Jump to content


Photo

Motherboard Problem


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 FishesAreEvil

FishesAreEvil

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6

Posted 08 May 2005 - 06:59 AM

I have 2 problems:

1.) im giving my friend my old spider chip cuz i upgraded to a x3 biggrin.gif
well my problem is he has an older xb0x than mines the spider is loaded with a 1.6 bios is there a way i can flash the chip wuith another bios?

2.) wen i try to install it all the little holes are filled in with PCB. how the heck do i go about clearing out the holes. is there a tool or some sorta way to do this?




#2 Element_N

Element_N

    X-S X-perience

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 488 posts
  • Location:Closer than you think...
  • Interests:Your mama, Your Girlfriend.
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:none

Posted 08 May 2005 - 07:03 AM

Yeah. Desoldering braid and an soldering iron. And you will have to erase that chip and flash it with a BIOS that matches his version.

#3 zammmm

zammmm

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts
  • Location:Canada EH?!
  • Xbox Version:v1.0

Posted 08 May 2005 - 07:08 AM

you can also buy the solderless adapter and just place it on, with out desoldering them. blink.gif

#4 Element_N

Element_N

    X-S X-perience

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 488 posts
  • Location:Closer than you think...
  • Interests:Your mama, Your Girlfriend.
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:none

Posted 08 May 2005 - 07:16 AM

Nope. Can't do that. Sorry. My friend tried that with his Xenium and he nearly broke the damn chip because he had to press so damn hard just to get the thing to lite up. I seen where he cracked the solder. ph34r.gif

#5 oxjeremy334

oxjeremy334

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,844 posts
  • Location:Oklahoma
  • Interests:Being a Rhinestone Cowboy
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 08 May 2005 - 07:22 AM

I think that it depends if the solderless has pogos or not. The Xenium solderless had no pogos, so that is where Element's friend went wrong. If the solderless part of the spider chip has parts that push in, then you could use it without removing the solder. Also, you could use the wire install for the x3...but I really don't feel like explaining how right now.

#6 Element_N

Element_N

    X-S X-perience

  • XS-BANNED
  • PipPip
  • 488 posts
  • Location:Closer than you think...
  • Interests:Your mama, Your Girlfriend.
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:none

Posted 08 May 2005 - 07:24 AM

Pogo's? Too late to think.
Element fell asleep at his keyboard. ph34r.gif

#7 oxjeremy334

oxjeremy334

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,844 posts
  • Location:Oklahoma
  • Interests:Being a Rhinestone Cowboy
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 08 May 2005 - 07:28 AM

Hell, I don't know how to explain pogos...like they are able to be pushed in...like they have a spring inside them...

#8 .:Dino:.

.:Dino:.

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,811 posts
  • Location:Milton Keynes, England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 08 May 2005 - 08:58 AM

i have installed x2.6 on a 1.0 with solder, using solderless adapter. tricky at first but it is possible

#9 FishesAreEvil

FishesAreEvil

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6

Posted 08 May 2005 - 04:16 PM

OK so i dont tihnk anyone actully answered my questions, infact i ithnk im not more connfused lol

#10 FishesAreEvil

FishesAreEvil

    X-S Enthusiast

  • Members
  • 14 posts
  • Xbox Version:v1.6

Posted 08 May 2005 - 04:19 PM

ok so i took out my spiderchip out of my 1.6 xbox. to give to my friend now hehas an older version of xbox cani just install the chip and reflash it? and the other problem is wen i tried to install it on his xbox the hold in which the wires would go inside is filled with that green stuff. the spider chip is a solderless btw

#11 JohnnyHunng

JohnnyHunng

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Location:Way Down South
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 08 May 2005 - 05:21 PM

U need to desolder the lpc holes, period...get a hot iron, maybe 30W, get some desoldering braid, press the braid to the hole til the solder pools up into the braid and sucks up, takes 2 secs per hole...

#12 nj12nets

nj12nets

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,330 posts
  • Location:brooklyn all day!
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 May 2005 - 05:30 PM

no cause i use a 25 watt and it can take foreve to desolder those holes but thats still the only way to do it

#13 JohnnyHunng

JohnnyHunng

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Location:Way Down South
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 08 May 2005 - 05:32 PM

NJ, wtf are u saying this time?

#14 nj12nets

nj12nets

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,330 posts
  • Location:brooklyn all day!
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 08 May 2005 - 05:36 PM

what do u mean wtf am i saying? i said that it can take longer then 2 seconds to desolder those holes but he has to do it. ill break it down for you from what i said.


no cause i use a 25 watt and it can take foreve to desolder those holes - that means i use a 25 watt iron and it can take along time to desolder the holes


but thats still the only way to do it - the only way to solder it in is just desolder the lpc holes


thats reli not confusing

#15 JohnnyHunng

JohnnyHunng

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,244 posts
  • Location:Way Down South
  • Xbox Version:unk

Posted 08 May 2005 - 05:44 PM

Just seems like some of the stuff u post (not all, don't get ur panties in a bunch here smile.gif) i can never quite get what ur saying...seems extraneous...anyway, no it doesn't take longer than 2 secs to desolder each hole, get a real iron, get ur technique down, iron must be hot, i've desoldered the lpc in under a min with my weller...




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users