Jump to content


Photo

Error 16 After Xbx Mod


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Hack_Bird

Hack_Bird

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 172 posts
  • Location:Holland
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 29 May 2005 - 03:28 PM

Help !!!
I have done a softmod with my own xbox a long time ago and it worked,and still works fine.(With Krazy_mech_ )
My friend just what it also, so i came with Mechasault and krasy's softmod

NOooooo.... now I Explain whats rong

1 Copyed Krazy's Mech Softmod on local Xbox HD
2 Runed Mechasualt and loaded the softmod savedgame
3 Thats works al
BUT the dash that showed up DONT give me a option to install a softmod ....!

Some info
I and My friend NEVER instaled an Softmod OR modchip, on the xbox with now give me this error.

4 I ejeced the game and rebootet ...
grr.gif ERROR 16
5 I insereted the game again and run the "Softmod installer again ... Again NO install option only remove.

6 I restartet and ERROR 16

7 ... Tryed to isert a mech again and ...
NOW IT WONT START ANY GAME ANY MORE !!! grr.gif grr.gif

so what is the XBx doing now?

Error16


Can you help me.... unsure.gif

Please ask me if you need more info, PLEASE HELP MY FRIENDS XBOX
I think we hafe to do a HD hotswap or something like that...



#2 Xombe

Xombe

    X-S Xbox Xombe

  • Head Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,198 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:PNW
  • Xbox Version:v1.0
  • 360 version:v3.0 (falcon)

Posted 29 May 2005 - 03:34 PM

You're not going to get anything to boot with that Error 16...

QUOTE
16 - dashboard - Clock cannot be set. Well i wrote earlier another tutorial about this specific error so here it is:

Basically it comes down to this. error 16 has to do with not finding the menu setting with which you can set the clock of the hdd. This happens to a lot of people that:
1. Erase there hdd (original/upgraded) and after that they dont immediatly install the hdd but leave the xbox without power longer than 5 hours.

It's all about the hdd can;t find the menu with which it can set the clock. This is mostly because the xbox hdd is empty (you removed dashboard or fux0red with ftpp). The problem arises when xbox searches for menu to set clock with, can't find it and voila: error 16. Well read on please!

So you have an error 16 uh? Don't worry "nothing" is broken!

You have an xbox hdd that is locked. And normally you can boot in original and modded mode. Retail or Upgraded doesnt matter. You start playing around with msdashboard.xbe default.xbe that sort off stuff using ftp programs. While doing this you "accidently" remove your msdashboard and also the evo-x dashboard so there is no dash anymore on the xbox hdd. You end the ftp session and after that you shut off your xbox. Normally when you would start up again it gives you an error 13/14 ( no dashboard found). No worries with a slayer evo-x cd all is ok. BUT this is only WITHIN 3 hours or so.

This is becuz the internal clock of the xbox will only be kept alive by the condensators for only 3 hours or 4 . So when you leave your xbox unplugged form electricity for over 5 hours after you have played with the .xbe's AND you have removed your (ms and evox)dash from your xbox than you are fux0red. Why do you ask? Why can't i boot from cd?

Its as follows Xbox starts booting==> (almost 1st thing a xbox does is) searches for internal clock==> doesnt find internal clock becuz there hasnt been any electricity on the xbox for 5 hours so battery that kept clock alive is empty and clock is gone.==> searches for the proper dashboard menu to set clock with ==> doesnt find MSdashboard or evo-x dashboard menu becuz you have removed it from the hdd for whatever reasons you had==>xbox gives error 16: cannot set clock.


So what do you do about it? Two options!

1. There are some bios'es around that allow the chip to boot past the clocksetting. (do a search!).So how do you get that bios on your chip becuz you cant boot to a flash program or something. Well you need to have an external flasher.

2. This is the more easy and newbie friendly strategy
-Get a friend with a modded xbox.
-Unlock his hdd with eeprom management from a slayer evo-x cd.
-Than, place his hdd in your xbox.
-Boot with your chip on.
-Now the xbox DOES find a dashboard when you boot in original mode and you can set the time in the msdashboard clock settings.
-Shut off xbox and remove your friends hdd
-PLace his hdd back in his xbox and lock it again
-Install your hdd
-(clock has been set) So boot up with slayer cd.
-Install normally whatever you wanna install
-lock hdd

So, read all that, and learn why you need to softmod faster.

#3 Hack_Bird

Hack_Bird

    X-S Senior Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 172 posts
  • Location:Holland
  • Xbox Version:v1.4
  • 360 version:v1 (xenon)

Posted 29 May 2005 - 04:12 PM

Thanxx for the tip....
Oke I dont shut off the XBox for longer that 3 MINUTES
I DIDNT instaled a softmod
Maby (What is proberbly happend) its deleted some files
And Yes maby the clock is not ticking any more

So I hafe to buy a Modchip And do the steps you told me to do?

I completly understand the steps to
Softmoding
the big clockloop problem
and where to find "How to open your Xbox"
and how to place a modchip

1 I hafe to buy 2 Modchips
2 Unlock my own HD (after Modchip instaled?)
3 Place it in his xbox (also with modchip?)
4 set his clock
5 place the HD back of both Xbox
6 lock my Xbox HD
7 his is never unlocked and i hafe to instal Dash on his HD

I need a Modchip ?
He need a modchip ?

Is this all corect ???





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users