Jump to content


Photo

L1 And Bt Lines For Aladdin Chip


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Ancient of Mu

Ancient of Mu

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 21 January 2005 - 03:50 PM

Hello,

Can anyone tell me if the following picture shows the correct L1 and BT lines for an Aladdin XT?

http://www.nordicimp.../xbox14copy.jpg

I have soldered everything in place but xbox just boots into M$ bios with no flashing eject light or even change in colour, however long you hold it down for.

Also I have had to cut away part of the aladdin for it to sit correctly against one of the capacitors on the mobo, is this right?

I'm using a 1.3 board i think, serial number is in one of them grey areas.

#2 IIMOR74LII

IIMOR74LII

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 94 posts

Posted 21 January 2005 - 05:34 PM

Wait...You actually cut up the Chip? lol that could be the prob

#3 Ancient of Mu

Ancient of Mu

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 21 January 2005 - 05:43 PM

I didnt cut the chip lol, just the board as in the instructions on this page......

http://www.quantroni..._b=xbox_aladdin




#4 Chancer

Chancer

    Don't You Trust me?

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,687 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 21 January 2005 - 08:56 PM

BT goes to the right side of R3G3 L1 goes to the left side of R3G5.
You should not need to cut the board. You have the chip on the wrong way round

#5 Ancient of Mu

Ancient of Mu

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 21 January 2005 - 09:07 PM

I am so confused now, does that mean the diagram on this link is incorrect?

http://www.quantroni..._b=xbox_aladdin

should the writing on the back of the aladdin by facing the back or front of the mobo?

and thanks for pointing me in the right directiion

Edited by Ancient of Mu, 21 January 2005 - 09:09 PM.


#6 kermit007

kermit007

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 266 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 22 January 2005 - 03:33 AM

The diagram is right, but usualy it's eaisier (least to me) to do the BT and d0 on the top points on the board. As for cutting into the PCB on the chip I've had a couple XBoxes that I could have done that with. Instead it's just eaisier and safer to push the capacitor to the side a little and force the chip against it (will help keep the chip from ever coming up...not like it will anyways.

#7 eminvil_12

eminvil_12

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,718 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 22 January 2005 - 04:25 AM

those instructions are fine, you do cut that part of the chip away, i have cut it away for all of the aladdin xt's i have done.

are you from australia?

follow those instructions, install the pin headers place the chip that way,
BUT do you want to be able to play xbox live or not?

IF NOT: solder the D0 from the motherboard to ground (motherboard screw) and solder BT from the aladdin to ground also(same motherboard screw as the Do)

thats how i do all my chips, just the pin headers and mobo D0 to mobo ground and bt from chip to ground

that will work for you wink.gif

#8 Ancient of Mu

Ancient of Mu

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 22 January 2005 - 04:29 AM

thanks for that kermit007 and eminvil_12 that information makes things a lot clearer.

and yes I do want to play live so i'm gonna have to connect the BT and L1 lines and the D0 to the aladdin

Edited by Ancient of Mu, 22 January 2005 - 04:31 AM.


#9 eminvil_12

eminvil_12

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,718 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 22 January 2005 - 04:51 AM

QUOTE(Ancient of Mu @ Jan 22 2005, 05:00 AM)
thanks for that kermit007 and eminvil_12  that information makes things a lot clearer.

and yes I do want to play live so i'm gonna have to connect the BT and L1 lines and the D0 to the aladdin

View Post




yep goodluck

#10 Chancer

Chancer

    Don't You Trust me?

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,687 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Xbox Version:v1.6
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 22 January 2005 - 12:30 PM

I have never cut one yet. Mind you I solder a header soket into the quicksolder slot. If I had to hack a chip like that I wouldn't buy. If it needs the cut (Which it doesn't, I just tried one on a the pinheader in mine its close up to the cap but it fits without cutting) the manufacturer should put the cut out in it.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users