Jump to content


Photo

Help: Cannot Connect From Pc To My X


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Phocchio

Phocchio

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 06 March 2003 - 08:31 AM

First, I've to say I read all the tuts out there about networking, Evox CD preparation, EVOX.INI settings, etc.
Now, I've a brand new v1.1 X with a Xecuter 2 PRO 100% working chip.
I connected the console to the PC with a crosspatched cable.
The problem is that when I boot the EVOX CD-RW and go into "Settings/Info" everything seems OK but if I try to FTP from PC I cannot connect, or if I give a look at the NAT card monitor utility there's no TX/RX activity.
I thought that maybe the cable was broken, but how is it possible then that both the X and the PC recognize the connection speed (I tried both 10 and 100 Mbit/s)?
If usefull I'm posting here my EVOX.INI:

CODE

[Misc]

AutoLaunchGames = No
AutoLaunchDVD = No
DVDPlayer = "f:applicationsdvdxdefault.xbe"
AutoLaunchAudio = Yes
#AudioPlayer = "c:msxboxdash.xbe"
MSDashBoard = "c:msxboxdash.xbe"
UseFDrive = Yes
SkinName = Evox2
IGR  = Yes

[Network]

SetupNetwork = Yes
StaticIP = Yes
Ip  = 192.168.46.3
Subnetmask = 255.255.255.0
Defaultgateway = 192.168.46.1
DNS1  = 0.0.0.0
DNS2  = 0.0.0.0

[Clock]

JumpToMsDash = No
JumpIfNoLink = Yes
Use24  = Yes
SNTP_Server = 216.244.192.3
SwapDate = No

[FTP]

Enable  = Yes
Password = xbox
IGR  = Yes

[RDTOOLS]

Enable  = Yes
Name  = EvoX
IGR  = Yes

[BIOS]

#
ROM  = "EvoX 2.0",0x76fd88337b8d8c1f116f85f3984b98b6
ROM  = "EvoX 2.1",0x99487615bb30670cb65993388fcf2a63
ROM  = "EvoX 2.2",0x220ade778785cfc3c98bb5ea8bbd8608
ROM  = "EvoX 2.3",0xd79bc87c2caa1a50dcc7016adf2ccc0a
ROM  = "EvoX 2.4",0xe3ce66b99957a92fdac40af951c3f1fd
ROM  = "EvoX 2.6",0xdd3de3542bff7b36cdb0dbe078c27fbe
ROM         = "EvoX 3.6",0xcb73b4914bb6c70b66e21377989726a0  
ROM           = "EvoX 3.6ef",0xf754767b388ce7a08bf57304e24c9ae9  
ROM           = "EvoX D.6",0xc349c2b047a3d6c2de2e1c10185ecf86  
ROM           = "EvoX D.6ef",0x74c6235497f474bf88b54b3fc52a20b2
#
Flash  = 0x01d5,"AMD - Am29F080B",0x100000
Flash  = 0x04d5,"FUJITSU - MBM29F080A",0x100000
Flash  = 0xadd5,"Hynix - HY29F080",0x100000
Flash  = 0x20f1,"ST - M29F080A",0x100000
Flash  = 0xbf61,"SST - 49LF020",0x40000
#Flash  = 0x378c,"AMIC - A29002",0x40000
Current  = 0xc349c2b047a3d6c2de2e1c10185ecf86

[Skin_Original]

#
# <Time>   =
# <IP>     =
# <Name>
# <Version>
# <CD>
# <BIOSVer>
# <KernelVer>
# <RDName>
# <SpaceC>
# <SpaceE>
# <SpaceF>
# <SpaceX>
# <SpaceY>
# <SpaceZ>
#
Text =       30,37,0.5,0x000000,0,"<Time>"
Text =       28,39,0.5,0x808080,0,"<Time>"
Text =       620,420,0.5,0x000000,1,"<Name> V<Version>"
Text =       618,422,0.5,0x808080,1,"<Name> V<Version>"
Text =       620,37,0.5,0x000000,1,"<CD>"
Text =       618,39,0.5,0x808080,1,"<CD>"
Text =       30,420,0.5,0x000000,0,"RD Name : <RDName>"
Text =       28,422,0.5,0x808080,0,"RD Name : <RDName>"
LogoType= 0


[Menu]

Section "Root"
{
Item "Launch DVD",@14
Item "MS Dashboard",@3
Item "Reboot",@5
Item "Power Off",@10
Section "System Utils"
{
 Item "Settings",@9
 Item "Flash BIOS",@1
 Item "Backup",@11
 Item "Skins",@13
#  Section  "Install Menu"
#  {
#   Item "Install 4043",@210
#   Item "Action 11",@211
#   Item "Action 12",@212
#  }
}
Section  "Launch Menu"
{
  Section "Games"
 {
#   Item "Invaders","f:gamesinvadersdefault.xbe"
  Line "- Auto Items -",2
  SortStart
  AutoAddItem "f:games"
  SortEnd
#   SortAll
 }
 Section "Apps"
 {
#   Item "DVDX","f:Applicationsdvdxdefault.xbe"
  SortAll
   AutoAddItem "f:applications"
 }
}
}

[Action_10]

LogFile  = "f:test.log"
Info "Install 4034 Dashboard"
Warning "This will format all drives"
Warning "Install msdash 4034"
Warning "Flash BIOS to Evox 2.4"
Progress "Now Installing 4034 Dashboard"
#
# This will format alle drives ,copy the dashboard c: and flash the bios
#
ConfigSector "dash4034config.bin"
Format c:
Format e:
#Format f:
Format x:
Format y:
Format z:
copy "dash4034c" "c:"
# the flashbios will force a "power off" after the bios is flashed
flashbios "biosevox V2.4.bin"

[Action_11]


[Action_12]


Any help would be appreciated. sad.gif

Edited by Phocchio, 06 March 2003 - 08:35 AM.


#2 pecusio

pecusio

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 219 posts

Posted 06 March 2003 - 01:44 PM

First let get the simple things clear:

Go to Command Promp and type "Ping 192.168.46.3" see if the PC------> has comunication with the Xbox,

If NoT----- Is settings problems

If yes----- is FTP program problems.

PM me if you need more information

#3 rjm2k

rjm2k

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,120 posts

Posted 06 March 2003 - 03:00 PM

Check what lights are illuminated on the xbox port at the back of the box. Also, have you managed to use this network card to communicate with anything else? I had a similar problem with a Realtek card which was due to it being in a PCI slot which was shared with a modem riser slot (even tho the modem wasn't connected to the slot), so maybe try a different pci slot.

#4 Phocchio

Phocchio

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 06 March 2003 - 06:08 PM

Well, asking on Italian forum it has come out that my EVOX.INI is missing the part where you can choose to save the settings to the XBOX HD.
In fact if I go into "Settings/Info" at the bottom of this screen I've only a "Exit" item and not the wanted "Save and Exit".
So, maybe this is the cause? blink.gif

#5 rjm2k

rjm2k

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,120 posts

Posted 06 March 2003 - 06:57 PM

QUOTE (Phocchio @ Mar 6 2003, 06:08 PM)
Well, asking on Italian forum it has come out that my EVOX.INI is missing the part where you can choose to save the settings to the XBOX HD.
In fact if I go into "Settings/Info" at the bottom of this screen I've only a "Exit" item and not the wanted "Save and Exit".
So, maybe this is the cause? blink.gif


That's because you are running from cd, you can't write to it! If you run from the hdd, you get the save option.

#6 pecusio

pecusio

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 219 posts

Posted 06 March 2003 - 08:27 PM

QUOTE
Well, asking on Italian forum it has come out that my EVOX.INI is missing the part where you can choose to save the settings to the XBOX HD.
In fact if I go into "Settings/Info" at the bottom of this screen I've only a "Exit" item and not the wanted "Save and Exit".
So, maybe this is the cause?


100% thats no your problem because in your Evox.ini you have the corrects settings.

Let start with the Basic do you have The same Subnet mask and diferent IP

#7 Phocchio

Phocchio

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 06 March 2003 - 09:35 PM

QUOTE (pecusio @ Mar 6 2003, 10:27 PM)
100% thats no your problem because in your Evox.ini you have the corrects settings.

Let start with the Basic do you have The same Subnet mask and diferent IP

Yes.
My PC IP is 192.168.46.1 which is also the "Defaultgateway" line on my EVOX.INI.
And both XBOX and PC Subnet are set to 255.255.255.0.
BTW I forgot to say I tried to connect both on Windows 98 SE and Windows XP PRO with FlashFXP.
Also, pinging 192.168.46.3 doesn't give any results.
I tested the cross cable between two PCs and it worked fine, and I tried to replace my network card getting same problems.
So it's definitely not a HW problem. blink.gif

#8 pecusio

pecusio

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 219 posts

Posted 07 March 2003 - 12:19 PM

Leave the Default Gateway in blank, and if the Xbox------>Pc are no getting ping is problem with the settings or the hardware, 100% sure about that, ok please type in the command prompt "IPconfig" and post the result, And sometimes if you connect to the internet using dialup the modems setting can make conflicts with the NIC and Xbox----->PC communication

Edited by pecusio, 07 March 2003 - 12:22 PM.


#9 ek247

ek247

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 154 posts

Posted 07 March 2003 - 01:56 PM

Are U deffinatly sure you have got a Croos Over cable?
make sure

#10 Phocchio

Phocchio

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 07 March 2003 - 04:56 PM

QUOTE (pecusio @ Mar 7 2003, 02:19 PM)
Leave the Default Gateway in blank, and if the Xbox------>Pc are no getting ping is problem with the settings or the hardware, 100% sure about that, ok please type in the command prompt "IPconfig" and post the result, And sometimes if you connect to the internet using dialup the modems setting can make conflicts with the NIC and Xbox----->PC communication

OK, I tried to translate (I'm Italian) my IPconfig so I hope it's understandable:
CODE

Windows IP Configuration

       Host name . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Phocchio
       Primary DNS suffix  . . . . . . .  :
       Node type . . . . . . . . .  : Unknown
       Routing IP enabled. . . . . . . . . : No
       Proxy WINS enabled . . . . . . . .  : No

Ethernet card LAN connection:

       Specific DNS suffix for connection:
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Virtual DVB-S/-C/-T Network Adapter #2
       Physic address. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-D0-5C-00-29-35
       DHCP enabled. . . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
       Automatic configuration enabled   : Yes
       Automatic configuration IP address: 192.168.46.21
       Subnet mask . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
       Default gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Ethernet card LAN connection 8:

       Specific DNS suffix for connection:
       Description . . . . . . . . . . . . . : VIA VT6105M Rhine III Management Adapter
       Physic address. . . . . . . . . . . : 19-02-16-08-46-00
       DHCP enabled. . . . . . . . . . . . : No
       IP address. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.46.1
       Subnet mask . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
       Default Gateway. . . . . . . . . :


The ISDN dialup was not reported as I was offline atm.
The "Virtual DVB-S/-C/-T Network Adapter #2" is a Sat TV card that uses a virtual driver to work also for Internet surfing.
The network card is "VIA VT6105M Rhine III Management Adapter" with IP 192.168.46.1 and connected directly to the XBOX through a crossover cable.
The EVOX.INI was set with static IP 192.168.46.200, subnet 255.255.255.0 (I've already tried w/o specifying it as you suggested) and gateway 192.168.46.1.
Oh I forgot to say that I'm trying to connect both on Windows XP PRO (with no firewalls enabled) and Windows 98 SE.
Maybe I should setup a new network connection from the scratch with your suggestions? blink.gif

#11 pecusio

pecusio

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 219 posts

Posted 07 March 2003 - 07:39 PM

Use this configuration

NIC
IP: 192.168.46.1
Subnetmask: 255.0.0.0

Xbox

IP: 192.168.46.2
Subnetmask: 255.0.0.0


then Try to ping the PC to the Xbox "Ping 192.168.46.2"

Edited by pecusio, 07 March 2003 - 07:40 PM.


#12 Phocchio

Phocchio

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 07 March 2003 - 08:42 PM

QUOTE (pecusio @ Mar 7 2003, 09:39 PM)
Use this configuration

NIC
IP: 192.168.46.1
Subnetmask: 255.0.0.0

Xbox

IP: 192.168.46.2
Subnetmask: 255.0.0.0


then Try to ping the PC to the Xbox "Ping 192.168.46.2"

AT LAST IT WORKED!!! beerchug.gif love.gif
Thank you pecusio!!
Would you please tell me what was the reason to put 255.0.0.0 instead of 255.255.255.0? I'm really curious about this. smile.gif

#13 pecusio

pecusio

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 219 posts

Posted 08 March 2003 - 04:37 AM

QUOTE
Would you please tell me what was the reason to put 255.0.0.0 instead of 255.255.255.0?


Conflicts jester.gif



beerchug.gif

#14 Phocchio

Phocchio

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 08 March 2003 - 07:28 AM

Oh I see, so I guess I still have to learn a lot about LAN stuff. comp.gif

#15 pecusio

pecusio

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 219 posts

Posted 08 March 2003 - 11:46 PM

Yes jester.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users