Jump to content


Photo

Pc Less Setup


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 stevewal

stevewal

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 700 posts
  • Location:wolverhampton. uk
  • Interests:conservastion, rock climbing, modding and gaming, gardening.
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 May 2005 - 11:39 AM

hi,
ok, Im thinking of cutting out my pc using the WRT54G/S router.
I'm using kai via the pc at the moment and it's working ok. my xbox is modded with avalaunch dash, which I can use. I understand about flashing the kia firmware onto the WRT54G/s router and setting it up.
what I am unclear about is if I am going to have problems with adsl and my sagem usb wan modem.
does any one know the cheapest way of getting around this, and the best setup.
Do I need a new modem, or will a lan-usb adapter do the job?
Any comments would be apprieciated,
steve. rotfl.gif

#2 dfunked

dfunked

    XLink Crew Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,664 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:unknown

Posted 20 May 2005 - 01:22 PM

So you don't already have the WRT54G and you want to buy one?

First thing to check is whether the modem has both Ethernet AND USB ports - if it's only USB, that's one crappy modem. If it's Ethernet, good.

Modem (via Ethernet CAT-5 straight through cable) -> Router -> Every other device (either via wireless or straight-through CAT-5).

Your PC *SHOULD* have a Ethernet port - which is what you want, since you'll be connecting to the router via a straight-through CAT-5 cable, instead of how you have it now with the USB cable to the modem.

The kaiStation firmware is just built off the stock WRT54G firmware, so you shouldn't find a problem with your Internet connection as a result of using kaiStation loaded firmware.

PS. XBMC support for Kai is much better than Avalaunch's. Download the XBMC guide from our downloads page if you want to set it up with XBMC.

#3 stevewal

stevewal

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 700 posts
  • Location:wolverhampton. uk
  • Interests:conservastion, rock climbing, modding and gaming, gardening.
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 20 May 2005 - 01:45 PM

thanks for the advice,
unfortunately I got my modem free with a adsl package and it doeant have an ethernet connection.
so it looks like Ill have to get another modem.
but other than that I'm assuming I won't have any problems with adsl.? smile.gif

#4 DOS4GW

DOS4GW

    The XLink Fraggle

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,432 posts
  • Location:#XLink @ Efnet
  • Interests:Pet my Xbox
  • Xbox Version:v1.1

Posted 20 May 2005 - 03:38 PM

Yes, you should be able to join and host just fine but keep in mind that adsl has it's limits, both in bandwidth and in latency.

Use the formula and your adsl limit to calculate how big of a game you can join or host:

QUOTE(DOS4GW)
Formula when hosting:

Bandwidth up or down: Users x kb x (users - 1)

Bandwidth total: Users x kb x (users - 1) x 2

Scenario: Hosting a low bandwidth (2kb) requiring game with 5 users.

5 Users x 2 kb x (5 users - 1) = 40 kb.

Why?

User 1 = Data from 2, 3, 4, 5 = 8 kb.
User 2 = Data from 1, 3, 4, 5 = 8 kb.
User 3 = Data from 1, 2, 4, 5 = 8 kb.
User 4 = Data from 1, 2, 3, 5 = 8 kb.
User 5 = Data from 1, 2, 3, 4 = 8 kb.

8 kb x 5 = 40 kb.

You don't download your own data, neither do you upload data from each user to himself.

This is only one way, upload or download. Multiply it by two to get the total bandwidth usage.

However I might add that this is theoretical and slightly inaccurate because you don't send the data from each user in single packets. You send them together in chunks. This way you save time and size due to less headers and handshakes.

This is why one laggy user can ruin a whole game, because he will delay all the data when the host is awaiting his data.

Edited by DOS4GW, 20 May 2005 - 03:42 PM.


#5 stevewal

stevewal

    X-S Expert

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 700 posts
  • Location:wolverhampton. uk
  • Interests:conservastion, rock climbing, modding and gaming, gardening.
  • Xbox Version:v1.3
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 24 May 2005 - 11:14 AM

thanks for the advise.
unfortunately I'm stuck in a 1year contract. so Ill try to upgrade it to 1mbps.
dry.gif




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users