Jump to content


Photo

Why Do You Continue To Use Xbmp?


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 fahrenheit

fahrenheit

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,166 posts

Posted 21 January 2005 - 01:02 PM

This is a forum I have not visited in the time I have been a member of the XS.
XBMP was discontinued at the time I joined these forums, so I adopted XBMC and thought nothing of it.

But I see that XBMP has continued to have a following, which has me asking why?
I would like to know a little more about XBMP, and whether it is used as an alternative to XBMC or if there is any advantages to having them both co-existing on the same Xbox? Basically, why use XBMP?

Thanks.

#2 JayDee

JayDee

    X-S Legend

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,750 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 21 January 2005 - 05:09 PM

QUOTE(fahrenheit @ Jan 21 2005, 02:33 PM)
This is a forum I have not visited in the time I have been a member of the XS.
XBMP was discontinued at the time I joined these forums, so I adopted XBMC and thought nothing of it.

But I see that XBMP has continued to have a following, which has me asking why?
I would like to know a little more about XBMP, and whether it is used as an alternative to XBMC or if there is any advantages to having them both co-existing on the same Xbox? Basically, why use XBMP?

Thanks.

View Post




XBMP have a better video output, but xbmc is closing the gap.
Other then that there is no other real reason for xbmp.

But sure, you can have them both on the xbox. Kinda like you can have evo-x and avalaunch installed on the same rig wink.gif

#3 total_ass

total_ass

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,000 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 21 January 2005 - 06:04 PM

why does xbmp have better video than xbmc if the xbmc is the successor of xbmp?

this is something i have always wondered.

#4 baracus2k

baracus2k

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 104 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 02 February 2005 - 07:11 AM

i always use xbmp since it always worked great for playing all my music and movie files and see no reason to get xbmc.... and i cant get the streaming to work with the newest version of relax in xbmc

#5 JayDee

JayDee

    X-S Legend

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,750 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 02 February 2005 - 11:57 PM

Tha is becouse relax is shit. Sorry for the strong word but it have coused to much headache for us as it to buggy.

If you would use smb or ccxgui you would find XBMC to be a better choice.

But as with all things some people stick with old version, kinda like people still on win98 rather then win2k or xp.

#6 mrright01

mrright01

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 374 posts
  • Location:nc/va line
  • Interests:$, cars, modifying projects on anything
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 03 February 2005 - 12:03 AM

QUOTE(fahrenheit @ Jan 21 2005, 12:08 PM)
Basically, why use XBMP?

View Post



on my new instal, i accidentally changed the ini to go to xbmp instead of xbmc. i hated it, i thought it was a new xbmc with a new skin but it looked like crap. i tried changing some settings looking for another skin and accidentally changed my dvd settings and screwed my eeprom. took a week to figure it out. XBMP DIE!!!!!!!

#7 Hexx

Hexx

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,069 posts
  • Location:A fantasy camp
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 03 February 2005 - 08:26 AM

QUOTE(mrright01 @ Feb 2 2005, 05:09 PM)
on my new instal, i accidentally changed the ini to go to xbmp instead of xbmc. i hated it,  i thought it was a new xbmc with a new skin but it looked like crap. i tried changing some settings looking for another skin and accidentally changed my dvd settings and screwed my eeprom. took a week to figure it out. XBMP DIE!!!!!!!

View Post


LOL, funny story...yet sad that it is true.
My condolences sir.

#8 keyboard_cowboy

keyboard_cowboy

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 16 March 2005 - 03:24 AM

I can't get a damn video output to evenb BEGIN to see what's going on with the newest xbmc, I'm running X2 4983.06 bios on an admittedly older chip, it works fine for all else, for the last three days I've followed EVERY damned how to forum to config the newest xbmc (2005-03-12) and I STILL can't get a video signal the second it launches. I like the old '03 build I have kicking around here somewhere, looks like I'll be going back to it, or XBMP 2.4, this new thing sucks ass.
I really don't like turning off IGR and walking up, powering off, rebooting to change games - real sack of crap they've built here so far. I just want to get the streaming thing going.....alas it's but a dream for now. I'll stick to my laptop wired into my stereo netwroked to my 45+GB of music on my server tower.

If anyone has any suggestions - let me know.

John

#9 BORG-CYMRU

BORG-CYMRU

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 52 posts
  • Location:CYMRU/WALES
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:none

Posted 11 April 2005 - 02:26 AM

I have to use it to watch AVIs and ZBMC plays them with 5 or 6 green lines through the picture.

#10 THDVL

THDVL

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,089 posts
  • Location:TX
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 11 April 2005 - 03:39 AM

BORG-CYMRU It doesnt take a genious to realize you have a bug in your build. Get a new one. I already answered this in your post in the xbmc forum. Do you really think all these people would be using xbmc if green lines were all over the screen while viewing avi files?

Edited by THDVL, 11 April 2005 - 03:42 AM.


#11 BORG-CYMRU

BORG-CYMRU

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 52 posts
  • Location:CYMRU/WALES
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:none

Posted 11 April 2005 - 04:11 AM

It wasn't a request for help, it was a statment as to why I use it. No need to be rude.

Edited by BORG-CYMRU, 11 April 2005 - 04:12 AM.


#12 loki

loki

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 309 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 12 April 2005 - 07:55 AM

its kinda funny how people are still using xbmp.. as xbmc took it over 2 years ago and makes more progress daily... it would be soooo funny to see a list of fixes and added stuff thats in the newest xbmc vs the newest xbmp... the list would be waaaaay 2 long biggrin.gif

Edited by loki, 12 April 2005 - 07:56 AM.


#13 JayDee

JayDee

    X-S Legend

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,750 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 12 April 2005 - 11:16 AM

May 13th 2004 makes is more like ONE year since XBMC took over from XBMP.

#14 loki

loki

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 309 posts
  • Location:Portland, OR
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 13 April 2005 - 10:20 AM

well i checked xbins and it said the last release was like in 03 so yeah...

#15 JayDee

JayDee

    X-S Legend

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,750 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sweden
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v2 (zephyr)

Posted 13 April 2005 - 12:19 PM

Why argue?

Just trust me when i say that may 13th 2004 was the date XBMC took over from XBMP.

That xbins dont have the last XBMP build from cvs means nothing other then that they dont have the last one from the updated code. The last commit to XBMP´s cvs was made in mid december 2003, but XBMC wasnt mature enough to take over from XBMP befor may 2004.

So yeah, may 13th still stands....




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users