Jump to content


Photo

Installing Larger Hdd


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Winchy

Winchy

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,410 posts
  • Location:Newquay, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 April 2005 - 11:10 PM

QUOTE(shadow23 @ Feb 25 2005, 02:40 AM)
THIS TUTORIAL IS FOR CREATING YOUR OWN BASIC AUTO-INSTALLER
First thing you have to do is download the following:

  = Evox 3935
  = Craxtion4 or Quix
  = Evox NewHD setup v1.4

Things needed:
 
  = Nero (because this is the one I used)
  = CD/DVD media that is compatible with your xbox dvd drive

Now you have to make a few changes. So open or unpack your Evox 3935 and and rename "evoxdash.xbe"
to "default.xbe".Now open the evox.ini file. Down the bottom of the ".ini" file under "[Menu]"
type the following:
Section "Root"
{
        Item "Prepare HD",@210
        Section "Format Options"
        {
                Item "Format only C: Partition",@213
        Item "Format only E: Partition",@214
  Item "Format only F: Partition",@215
  Item "Format only G: Partition",@216
        }
Item "Launch DVD",ID_Launch_DVD
Item "Trainers",ID_trainer
Item "MS Dashboard",ID_MS_Dash
Item "Reboot",ID_Quick_Reboot
Item "Power Off",ID_Power_Off
Item "Lock Harddisk",@211
Item "Unlock Harddisk",@212
Section "System Utils"
{
  Item "Settings",ID_Settings
  Item "Flash BIOS",ID_Flash_Bios
  Item "Backup",ID_Backup
  Item "Skins",ID_Skins
}
Section  "Launch Menu"
{
  Section "Games"
  {
  AutoAddItem "e:\games\"
  AutoAddItem "f:\games\"
                        AutoAddItem "g:\games\"
  SortAll
  }
  Section "Apps"
  {
  AutoAddItem "e:\apps\"
    AutoAddItem "f:\apps\"
                        AutoAddItem "g:\apps\"
  SortAll
  }
}
}

[Action_10]

LogFile  = "e:\test.log"
Info "Prepare NewHD"
Warning "This will format all drives"
Warning "This will Copy Dashboard and Apps"
Progress "Now Preparing New HD"

  This will format all drives

ConfigSector "\hd.bin"
Format c:
Format e:
Format f:
Format g:
Format x:
Format y:
Format z:

copy "\cdrive\" "c:\"
copy "\edrive\" "e:\"
copy "\Apps\" "f:\"
#

Format HDD

[Action_11]

LogFile          = "f:\lock.log"
Info "This function will lock your XBOX Harddisk"
Warning "You will now lock your XBOX harddisk and will be able"
Warning "to boot from an original XBOX bios"
#

hddlockenable

[Action_12]

LogFile          = "f:\unlock.log"
Info "This function will unlock your XBOX Harddisk"
Warning "You will now unlock your XBOX harddisk"
            "and will not be able"
Warning "to boot from an original XBOX bios"
#

hddlockdisable

[Action_13]

Info "Formatting C: on XBOX 1.X HDD"
Warning "This will erase ALL data on C: Drive!"
Warning "The M$ Dash will also be wiped!"
Warning "Make sure you have a full HD backup!"
Progress "Formatting C: ..."
#

Format c:

[Action_14]

Info "Formatting E: on XBOX 1.X HDD"
Warning "This will erase ALL data on E: Drive!"
Warning "All SAve Game Data will be wiped!"
Warning "Make sure you have a full HD backup!"
Progress "Formatting E: ..."
#

Format e:

[Action_15]

Info "Formatting F: on XBOX 1.X HDD"
Warning "This will erase ALL data on F: Drive!"
Warning "Any Games or Apps on F: will be Wiped!"
Warning "Make sure you have a full HD backup!"
Progress "Formatting F: ..."
#

Format f:

[Action_16]

Info "Formatting G: on XBOX 1.X HDD"
Warning "This will erase ALL data on G: Drive!"
Warning "Any Games or Apps on G: will be Wiped!"
Warning "Make sure you have a full HD backup!"
Progress "Formatting G: ..."

Format g:
NOTE: Whatever was written under "[Menu]" before has to be replaced with this settings
Now after you finished editing your ".ini" file you need to open or unpack Evox NewHD Setup v1.4
and grab a little file called "hd.bin" and put it in the evox 3935 folder (the one you unpacked). Now
you have to create 2 folders. Name the first folder "cdrive" and the second folder "edrive". Now
hoping that you have backed up your C and E partition in your xbox beforehand, place all the contents of your
C to the "cdrive" folder and all the contents of E to the "edrive" folder. If you wish to include
some apps with your auto-installer, just create a folder named "Apps" and put all the application you
need in it. Now you have to edit the ".ini" file again and just add this line (the one in bold letters):

ConfigSector "\hd.bin"
Format c:
Format e:
Format f:
Format g:
Format x:
Format y:
Format z:

copy "\cdrive\" "c:\"
copy "\edrive\" "e:\"
copy "\Apps\" "f:\"



Now use Qwix or Craxtion4 to convert your auto-installer to an xISO format. Once the xISO has been made, use Nero
to burn it onto a cd/dvd media.

View Post




I'm a bit confused about where it says

So open or unpack your Evox 3935 and and rename "evoxdash.xbe"
to "default.xbe".

I have slayers v2.6 on my computer... so how do i unpack the evox 3935 and where do I put the files i unpack?

#2 TheProffessor

TheProffessor

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 824 posts
  • Location:back to DC/NOVA... EU again hopefully in Dec
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 06 April 2005 - 11:13 PM

well, you should get a copy of evox that isnt in slayers...

#3 Winchy

Winchy

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,410 posts
  • Location:Newquay, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 April 2005 - 11:15 PM

Dammit... ok, would there be a torrent link in the usual places?

If so what would it come under?

#4 Winchy

Winchy

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,410 posts
  • Location:Newquay, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 April 2005 - 11:18 PM

Ok, at the usual places I found this...............

xbins will no longer host evolution-x files.

To anyone who reads this, you can personally thank jokko from team evolution-x for this situation.

Have a absolutly FABULOUS day!


Soooo...................what the hell........ can I not get it now then?

#5 Winchy

Winchy

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,410 posts
  • Location:Newquay, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 April 2005 - 11:21 PM

Ok, nevermind, I just found it hosted at some site when I seached on google biggrin.gif

Where do I unpack the files?

#6 Winchy

Winchy

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,410 posts
  • Location:Newquay, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 06 April 2005 - 11:46 PM

What's going on? I just did everything exactly as I was supposed to and I still get the error # 09...

No matter what I do it looks like my xbox will not load any discs with the larger HDD plugged in... Anyone know why this could be?

Are there any other options? Like hot swapping?

#7 Winchy

Winchy

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,410 posts
  • Location:Newquay, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 07 April 2005 - 12:09 AM

Anyone? (Sorry for bumping but I have an open xbox next to me an I really want my new HDD in it lol)

#8 Winchy

Winchy

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,410 posts
  • Location:Newquay, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 07 April 2005 - 01:21 AM

Once again, can anyone give me any advice please?

#9 spiffyville

spiffyville

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,013 posts
  • Location:CornHusker State
  • Interests:Working on the physics behind wingless flight for humans. Slow going so far.
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 07 April 2005 - 06:26 AM

actually, are hard modded tsopflashed or softmodded?

Edited by spiffyville, 07 April 2005 - 06:27 AM.


#10 Winchy

Winchy

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,410 posts
  • Location:Newquay, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.5
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 07 April 2005 - 12:39 PM

I'm hard modded, I belive it's some Xecuter chip (not sure which). But I'm sure it allows HDD swapping or whatever...

I can run the EvoX HD Installer discs fine with my HDD plugged in but when I try with the new HDD plugged in it will not load anything...

#11 Cio

Cio

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,377 posts
  • Location:Lelygat NL
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 07 April 2005 - 02:37 PM

Search on errors:

9 - kernel - HDD parameters (PIO/DMA/or size {debug}, certain size minimum is required for debug)
[Details]

Not very common error, please try another harddisk


So:

Make sure the jumper settings r fine (Try both CS and MA).

Its not the install disk smile.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users