. beerchug.gif

Edited by defmonk, 21 January 2005 - 09:30 PM.


#12 spartan024

spartan024

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 304 posts
  • Location:Duluth, MN
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 21 January 2005 - 10:38 PM

I usually find a busted mouse or keyboard and cut the cord off. Supports my wire needs, plus it helps in gettin rid of old, busted up shit... beerchug.gif

#13 quickdeath000

quickdeath000

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 144 posts
  • Location:Pennsylvania
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 21 January 2005 - 10:41 PM

30 gauge AWK Kynar wrapping wire from RadioShack. You can get 3 50 ft spools for like $5.00.

#14 Kori

Kori

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 147 posts
  • Location:Marietta, Georgia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 21 January 2005 - 10:49 PM



Instead of radio shack, just try your local hardware store. They usually have those huge spools there, and you can take off as many feet as you need. Usually fairly cheap too.

- Kori

#15 matt57

matt57

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 148 posts

Posted 03 March 2005 - 01:52 AM

does speaker wire work as well on led rings and mods....i'm a newb and have a ton of speaker wire since i just got the bose wireless system as a birthday present.....thanks in advance





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users