Jump to content


Photo

New Xbox... Robbed On My Dvd Drive


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 cF00

cF00

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

Posted 04 April 2005 - 11:37 PM

It looks like i got screwed again.... its a Thomson

at least i believe it is judging by the pics i have seen... its definitely not samsung and it doesnt have the key shaped hole... so it looks like i am screwed again

not sure how i could exchange this so can anyone please let me know what type of CD-R or RWs will work for sure on this drive so i can put some music on it?

i just want to be able to get music on there
but i dont wanna go on another buying spree trying to find media that works with my drive...
any help is appreciated!
cF00

#2 TheProffessor

TheProffessor

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 824 posts
  • Location:back to DC/NOVA... EU again hopefully in Dec
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 04 April 2005 - 11:40 PM

well, I never got ANY cd-r or cd-rw's to work on mine... sorry...

you could do two things...

one, put the discs in your computer and then FTP the files over to your xbox
two, install a regular dvd drive when you want to use any burned cd-rw's... it's not too hard, just plug the IDE cable into the new drive and use a power splitter to give it juice

#3 seriouslysilly

seriouslysilly

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,687 posts
  • Location:East Coast baby!!!
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 05 April 2005 - 12:15 AM

"new" xbox? i didnt think the new ones even had tompsons anymore

#4 spiffyville

spiffyville

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,013 posts
  • Location:CornHusker State
  • Interests:Working on the physics behind wingless flight for humans. Slow going so far.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 05 April 2005 - 12:22 AM

Nah. All the new ones I've seen are hitachi samsung. Which aren't bad Ive had them all read cd-rws. Cd-r though I kinda doubt.

#5 LYNK169

LYNK169

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 05 April 2005 - 12:25 AM

if your looking to transfer music files so that play as soundtracks in games, sometimes just ftping them over doesnt work. There is a program that can do it for you through an ftp connection though. Lemme get the address...

http://www.** Links ...-...x CD Ripper
(you have to open some pages to unlock it or sign up. The programs a bit tempremental but works smile.gif )

oh and by the way I used Verbatim, and burned on a very low speed.

#6 LYNK169

LYNK169

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 05 April 2005 - 12:27 AM

Dammit that link didnt work. Oh well its on ** Links to Xbox Warez and Torrents ** under the download section.

#7 LYNK169

LYNK169

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 05 April 2005 - 12:28 AM

dammit!! pm me and ill tell u lol smile.gif

Keep up the good work guys

#8 DaNiceOne

DaNiceOne

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Location:Cortlandt Manor NY
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 05 April 2005 - 12:30 AM

If it is brand new, return it and get a new one, and maybe it will be a samsung

#9 cF00

cF00

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

Posted 06 April 2005 - 03:58 AM

its definitely new... bought it yesterday at Wal Mart...
and its definitely not a Samsung... and judging by the photos... its not a phillips either

i have considered trying to exchange it at wal mart... but have no idea what to tell them at the counter...

it.... ummm.... doesnt work..... ?

you know?


#10 nj12nets

nj12nets

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,330 posts
  • Location:brooklyn all day!
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 06 April 2005 - 04:05 AM

wait. if u want soundtracks and u can ftp download xbox soundtrack editor. its in the tools section of this site. under miscelaneous or other utilities i think. not positive where but its great

#11 cF00

cF00

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

Posted 06 April 2005 - 04:36 PM

hey i dont think i can FTP into it... doesnt it need to be modded to do that?


#12 TheProffessor

TheProffessor

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 824 posts
  • Location:back to DC/NOVA... EU again hopefully in Dec
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 06 April 2005 - 05:31 PM

yes it does need to be modded in some way to ftp...

but, back to your original question... I am guessing you have one of the new drive that came out a few months ago and not a Thomson. From what I have heard they are OK, and returning it is not going to get you a different drive anyway. Have you tried to see if it reads any burned music on cd-rw or cd-r? that would be one way to see...




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users