Jump to content


Photo

Gamecubes Can Be Modded Tooooo


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
48 replies to this topic

#1 markland556

markland556

    The xbox scene master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,708 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 March 2005 - 04:22 AM

well i think that the gamecube should have more mods, but for me this is a big improvment. biggrin.gif im selling this thing too for $180 shipped, comes with black controller and hookups. beerchug.gif
user posted image
user posted image

Edited by markland556, 08 March 2005 - 04:23 AM.


#2 rob_the_modder

rob_the_modder

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 24 posts
  • Interests:Nintendo,<br />Games,<br />Art,<br />Moddin',<br />GameCube
  • Xbox Version:none

Posted 08 March 2005 - 03:51 PM

very nice, but jus wait until my beast is done, ur eyes'll drop out lol

#3 gcskate27

gcskate27

    X-S Messiah

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,585 posts
  • Location:san antonio
  • Interests:video games, prgramming, comps, skateboarding, cooking, taking care of my lizards and dachshund
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 08 March 2005 - 05:51 PM

i modded mine forever ago... might put pics back up if i can find them...

*easier to just take new pics... biggrin.gif

user posted image

*keen eyes will notice the dust and Homer... beerchug.gif


now that i got a school cheque i might just viper mine...

Edited by gcskate27, 08 March 2005 - 05:57 PM.


#4 HELLTICK

HELLTICK

    X-S Expert

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPip
  • 651 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 09 March 2005 - 02:57 AM

QUOTE
now that i got a school cheque i might just viper mine...


gcskate27, Since you like to mod anyway...why not save yourself some money and build an sdcard adaptor?


user posted image
user posted image
user posted image
user posted image


I built the one above in a little under an hour...You dont need to use an AR card as any mem-card of any size or make will work as its just the connections were after (I just had a spare AR-card). You also dont need a 512MB sdcard any size will work. I have both viper and sdload booting dvd-r just fine...but I use sdload more often cuz it has way more storage, boots anaconda, boots gcos, boots everything I throw at it, and the 'drag and drop' features of the sdcard are way the hell quiker then that dammed programmer that c/w viper.
Looking like cobra dropped-out..I dont think I'd buy their viper...Even if they do come out with a super duper updated bios...It'll only be a matter of days before it's jacked and booted off sdcard anyways...so you really cant lose.
The viper does work and getting cheaper now..but its fading away. If a dvd-r boots off viper...It will boot off anaconda, gcos via sdcard.
One thing I noticed is while my viper is installed I get conflicts trying to boot off sdcard...solution..remove viper, Lol.
Trying to keep an open mind between sdload/viper...I decided to build a quik-release setup for viper on my gc...


user posted image
user posted image
user posted image
user posted image
user posted image
user posted image


With my quik-release viper atleast I can remove it easy without going inside and rule out any possible conflicts with other booting methods...also makes re-programing the viper module a breeze!

Also keep in mind other chips are coming.
Bottom line...the best advice I could give to a fellow xboxmodder...Go with the sdcard or wait!
Goodluck!
Oh and nice GC you got there gcskate27...Good work!
beerchug.gif

Edited by HELLTICK, 09 March 2005 - 03:06 AM.


#5 el_diablo

el_diablo

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,614 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.5

Posted 09 March 2005 - 11:01 AM

thats 1337.
only one problem, what if your gamecube meets mr floor at a high speed?

#6 mr_chips

mr_chips

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 236 posts

Posted 10 March 2005 - 01:55 AM

I'm losing my mind trying to find Action Replay.
I checked a bunch of retail outlets and couldn't find a copy of the Action Replay package. I have the SD card, I have the reader, I have the apps to do it...I just can't find this blasted disc.
I checked EB and they had the "gameshark" package. But it didn't appear to include a disc. All it seemed to be was just savegames (and maybe Gameshark cheatcodes), not AR codes.
sad.gif very sad day

**edit**: Helltick, I love your work. And your information has been extremely helpful! Only thing, is why didn't you just install a switch for the viper? I mean Get a small toggle switch, wire it to the 3.3V between the Viper and the motherboard (viper still inside) and just use the switch as a breaker for the viper?

Edited by mr_chips, 10 March 2005 - 02:06 AM.


#7 mr_chips

mr_chips

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 236 posts

Posted 10 March 2005 - 02:42 AM

also, I tried to format the SDCard as fat16, however windows only gives you two options. Fat or Fat32. So I went with 'fat'. Is that really fat16?

#8 HELLTICK

HELLTICK

    X-S Expert

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPip
  • 651 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 10 March 2005 - 03:37 AM

Even if you close the 3.3v line to viper with a switch..original bios will still have conflicts since connected to the actel of viper and won't work ...this will just boot you to the mem-card manager and even if you insert an original will display "No Disc"....You would need to close all lines to viper with switch to allow original bios to boot, thus booting AR followed by, anaconda/gcos, then your dvd-r.
That would require four switches and too much time, money, and work!
I would rather just use my quick-release..And remove it completely!

And yes Fat=Fat16 under xpos.

Goodluck! smile.gif
beerchug.gif

Edited by HELLTICK, 10 March 2005 - 03:51 AM.


#9 mr_chips

mr_chips

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 236 posts

Posted 10 March 2005 - 09:26 AM

QUOTE
Even if you close the 3.3v line to viper with a switch..original bios will still have conflicts since connected to the actel of viper and won't work ...this will just boot you to the mem-card manager and even if you insert an original will display "No Disc"....You would need to close all lines to viper with switch to allow original bios to boot, thus booting AR followed by, anaconda/gcos, then your dvd-r.
That would require four switches and too much time, money, and work!
I would rather just use my quick-release..And remove it completely!

Ok, you're right. I probably would have done the same thing if I was in your shoes smile.gif
QUOTE
Goodluck!  smile.gif
beerchug.gif

thanks! but, still I have no AR disc.
Hopefully tomorrow I can find one. I didn't check everywhere. Just the major retailers pretty much. I've already got the 128mb card set up! Just got to solder it too. cool.gif

#10 yosomono99

yosomono99

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 132 posts
  • Location:Orlando, FL USA

Posted 10 March 2005 - 09:15 PM

Mr. Chips and HELLTICK

Could you guys point me in the right direction of some tutorials on using the SDcard mod/exploit??? I've had my xbox modded for a while now, just did the independence exploit on my PS2 yesterday, and now my cube is feeling left out and I NEED SOMETHING ELSE TO MOD....lol

#11 mr_chips

mr_chips

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 236 posts

Posted 10 March 2005 - 09:43 PM

basically you need a couple of things:
1) An original copy of the Action Replay disc
2) A SD-Card (any size)
3) An SD-Card Reader for your PC
4) A Gamecube memory card, any size / brand
5) small wires, soldering iron, small phillips screwdriver
6) GCOSv1.4.zip (GCOS DVD reader files), sdload.zip (SD loader)

"full" said it best:
QUOTE
1. downalod sdloader
2. format your sd-card to FAT16 (called 'fat' in XP, NOT fat32)
3. sdpatch your sd-card..
4. copy GCOS_PSO.DOL and SDLOADER.BIN to sd-card
5. solder it to your memorycard (heres a diagram: diagram
6. read SDLOADER installation.txt there's everything else you need (the codes what you need from Action Replay)

beerchug.gif

Edited by mr_chips, 10 March 2005 - 09:48 PM.


#12 yosomono99

yosomono99

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 132 posts
  • Location:Orlando, FL USA

Posted 11 March 2005 - 12:51 AM

any particular version of action replay??

nm...ready the frontpage on gcdev.com

next question

can this be used to play backups from dvd-r??

Edited by yosomono99, 11 March 2005 - 12:55 AM.


#13 mr_chips

mr_chips

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 236 posts

Posted 11 March 2005 - 01:21 AM

yep...it's basically like a mod chip. not to mention you can unplug it and take it to your buddies house. So It's even better...because it's a portable mod-chip. beerchug.gif

#14 Mr.Chicken

Mr.Chicken

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 51 posts

Posted 11 March 2005 - 02:30 AM

if i make a second one of these will the games cube read games off of like a 1gb card? or will it have to be those stupid little dvdrs

#15 HELLTICK

HELLTICK

    X-S Expert

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPip
  • 651 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 11 March 2005 - 05:15 AM

QUOTE
can this be used to play backups from dvd-r??


Is the sky blue?
huh.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users