Jump to content


Photo

Can't Softmod...


  • Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#1 Kai920

Kai920

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 131 posts
  • Location:HK
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 28 February 2005 - 07:09 PM

Ugh, I hope this can be fixed...

I used Slayer's 2.6 on my softmodded box, formatted the C: drive and "restored" the original Msdash to it, because I wanted to install Blackwar's. Problem is, now it will *not* not read my MechAssualt disc (NTSC-J), and thus I cannot load Blackwar's installer, which is already on my E: drive. It gives me the message "Invalid Game Region" sad.gif

Any solutions? Am I screwed? uhh.gif

#2 total_ass

total_ass

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,000 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 28 February 2005 - 07:53 PM

let me guess, you are using the UDE2 and changed the xbe region on your xbox.

1) use newer exploits.

2) don't use slayers on a softmodded xbox, especially stuff relating to the C drive.

you will have to reinstall the exploit without the exploitable game, either unlock the drive or hotswap, then reinstall.

#3 triggernum5

triggernum5

    X-S Messiah

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,655 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 28 February 2005 - 08:19 PM

Use xboxhdm to put a basic uxe setup on your hdd.. Then run an installer manually and correct the stock C: files on the shadowc after installation..

#4 Trevante

Trevante

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,929 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 01 March 2005 - 12:28 AM

QUOTE(total_ass @ Feb 28 2005, 11:59 AM)

2) don't use slayers

View Post



Fixed.


#5 Kai920

Kai920

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 131 posts
  • Location:HK
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 01 March 2005 - 03:17 AM

QUOTE(total_ass @ Mar 1 2005, 01:59 AM)
let me guess, you are using the UDE2 and changed the xbe region on your xbox.

Sorry, no idea what was used. How do I find out?

QUOTE
1) use newer exploits.

Can you give some suggestions?

QUOTE
2) don't use slayers on a softmodded xbox, especially stuff relating to the C drive.

Too late now unfortunately... i had been doing a bit of reading around x-s and it seemed slayers was ideal for reverting a C: back to its original state. guess i forgot about the region bit...

QUOTE
you will have to reinstall the exploit without the exploitable game, either unlock the drive or hotswap, then reinstall.

Looks like my only option is to take the HD out?

Edited by Kai920, 01 March 2005 - 03:23 AM.


#6 Kai920

Kai920

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 131 posts
  • Location:HK
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 01 March 2005 - 04:00 AM

Is this a good place to start?

Uxe Auto Installer For Xboxhdm, UnleashX Dash Waffle Tools and Nkpatcher
http://forums.xbox-s...howtopic=329355



#7 Kai920

Kai920

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 131 posts
  • Location:HK
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 01 March 2005 - 06:11 PM

bump for more suggestions ...

#8 Keo-Keo

Keo-Keo

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 871 posts
  • Location:Cincinnati Ohio
  • Interests:Modded.. Shell scripting all sorts of things.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 01 March 2005 - 06:25 PM

QUOTE(Kai920 @ Feb 28 2005, 09:06 PM)
Is this a good place to start?

Uxe Auto Installer For Xboxhdm, UnleashX Dash Waffle Tools and Nkpatcher
http://forums.xbox-s...howtopic=329355

View Post



LoL.. My tools are outdated.. Better one's out from kingroach..

#9 Kai920

Kai920

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 131 posts
  • Location:HK
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 01 March 2005 - 06:32 PM

QUOTE(Keo-Keo @ Mar 2 2005, 12:31 AM)
LoL.. My tools are outdated.. Better one's out from kingroach..

View Post



smile.gif well if it works why not... can't find any other sources. can I find yours on the usual places?

(i pm'd kingroach but he didn't respond... maybe he doesnt want a n00b to be beta testing his new installer ohmy.gif )

#10 total_ass

total_ass

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,000 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 01 March 2005 - 06:57 PM

you don't need an installer, just assemble the necessary exploit files and copy them over in xboxhdm.

#11 Kai920

Kai920

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 131 posts
  • Location:HK
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 01 March 2005 - 07:08 PM

QUOTE(total_ass @ Mar 2 2005, 01:03 AM)
you don't need an installer, just assemble the necessary exploit files and copy them over in xboxhdm.

View Post



true... once I hook it up with xboxhdm I can just copy the stuff 'assembled' onto C: yeah? guess the hard part is figuring what files to be 'assembled'.. e.g. blackwar's installer..

#12 total_ass

total_ass

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,000 posts
  • Location:England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 01 March 2005 - 08:24 PM

grab uxe-complete from the usual places, should be all you need.

i hope you have a copy of your eeprom as well, if not then its hotswapping biggrin.gif

#13 Kai920

Kai920

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 131 posts
  • Location:HK
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 01 March 2005 - 08:28 PM

QUOTE(total_ass @ Mar 2 2005, 02:30 AM)
grab uxe-complete from the usual places, should be all you need.

i hope you have a copy of your eeprom as well, if not then its hotswapping biggrin.gif

View Post



thanx, i'll get uxe-complete as well from the usual places.

the eeprom is something that I DO have. got a copy on CD and couple copies on my hard drive.. cool.gif


#14 Kai920

Kai920

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 131 posts
  • Location:HK
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 01 March 2005 - 08:49 PM

OK I got UXE Complete 0.2.1... I read the readme and know that I have to run the two batch files, etc. Then I am going to copy everything inside "UXE-C-REPLACE" onto my xbox's C drive.

But before I do that, when I boot up xboxhdm I'm going to have only the xbox hd connected, right? Can I put the package onto the CD iso (xboxhdm) as well, otherwise I don't know how I would transfer it over...

btw, there's NO WAY to fix this without opening up the box? unsure.gif

#15 Kai920

Kai920

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 131 posts
  • Location:HK
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 02 March 2005 - 08:26 AM

OK, I read through most of the xboxhdm for dummies thread (which absolutely rocks btw) and I'm ready to try building a spare 20gig I have here at work.

I still want to revert C: to STOCK, but since I bought my xbox pre-softmodded, the only backup of C I have is when it was in a modded state. Where can I find stock C files that fit my xbox's region?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users