Jump to content


Photo

Simple Mod


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Sizzource

Sizzource

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 09 March 2005 - 04:04 AM

Ok, Im not a newb to this kind of stuff, modding that is, or electronics. I just want someone who has had experience with alot of different mods.

Here is what I want to do:
- Burn Games I guess to my HD and then reburn it on another disk
- Able to view DVDs, burn them to my HD and reburn them onto another disk
- Turn the modchip off so that I may be able to play Xbox Live (or if there is a chip out that I can play XBL with it on)
- Doesn't have to be easy to install because I am pretty good at soldering and handling electronic chip boards
- I suppose thats about it.

If someone who has alot of knowledge with a few chips, please advise me which would be the best choice.

Thank you. beerchug.gif

#2 FallsInc

FallsInc

    X-S Hacker

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,280 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ohio
  • Xbox Version:none
  • 360 version:none

Posted 09 March 2005 - 08:32 AM

well any mod will suit you, but a x2.6 soundls like the ticket

#3 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 09 March 2005 - 01:44 PM

well i dont think what chip you get matters, its teh bios
so as long as the chip is flashable, you good to go

#4 Sizzource

Sizzource

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 09 March 2005 - 10:33 PM

Is there any specific HD that I need to purchase. I hear that the stock HD won't do much with a ModChip.

I guess I will buy the Xenium chip.

What I am basically trying to do is making my Xbox a sleeper. Meaning that no one can tell what I got under the hood until I release the beast at a Halo 2 party or something.

So basically, I can burn games/dvds to my aftermarket HD (or stock) then reburn it.

But I also hear that you can't play live on ripped games. Which sucks.

I do appreciate that response btw.

#5 STICKY_BUD

STICKY_BUD

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 953 posts
  • Location:prop 215 authorized co-op in northern california
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 09 March 2005 - 11:17 PM

any gen 3b(or later) chip will do fine for you
http://www.xbox-scen...ips3b_table.htm

i now have 3 modded xbox consoles - a duo x2(white), a smartxx and an xecuter3.

when i disable the chips and boot, they all act exactly the same as a non-modded xbox. when i do not disable the chips and boot, they all start the exact same dashboard and can run the same software. the only difference is that on 2 of the 3, i have lcd modules for xbmc display and i can also go into the modchip os settings for those 2 to use features built-in to the modchips if i wish, but i hardly ever do.

#6 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 10 March 2005 - 09:17 AM

well as for hard drives, it depends on how many games ect you want to put on it.

most people go for arounda 120gb drive. i have a 200gb drive in mine at the moment, and with 25gb free, it has 60-70 games on it.

just make sure you get a standard ide drive, and NOT a SATA drive.

#7 Sizzource

Sizzource

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 11 March 2005 - 03:07 AM

Now the next question is can I use my origial HD or do I HAVE to get a new one.

I don't think Ill put more than 20 games on it. I mean, the whole point of Xbox for me is online play on Live. But as I hear you can't play games on Live that you've burned onto your HD using the Mod Chip. But I could be wrong.

And what exactly does softmodding do. I havent gotten a clear answer to that one yet.

Edited by Sizzource, 11 March 2005 - 03:08 AM.


#8 imagenius

imagenius

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 301 posts
  • Location:Boca Raton, FL
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 11 March 2005 - 04:51 AM

Also keep in mind that it is easier to get your xbox banned on live now even if your chip is off. For sure if you go on live with your xbox and then switch out the HD then you will get your box banned. I've heard that having mod files on your HD or even game saves from homebrew apps can get your box banned but I can't confirm this. If anyone else knows more specific ways you can get banned please post.

Also softmodding is setting up an exploit that allows the xbox to boot a hacked bios without a modchip thus allowing you to do pretty much everything a chip can but without it. As far as I know if you go on live with any modded dash files (including exploits) your box will be banned.

#9 Sizzource

Sizzource

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 11 March 2005 - 04:08 PM

Alrighty, thanks for the help. I also live in Florida, Pompano Beach/Deerfield to be exact.

Next question is if I burn a game onto another CD then ''give'' it to a friend to play, will he be able to play it online?

#10 seriouslysilly

seriouslysilly

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,687 posts
  • Location:East Coast baby!!!
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 11 March 2005 - 04:13 PM

first of all, for "him" to play that disc, the chip must be on

so- XBL - no!

Kai - yes, but might as well play it from the HD

#11 Sizzource

Sizzource

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 12 March 2005 - 02:24 AM

Hmm, well I just bought a 300GB HD. Seagate Ultra ATA/100 - 7200rpm. Seems like this thing is a beast.

Hopefully this will work just fine with my Xbox.

#12 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 12 March 2005 - 01:00 PM

QUOTE(Sizzource @ Mar 12 2005, 11:30 AM)
Hmm, well I just bought a 300GB HD. Seagate Ultra ATA/100 - 7200rpm. Seems like this thing is a beast.

Hopefully this will work just fine with my Xbox.

View Post




well that will definitley fit ur 20games on it.

#13 Sizzource

Sizzource

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 13 March 2005 - 03:04 AM

Yea, from what I hear tho, I should have gotten a ATA 133 instead of a 100. But its to late now. So I might be selling this beast on here as soon as I get her.r

Thanks again for all of your responses.

#14 imagenius

imagenius

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 301 posts
  • Location:Boca Raton, FL
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 13 March 2005 - 08:43 AM

ATA 133 won't make any difference as the xbox only uses ATA33. Even in a computer it really wouldn't make a difference.

#15 ferrari_rulz_02

ferrari_rulz_02

    X-S Transcendental

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,395 posts
  • Location:Lara, Victoria, Australia
  • Interests:my girfriend, then the xbox<br />and yes, it is in that order
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 14 March 2005 - 09:23 AM

QUOTE(imagenius @ Mar 13 2005, 05:49 PM)
ATA 133 won't make any difference as the xbox only uses ATA33. Even in a computer it really wouldn't make a difference.

View Post




yer, it wont make any difference at all. the xbox isnt super fast anyway




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users