Jump to content


Photo

Swaping Motherboards, 1.0 To A 1.6 Possible?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 sirsmooth

sirsmooth

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 250 posts

Posted 28 February 2005 - 09:40 PM

And I can find 1 thread, but that was 1.6 into a 1.0 box.
Just wondered before I put my 1.0 motherboard/PSU in a 1.6 box.
will it fit straight in?
I know there has to be modifacations if it was the other way round.

Will this be ok to swap the motherboard and psu? without modifacations.

Cheers sirs

#2 munkle

munkle

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,374 posts
  • Location:My Home
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 28 February 2005 - 10:12 PM

well if a 1.6 into a 1.0 works shouldnt a 1.0 to a 1.6, just like a=b and b=a

#3 sirsmooth

sirsmooth

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 250 posts

Posted 28 February 2005 - 10:21 PM

OOps. that shoulda been a 1.6 in a 1.0 box need modifacations to fit and work properly, Im doing the opposite.

#4 StrictPuppet

StrictPuppet

    X-S Messiah

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,296 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 28 February 2005 - 10:27 PM

Ya it fits ok... there is 2 screw holes on the 1.0 mobo that has no corresponding holes in the 1.6 case.... so ya it fits......just have 2 screws left over

#5 sirsmooth

sirsmooth

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 250 posts

Posted 01 March 2005 - 07:05 PM

sweet. I'll do that.

Is there a tuts or any diagrams of what you have to do to fit a 1.6 in a 1.0-1.5 box?
I think you just break 2 lugs off?

Cheers sirs

#6 flexia

flexia

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 156 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 01 March 2005 - 07:07 PM

QUOTE(sirsmooth @ Mar 1 2005, 12:11 PM)
sweet. I'll do that.

Is there a tuts or any diagrams of what you have to do to fit a 1.6 in a 1.0-1.5 box?
I think you just break 2 lugs off?

Cheers sirs

View Post


acualy i think there is only 1 more screw on the 1.0-1.5 boards. Yes break the lug off and make sure you cut the sheilding where the lug is also.

#7 neonmod

neonmod

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 117 posts

Posted 01 March 2005 - 08:50 PM

Hi,

I have done this mod and you will need to slightly mod the 1.0 case or you will blow you're box!

You most remove the two screw pillars that don't corrispond to the new motherboard, they will be on the left if looking from front to back!

I used a stanley knife to cut out the pillars, then you will need to push the metal case wings down and cover with electrical tape to avoid contact/short to the motherboard( these come up over the pilars to provide an earth for the old 1.0 MB ).

Then you can safely affix thew new motherboard in place, the psu will fit perfectly as the only difference is the molex power connector!

I had to fiddle a bit to get the controller ports to fit the new motherboard sockets as they are set out differently, i think i swapped the ports over!

Hope this helps you! smile.gif

Cheers!

#8 ModdingManiac

ModdingManiac

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,715 posts
  • Location:CALIFORNIA
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 01 March 2005 - 09:19 PM

QUOTE(neonmod @ Mar 1 2005, 07:56 PM)
Hi,

I have done this mod and you will need to slightly mod the 1.0 case or you will blow you're box!

Cheers!

View Post



He is right, doing this wrong can cuase that annoying transistor to go out and then you have to repalce it. 1.6 xboxes are different from other versions.

#9 sirsmooth

sirsmooth

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 250 posts

Posted 02 March 2005 - 08:56 PM

You say two screw pillars, are you sure its not just 1 pillar? i can only see one diff between the 1.6 and 1.0 and thats just the 1 pillar. Thats just below whre you put your video lead (looking from the front).

Wheres the second?

cheers sirs

#10 Birdtales

Birdtales

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 556 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 02 March 2005 - 09:03 PM

The 2 on either side of the AV port will need to be trimmed to make them shorter. Not doing this will make the motherboard flex and it just won't fit properly.

The left over post is the most important however. Not cutting it out WILL cause your Xbox to not power up.

#11 sirsmooth

sirsmooth

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 250 posts

Posted 02 March 2005 - 09:21 PM

Ok, im gonna trim the 2 AV pillars down now. So the pillar i have removed is the only one that needs removing?
I dont wanna fry my board smile.gif
cheers sirs




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users