Jump to content


Photo

Network Help


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 TPS34

TPS34

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Location:Mass
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 12 March 2003 - 12:54 AM

Im trying to network the pc and xbox to bring games back and forth. Tried everything. The recent try that failed was this

: in flash fxp
: 192.168.46.2
user name and pw- xbox
: then go into tcip properties on the pc
: 192.168.46.2 make that the ip
: and the subnet mask 255.0.0.0
: and go into the xbox make it static IP
: and change the IP to 192.168.46.1
: u get all that

Please Help me

#2 Choochoo

Choochoo

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 103 posts

Posted 12 March 2003 - 01:19 AM

have the xbox automatically assign the ip
if you don't want that, then just go to start/run/cmd/ipconfig
and copy EXACTLY what is in there onto your xbox, then just ADD 25 to the number so 192.168.1.1, change it to 192.168.1.26
it should be full proof, good luck

#3 Raised

Raised

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,535 posts

Posted 12 March 2003 - 01:36 AM

well.. FlashFXP should be set to connect to the right static ip, no?

in your case you set the xbox to be 192.168.46.1,so don't make FlashFXP connect to 192.168.46.2

#4 TPS34

TPS34

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Location:Mass
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 12 March 2003 - 01:42 AM

tried them both still notin... Need to backup my oringals

#5 Raised

Raised

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,535 posts

Posted 12 March 2003 - 01:48 AM

You have a crossover cable? Can you even see that there is an active connection between the PC and xbox (powered on) in Windows?

#6 TPS34

TPS34

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Location:Mass
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 12 March 2003 - 01:58 AM

Habe all the right cables. As in bought about 10 diff types including the 2 of the correct cross over 45's or whatnot. I never have seen a connection between the 2.

#7 AdmStng

AdmStng

    X-S Enthusiast

  • XS-BANNED
  • 0 posts

Posted 12 March 2003 - 03:41 AM

didn't answer someone's question before... did you set static= "yes" (in evox.ini)

note: by default it is set to no, and you cannot connect if "no" is selected (eg: static = no)

understand?



#8 AdmStng

AdmStng

    X-S Enthusiast

  • XS-BANNED
  • 0 posts

Posted 12 March 2003 - 03:44 AM

btw, isn't 192.168.46.* a class C address?


try this for a subnet mask 255.255.255.0

#9 mach88

mach88

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 12 March 2003 - 05:21 PM

What about hooking up router to xbox?

I reckon I need a CAT-5 RJ-45 Straight Network Cable for that.

The ip should show up after I hook them up and it is set to NO for static ip.

When my router assigns a ip to my xbox, is my xbox ip then permanent?

What I mean is, when I disconnect the cable and I go into my xbox settings, will it still show the ip that my router assigned???

#10 diablo996

diablo996

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 701 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 12 March 2003 - 07:25 PM

QUOTE (AdmStng @ Mar 12 2003, 04:44 AM)
btw, isn't 192.168.46.* a class C address?


try this for a subnet mask 255.255.255.0

Yep, that is right. You do need a 255.255.255.0 address, well for simplicity sake anyways.

Just use your router...it is ten times easier. You can always change the IP later if you need to.

#11 TPS34

TPS34

    X-S Senior Member

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Location:Mass
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 12 March 2003 - 10:20 PM

Still Nothing. Help Step by step.. anything help meeeeeee

#12 fizgig10

fizgig10

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 215 posts

Posted 12 March 2003 - 11:17 PM

Make your computer IP = 192.168.1.1
Make your xbox IP = 192.168.1.2

Both should have the subnet = 255.255.255.0

If you are doing a computer to xbox direct connection (1 cable used), make sure it's a crossover. One easy way to see if it is or not is to hold both ends of the cable together. See if each wire passes straight through - does the 1st wire of one end match the color of the 1st wire of the other end and so forth. If so for all 8 wires then it's a patch cable (straight through). If any are different then it's a crossover cable.

So, PC -> xbox : use crossover cable
PC -> Hub -> xbox : all cables pass through and make sure not to plug into the special "uplink" port of the hub if it has one.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users