Jump to content


Photo

Everything Form The Hard Drive Boots Slo


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Danonyte

Danonyte

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts

Posted 15 April 2005 - 02:31 PM

I have installed a 160 WD JBRTL in to a 1.6 xbox. Its is running on the spider chip and using M8+(something) bios. When i try to load up a game from the hard drive and try to play it. it loads up very slowly all the games do. I am not sure why this is happening. Anyone have any ideas how this can be resolved.

#2 crustyteacup

crustyteacup

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 534 posts
  • Location:Newcastle, UK
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 15 April 2005 - 02:58 PM

off the top of my head you could try clearing the cache folder (E:\cache) and deleting anything in the X, Y, and Z partitions, reboot and try again. It may also be your hard drive knackering, unlikely though as it sounds like its a new drive.

#3 POPEYE1716

POPEYE1716

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts

Posted 15 April 2005 - 03:07 PM

When the xbox logo appears does that fade slowly to your dash.if it is I had the same problem i just reformatted the drives again, but dont know if that is what u are getting at. u can also try what crusty said i never gave that a thought.

#4 Danonyte

Danonyte

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts

Posted 15 April 2005 - 03:15 PM

Lets say i am playing a game from the hard dirve. i choose the game from avalauch. it boots up. but when i try to play it, it takes forever to load. and while i play it it has unusual slow downs. i cleared the cache and i loaded a game and it took forever.

Edited by Danonyte, 15 April 2005 - 03:20 PM.


#5 TheProffessor

TheProffessor

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 824 posts
  • Location:back to DC/NOVA... EU again hopefully in Dec
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 15 April 2005 - 03:29 PM

how new is the drive?
what program do you use to copy games to your HD?
what program did you use to format the drive?

#6 Soullar

Soullar

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,406 posts

Posted 15 April 2005 - 03:29 PM

Just sell that modchip.

Modchips are so 2003.

Get a softmod, pocket the cash from chip sales., they're a rip off and totally obsolete.

#7 TheProffessor

TheProffessor

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 824 posts
  • Location:back to DC/NOVA... EU again hopefully in Dec
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 15 April 2005 - 03:33 PM

QUOTE
Just sell that modchip.


haha, you can do everything with a softmod that you can with a chip I suppose, but some of us prefer chips...

anyway, it should not affect the game speed if it is a chip/softmod/tsop, whatever.
This is an HD or app issue, I'm guessing the former

#8 Danonyte

Danonyte

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts

Posted 15 April 2005 - 03:41 PM

the hard drive is about a month old. i used FLASH FXP to trasfer the data. And i used AUTO INSTALLER DELUXE 1.1.

#9 TheProffessor

TheProffessor

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 824 posts
  • Location:back to DC/NOVA... EU again hopefully in Dec
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 15 April 2005 - 03:45 PM

QUOTE
i used FLASH FXP to trasfer the data


ah, ok. Well if you are getting games off the net, can't really help you out, sorry.

#10 Danonyte

Danonyte

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts

Posted 15 April 2005 - 03:49 PM

what do u mean getting names off the net. Also i just swapped one of other xboxes harddrive and place it in the messed one., and it booted up normally and quickly. so i think i am going to have to reformat the HD. if not i have to return it some how. the hard drive was just made in FEB 2005 .

Edited by Danonyte, 15 April 2005 - 03:54 PM.


#11 TheProffessor

TheProffessor

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 824 posts
  • Location:back to DC/NOVA... EU again hopefully in Dec
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 15 April 2005 - 03:53 PM

well, I am jumping to conclusions I suppose (and I hate it when other posters do, so I should not), but here:

QUOTE
what program do you use to copy games to your HD?

QUOTE
i used FLASH FXP to trasfer the data


if you used flashfxp to transer the games to your HD, that would mean to me that you got them off the net. If not, my most humble appologies, just a misunderstanding. What program did you use to copy the games to the HD?

#12 Danonyte

Danonyte

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts

Posted 15 April 2005 - 03:56 PM

i used DVD to xbox 6.6 newest one

#13 TheProffessor

TheProffessor

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 824 posts
  • Location:back to DC/NOVA... EU again hopefully in Dec
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 15 April 2005 - 03:59 PM

ok, cool, didn't mean to get on your case. It was mostly a check to see where you got your stuff, not from a personal "I hate those crappy downloaders" stand point, but from the fact that anything you get off the net is pretty sketchy and could cause a bunch of problems. ANYWAY... not sure, I guess I would have to say you might want to try reformating the drive...

did the drive just start doing this, or has it always been a problem?

#14 Danonyte

Danonyte

    X-S Young Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts

Posted 15 April 2005 - 04:03 PM

it started to do this recently. i kind of think its the actual hd.

#15 TheProffessor

TheProffessor

    X-S Genius

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 824 posts
  • Location:back to DC/NOVA... EU again hopefully in Dec
  • Xbox Version:v1.4

Posted 15 April 2005 - 04:05 PM

yeah, if it was not a problem before, it might be the HD...

still it is very new... does it make any noises? any noises that it didnt used to make? is it generally loud?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users