Jump to content


Photo

Bad Harddrive After Acitivity Led Mod


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 .:Dino:.

.:Dino:.

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,811 posts
  • Location:Milton Keynes, England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 15 May 2005 - 01:00 AM

Hi, recently my friend modded my xbox by soldering a hdd activity light. One end of the LED was soldered in a circuit between the pin 39 of the IDE on the harddrive, and the ground point on the harddrive +5v i think. anyways, the led seamed to work fine however my xbox seemed really choppy in the bios animation. this is on an unmodded xbox by the way, only a 120gb harddrive. another thing i noticed was that it took a long time to boot ms dash. i thought he could have screwed it up so we looked at the harddrive to see that the pin 39 was loosely hanging and had now fallen off, and the +5v looked as if it were bridged with a hole to the side of it. i know this is a hdd problem as when i swap the hdd with my stock, it boots fine and finds ms dash real quick. i will post pics as soon as my camera charges up, just worried that i have screwed my hdd

#2 dougMod

dougMod

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,031 posts
  • Location:HH,Ca (USA)
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 15 May 2005 - 01:38 AM

how can you have a 120 GB hd if its not modded?

#3 superglitch

superglitch

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Location:Utah
  • Xbox Version:v1.6

Posted 15 May 2005 - 01:40 AM

ok the 39 point is the ground, you use a 5v power source!

EDIT:
QUOTE(dougMod @ May 14 2005, 04:44 PM)
how can you have a 120 GB hd if its not modded?

View Post


Umm hotswap

Edited by superglitch, 15 May 2005 - 01:43 AM.


#4 phrozenfeonix

phrozenfeonix

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 305 posts
  • Location:Alberta, Canada
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 15 May 2005 - 01:43 AM

pin39 is a line meant specifically for the activity leds, etc., are you sure you conencted the other side up to a GROUND(black) feed and not a 5v feed(red)?

i believe pin 40 is a ground feed, but i'd rather trust the black line on a molex connector

Edited by phrozenfeonix, 15 May 2005 - 01:45 AM.


#5 dougMod

dougMod

    X-S Messiah

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,031 posts
  • Location:HH,Ca (USA)
  • Xbox Version:unk
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 15 May 2005 - 01:44 AM

also try removing ALL the mods you did to the HD so it is like new

#6 .:Dino:.

.:Dino:.

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,811 posts
  • Location:Milton Keynes, England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 15 May 2005 - 11:36 AM

it was modded with x2.6 and a 120gb but then the chip broke so at the mo it is just bootin retail bios is what i mean. im not sure bout the ground points etc i just followed the guide here

Edited by .:Dino:., 15 May 2005 - 11:37 AM.


#7 .:Dino:.

.:Dino:.

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,811 posts
  • Location:Milton Keynes, England
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v4.0 (jasper)

Posted 16 May 2005 - 08:34 AM

bump biggrin.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users