Jump to content


Photo

Windows 98 Working In Xdsl


  • Please log in to reply
265 replies to this topic

#16 m.e

m.e

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 April 2005 - 08:25 PM

I've finished the tutorial now smile.gif . It located at my site www.psphacker.com


As for getting Windows XP to work on xbox I don't think going to happen. BartPE was the first thing I tried. But I got a message from one of xdsl developers today saying that there will soon be a version of xdsl that uses even less RAM so you never know. tongue.gif

#17 CandieCorpse

CandieCorpse

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 06 April 2005 - 08:33 PM

QUOTE(celinedrules @ Apr 6 2005, 04:58 AM)
Can't you read?

View Post



yes i can fuc*ing read that was posted a day after his post moron.

#18 vicviper74

vicviper74

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 282 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 06 April 2005 - 09:41 PM

AS SOON AS I GET OFF OF WORK IM GONNA Try this
PLUS I ALREADY HAVE W98 SE in iso format

#19 The Zep Man

The Zep Man

    X-S Freak

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,833 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 April 2005 - 10:08 PM

QUOTE(m.e @ Apr 6 2005, 07:31 PM)
I've finished the tutorial now smile.gif . It located at my site www.psphacker.com
As for getting Windows XP to work on xbox I don't think going to happen. BartPE was the first thing I tried. But I got a message from one of xdsl developers today saying that there will soon be a version of xdsl that uses even less RAM so you never know.  tongue.gif

View Post

Do you DARE to make a bet on that? biggrin.gif

Windows XP is more stable than Windows 98 under QEMU. OK, maybe the memory-requirements are a bit high (oh, holy developers of xDSL... please give us your new releases which cost even less memory...), but it IS possible. In the worst case scenario, it should use the/a SWAP-file.

And it is fairly easy to remove the memory-cap from the installer of Windows XP (won't install with <64MB memory, if I remember correctly) so it will even work when you only allocate 32MB of memory to QEMU. smile.gif

I'm going to try this, seems pretty interesting... let's check out what that accelerator-module REALLY can do. beerchug.gif

Edited by The Zep Man, 06 April 2005 - 10:22 PM.


#20 celinedrules

celinedrules

    X-S Hacker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,430 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 06 April 2005 - 10:25 PM

QUOTE(CandieCorpse @ Apr 6 2005, 10:39 AM)
yes i can fuc*ing read that was posted a day after his post moron.

View Post

That's funny you dipshit cause if you look, they have he same date. Maybe you might know how to read but you don't know how to read dates. Not the date from his original post but the date when he said the tutorial will be done.


#21 m.e

m.e

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 April 2005 - 10:30 PM

celinedrules give it a rest.

#22 Dark_Woofer

Dark_Woofer

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 140 posts

Posted 06 April 2005 - 11:29 PM

I'm trying it right now, i'll post my results later (maybe i'll post over win98 if all goes well)

#23 Dark_Woofer

Dark_Woofer

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 140 posts

Posted 06 April 2005 - 11:48 PM

First notes :

- Your iso must be in ISO-9660 format

- After making the partition with fdisk, u have to restart the emu. For example, if the files are located to c:\xboxwin, you would need to execute "C:\xboxwin\qemu.exe" -L ./qemu/ -boot a -fda WIN98C.IMG -m 128 -hda win98.img -cdrom win98.iso

Just wanted to contribute

#24 Dark_Woofer

Dark_Woofer

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 140 posts

Posted 07 April 2005 - 12:11 AM

Now starting the install, say 99 minutes left laugh.gif


Well, i'll keep you in touch!

Oh yea, i edited ¨Start kit (nonbootable).bat¨ to make an 1go filesystem instead of the original 500mo one

#25 monkeyboyj

monkeyboyj

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 62 posts
  • Location:Virginia
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 07 April 2005 - 01:46 AM

will this tut work with windows 95? I dont have an old 98 disc but i have a 95 one.

#26 vicviper74

vicviper74

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 282 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 07 April 2005 - 01:50 AM

STEP 6: If you iso is NOT bootable run “Start kit (nonbootable).bat”. Else run “Start kit.bat”. If your not sure if the iso is bootable or not try “Start kit.bat” first.
The bat file makes an 1 GB disk image and then start qemu.

STEP 7: Ones in qemu you should press F1 to get to dos prompt. Then type fdisk and choose option 1. Then type format /S C: and last but not least type R:\setup.exe .

step 6 do we do this on PC or on adsl running?

step seven??
same question really doesnt say where or when!! Remember we should have a picture walkthru for the dumbasses like me.
iim ready to do this

but im totally clueless

#27 Dark_Woofer

Dark_Woofer

    X-S Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 140 posts

Posted 07 April 2005 - 02:47 AM

For step 6 u must download the file linked at the tutorial page, and do it from your pc

step 7 u will see, no need to press f1 (well i didnt had to)

oh and by the way, win98 run slower than on my p1 133mhz with 32mo of memory. mad.gif

Edited by Dark_Woofer, 07 April 2005 - 02:49 AM.


#28 vicviper74

vicviper74

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 282 posts
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 07 April 2005 - 03:12 AM

well i cant get the windows 98 to install part i made the image "simple" but when i click the qemu.exe NOTHING!! so i cant get windows 98 to install at all. so im stuck with a image and no ways to make it install. qemu wont boot
anyone know the reason why? the image is in the same main folder as the qemu.exe HEEEELP

#29 RiceCake

RiceCake

    X-S Freak

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,977 posts
  • Location:Canada, eh?
  • Interests:Wait, what the hell?<br />Your interested in what I do?<br />None of your damn buisness!
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 07 April 2005 - 03:26 AM

Nice job!

Been playing around with this. Got Windows 98 up, trying to get the damn tun/tap ethernet setup working but its being difficult. I tried a copy of Windows 95 but it refused to boot right (I think my disk is scratched, I can't dump a good image).

Its possible to run DOS and muLinux though. Each booted fine.

Heh, I have like a million disk images on my computer prepared and ready for testing since I've been using qemu on my PC for months. Its too bad XDSL uses RAM heavily at this time, since setting qemu to 16Mb is very low for OS'es like Windows 98.

If I have time, gotta fiddle with this accelerator module! Or recompile qemu on the Xbox from source...just gotta find that last squeeze of speed now...

Edited by RiceCake, 07 April 2005 - 03:32 AM.


#30 CandieCorpse

CandieCorpse

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 228 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.1
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 07 April 2005 - 03:31 AM

QUOTE(vicviper74 @ Apr 7 2005, 02:18 AM)
well i cant get the windows 98 to install part i made the image "simple" but when i click the qemu.exe NOTHING!! so i cant get windows 98 to install at all. so im stuck with a image and no ways to make it  install. qemu wont boot
anyone know the reason why? the image is in the same main folder as the qemu.exe  HEEEELP

View Post




do you have the linux version of qemu? that could be the issue.

oh by the way i got this working its amazing man , thanks for the tut very well done biggrin.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users