• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 brandtson

brandtson

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 30 January 2005 - 03:10 PM

Ok sorry if this is a complete newb question, but I've searched the forums for over an hour and still haven't seen this topic touched upon.

Does the eeprom contain the hdd serial number? I'm assuming not. If so, isn't the hdd serial number in the hdd firmware. So if I were to put in a bigger hdd, I would save my old eeprom, save my disk.bin (by the way what partition is that located in? and can you just ftp that back and forth?) , save my old hdd serial number(wd120....), put in the new hdd, load up my old eeprom, load up my disk.bin, and set the new hdd serial number as the old one. Assuming this process is correct, how would I go about setting the new hdd serial number? And how would I manipulate the disk.bin file.

Thanks ahead of time.

By the by, cheers to the guys who are testing the xbl banning theories.

#2 brandtson

brandtson

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 02 February 2005 - 04:51 AM

anyone?

#3 feet14

feet14

X-S Senior Member

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 209 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 02 February 2005 - 02:21 PM

The HD Serial is stored in the HD firmware and can't be changed. Disk.bin contains the HD partition table. If you want to upgrade your HD after going on live, using disk.bin on the new HD won't prevent a ban. You will need to flash in a new EEPROM at the same time.

#4 brandtson

brandtson

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 03 February 2005 - 01:15 AM

QUOTE(feet14 @ Feb 2 2005, 01:27 PM)
The HD Serial is stored in the HD firmware and can't be changed. Disk.bin contains the HD partition table. If you want to upgrade your HD after going on live, using disk.bin on the new HD won't prevent a ban. You will need to flash in a new EEPROM at the same time.

View Post

holla, thanks. the disk.bin is located in the root directory?