Jump to content


Photo

Dvd Drive Modification, Now Xbox Frags :(


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Granulated

Granulated

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,066 posts
  • Location:Platteville, WI
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 18 May 2005 - 01:39 AM

I just cracked open my damn new Halo LE yesterday. I removed the top of the case, removed the DVD drive, cut most of it away and painted and returned everything except the top. Now, when I try to boot, the disc spins fine, the laser travels back and forth and starts to read the disc, and then I get the customer service screen with error 16, and the light on the front flashes green and red.

I understand error 16 is a hard disc error. However, ALL I TOUCHED was the DVD drive!

Somebody explain what is going on!

#2 Granulated

Granulated

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,066 posts
  • Location:Platteville, WI
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 18 May 2005 - 05:59 AM

Jigga jigga bump!

#3 Mark Morgan

Mark Morgan

    X-S X-perience

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 324 posts
  • Location:Perth WA Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 18 May 2005 - 09:45 AM

just make sure everything is plugged in cos this has happened to everyone i think

#4 8itgreat

8itgreat

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 528 posts
  • Location:Oregon
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:none

Posted 18 May 2005 - 10:33 AM

its a dashboard error


http://www.xbox-scen.../errorcodes.php



#5 Granulated

Granulated

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,066 posts
  • Location:Platteville, WI
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 18 May 2005 - 12:45 PM

QUOTE(Granulated @ May 17 2005, 08:50 PM)
I understand error 16 is a hard disc error.  However, ALL I TOUCHED was the DVD drive! 

View Post





QUOTE(8itgreat @ May 18 2005, 05:44 AM)


Did you READ my post?

I know it's a dashboard error, but I didn't touch the dashboard.

#6 Granulated

Granulated

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,066 posts
  • Location:Platteville, WI
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 19 May 2005 - 12:29 AM

Bump

#7 jlet19

jlet19

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Location:Leawood Kansas
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 19 May 2005 - 12:35 AM

well in most situations if u put a modded dvd drive it requires you to take the hard drive out so you can do the cutting. and just by taking it out could cause probs. another thing is you might of fucked up the ide cable. i did that when i put my modded drive in, i got all kinds of errors running, so i bought a performance one off of www.llamma.com and it kicks ass now. there like 7 bucks.

#8 Granulated

Granulated

    X-S Freak

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,066 posts
  • Location:Platteville, WI
  • Xbox Version:v1.2
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 19 May 2005 - 03:17 AM

Hmmm....I tried putting the DVD drive in a working box...and it worked. Then I put a working DVD drive into this box, and it worked. And then I put the "non" working DVD drive into this box, and it worked. *shrugs* I'm happy.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users