1 reply to this topic

#1 DireW0lf

DireW0lf

X-S Enthusiast

• Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 08 June 2002 - 02:37 AM

Here is my Xbox Modding Experience in Full detail

Ok So I'm no chip expert but I do have a good electronics background (4 years in highschool) and can solder rather well

Day One

I started with a HP K6-300 pc it has this chip in it WinBond W29C020-90....8300K280883501VA when I looked it up and found it was 256kb i was excited so I went out to HP's website and downloaded the flash util for the mobo(stupid mistake #1)
opened up a hexeditor and split the first 256kb to another file and called it xbox.bin then I made a floppy bootdisk and put the bin file and flash util on it booted the disk and flashed the rom so far so good...I then proceeded to flash the chip which went ok. I then opened the xbox but I needed some wires...so I looked around and found an old gamepad I cut up the gamepad wire and striped about 1/8-1/4 inch off of each wire end..btw i suggest using wire strippers...but I didn't have any so i used my teeth after that I then twisted the ends of each wire so they came to a point. plugged a soldering iron in dipped each wire in flux and coated the ends with solder(this is called tinning) after that I proceeded to solder the wires to the marked locations on the xtender diagrams I use this http://arakon.hn.org/eprommod.html site btw...now this took about an hour I made sure to dip each wire in a little flux and melt a tiny bit of solder on the soldering iron(15w btw) then i put each wire to each point and touched the iron to it for .5-1 sec just enough so the wire stuck if i tugged on it slightly after that I then proceeded to solder the legs of the IC accordding to the diagram. (here comes mistake #2) I soldered 31 to 16,22,24. Anyway after reassembling and testing I got beep codes with flashing red/green light on my xbox. At this point it was late and I was frustrated so i went to bed.

Day Two