Jump to content


Photo

Amd 64 Or Intel 64-bit


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 nightracer352

nightracer352

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Location:ohio
  • Interests:cars, motorcycles (anything that goes fast) and electronics
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 28 February 2005 - 08:56 AM

hi guys im back and i have a question that could change the plans for my new computer as i know them

which is better the Intel LGA 775 Pentium 4 630 or the AMD Athlon 64 3500+

from what those links say it looks like the intel is way better and correct me if im wrong but the intel does not have an onboard memory controller which means that i won't have to worry about ram like i would with the amd and also again correct me if im wrong but the intel does not have a locked multiplyer to me it seems the intel wins out in all areas including price but i want to know what you guys think

and this might help out- i love games but i dont play half life or anything and i rarely get to play them, i want this computer to be a media center really but i still want to do my CAD work and i spend hlaf the time my computer is up on the internet

hope that helps

thanks smile.gif

#2 67thRaptorBull

67thRaptorBull

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,215 posts
  • Location:I dont know where my car is......
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 28 February 2005 - 04:31 PM

QUOTE(nightracer352 @ Feb 28 2005, 02:02 AM)
hi guys im back and i have a question that could change the plans for my new computer as i know them

which is better the Intel LGA 775 Pentium 4 630 or the AMD Athlon 64 3500+

from what those links say it looks like the intel is way better and correct me if im wrong but the intel does not have an onboard memory controller which means that i won't have to worry about ram like i would with the amd and also again correct me if im wrong but the intel does not have a locked multiplyer to me it seems the intel wins out in all areas including price but i want to know what you guys think

and this might help out- i love games but i dont play half life or anything and i rarely get to play them, i want this computer to be a media center really but i still want to do my CAD work and i spend hlaf the time my computer is up on the internet

hope that helps

thanks smile.gif

View Post





well, price wise your doing it all wrong

your comparing a 3.0GHZ Intel to a 3500+ AMD, it doesnt work that way

a 3500 AMD is the same as a 3.5GHZ Intel, so to compare prices, youd want to select a 3000 AMD (which is way, way cheaper)
just thought id clear that up, because price wise, AMD is always cheaper


second, as you can see, the Intel only supports up to 800mhz FSB, but with onboard FSB, you can get unbeleivable speeds (up to 1600), and ive never had a memory issue with my AMD (ive used off brand Crucial, and low quality Kingston)

third, the multiplier thing doesnt matter, and besides, your looking at the wrong core for AMD, if you get a Winchester core AMD, you can easily overclock them by .3 or .4 GHZ, (so instead of 2.2, people have easily gotten thiers to 2.5, 2.6GHZ)


and on top of that all, AMD is going to lead the way once 64 bit is ready, and AMD rules all


#3 thomes08

thomes08

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,619 posts
  • Interests:XBOX! HOCKEY! POT AND SHROOMS! BEER!

Posted 28 February 2005 - 06:17 PM

well the amd is 64 bits that's why it's priced a little more

thomes08

Edited by thomes08, 28 February 2005 - 06:19 PM.


#4 xboxmodder4life

xboxmodder4life

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 950 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 28 February 2005 - 06:19 PM

i just bought a Gateway laptopn with mobile amd 64bit 3400+ and it cranks along with a gig of ram. I also too wonder how the AMD's preform against the intels.

#5 thepissedoffman

thepissedoffman

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 335 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 28 February 2005 - 10:40 PM

QUOTE(thomes08 @ Feb 28 2005, 11:23 AM)
well the amd is 64 bits that's why it's priced a little more

thomes08

View Post



The P4 he has linked to is of the new 6X0 P4 series that has 64 bit extension support just like the Athlon 64.

I would go with the Athlon 64 3500+ hands down.


Here are two links that have benchmarks that you should check out since you are in the market.

http://www.tomshardw...0221/index.html

http://www.anandtech...aspx?i=2353&p=1



#6 thomes08

thomes08

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,619 posts
  • Interests:XBOX! HOCKEY! POT AND SHROOMS! BEER!

Posted 28 February 2005 - 11:07 PM

QUOTE(thepissedoffman @ Feb 28 2005, 09:46 PM)
The P4 he has linked to is of the new 6X0 P4 series that has 64 bit extension support just like the Athlon 64.

I would go with the Athlon 64 3500+ hands down.
Here are two links that have benchmarks that you should check out since you are in the market.

http://www.tomshardw...0221/index.html

http://www.anandtech...aspx?i=2353&p=1

View Post



cool thanks i didn't know those were out yet. My friend who is helping me build it over the summer is pressuring for me to go with AMD. I've always done intel but i'm thinking i'm finally gonna make the switch in the comming months

thomes08

#7 DjO

DjO

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 168 posts
  • Location:Lawrence, KS
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 28 February 2005 - 11:17 PM

I've always had AMD and have always been very satisfied with their processors and one of the main reasons I used to go with them was the huge price difference between AMD and Intel and both of them are pretty much the same. It's kinda like the Chevy vs Ford....both are good cars but it's really whatever your personal preference is.

#8 nightracer352

nightracer352

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Location:ohio
  • Interests:cars, motorcycles (anything that goes fast) and electronics
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 28 February 2005 - 11:44 PM

not really there are some real performance differences and thats why i am asking this question i mean the intel is cheaper and looks much much better on paper but the amd is what i was already looking at and i know they are very good but they have problems with the ram and the clock speed is lower

if it was as simple as go with what i like it would be the amd because i already know about them but i dont really care what i know right now i just want to simply know which one is better performance wise its all in the numbers for me i dont really care whats in the socket as long as it works and is the best performer

#9 67thRaptorBull

67thRaptorBull

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,215 posts
  • Location:I dont know where my car is......
  • Xbox Version:v1.3

Posted 28 February 2005 - 11:46 PM

QUOTE(nightracer352 @ Feb 28 2005, 04:50 PM)
not really there are some real performance differences and thats why i am asking this question i mean the intel is cheaper and looks much much better on paper but the amd is what i was already looking at and i know they are very good but they have problems with the ram and the clock speed is lower

if it was as simple as go with what i like it would be the amd because i already know about them but i dont really care what i know right now i just want to simply know which one is better performance wise its all in the numbers for me i dont really care whats in the socket as long as it works and is the best performer

View Post




the AMD will be ur best bet

#10 fishlord

fishlord

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 195 posts

Posted 01 March 2005 - 04:43 AM

Just to clarify... the implication that the intel is 64 bit in the title is wrong... it isnt.

#11 thomes08

thomes08

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,619 posts
  • Interests:XBOX! HOCKEY! POT AND SHROOMS! BEER!

Posted 01 March 2005 - 05:18 AM

QUOTE(fishlord @ Mar 1 2005, 03:49 AM)
Just to clarify... the implication that the intel is 64 bit in the title is wrong... it isnt.

View Post



thank you now i know i'm not completely retarded. I'll admit i don't know much about this stuff at all, but since i am in the market i have been doing some research as of late and i'm always kinda keeping up. From what i've read online (including the links thepissedoffman posted) the 64 bit intel chip should be A LOT more expensiev than the one posted. Like upwards to 600 dollars. In fact the biggest gripe about the Intel 64 bit chips from all the places i've read is that they are a lot more expensive than the AMD 64 bit'ers..... so something doesn't add up and i'd like someone who knows what they're talking about to tell me the difference, pleeeeaaaasse

thomes08

#12 nightracer352

nightracer352

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Location:ohio
  • Interests:cars, motorcycles (anything that goes fast) and electronics
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 01 March 2005 - 05:41 AM

QUOTE
Features: Support Intel EM64T, XD Bit, Enhanced Intel Speedstep Technology


see that em64t well thats intels version of the 64-bit amd tech

and THIS is what i was linked to when i saw the ad

so see it is 64-bit


EDIT: i also found THIS which you might want to take a look at

Edited by nightracer352, 01 March 2005 - 05:48 AM.


#13 thepissedoffman

thepissedoffman

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 335 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 01 March 2005 - 02:54 PM

QUOTE(thomes08 @ Feb 28 2005, 10:24 PM)
thank you now i know i'm not completely retarded.  I'll admit i don't know much about this stuff at all, but since i am in the market i have been doing some research as of late and i'm always kinda keeping up.  From what i've read online (including the links thepissedoffman posted) the 64 bit intel chip should be A LOT more expensiev than the one posted.  Like upwards to 600 dollars.  In fact the biggest gripe about the Intel 64 bit chips from all the places i've read is that they are a lot more expensive than the AMD 64 bit'ers..... so something doesn't add up and i'd like someone who knows what they're talking about to tell me the difference, pleeeeaaaasse

thomes08

View Post



I don't know why you think the price of the P4 you posted is wrong but it is not. That P4 has the 64-bit extensions.

#14 buttface96

buttface96

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 970 posts
  • Location:Oxnard, CA
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 01 March 2005 - 05:19 PM

just get an amd, cheap and awesome

#15 nightracer352

nightracer352

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Location:ohio
  • Interests:cars, motorcycles (anything that goes fast) and electronics
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 02 March 2005 - 03:11 AM

actually the p4 is cheaper thats why this is coming up well that and on paper it looks way better




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users